Reviews - Woodcolliers

3

76 Welch Gate, Bewdley, DY12 2AU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Dale d

  • June 2015

Very basic

Basic basic basic accommodation here.

  • J Harvey

  • March 2015

Friday 13th stay

We late booked the Woodcolliers Arms in Bewdley for Friday 13th March 2015 as we had two family events to attend.

Only did a cursory look at reviews. Arrived just after 19.00, having pre-booked on line and paid a deposit of £30. We expected to pay the additional £30 on checkout. On arrival, the pub was fairly full and hearty. We went to the bar and the person immediately asked for the remaining £30 without even any welcome first. We asked to see the room first. His reaction was if we were up to something suspicious. He then had to consult a person in an adjacent bar as to whether we could see the room first. We understand that this person was called Roger, even though he never introduced himself. He was only slightly more customer friendly and showed us to our room telling us does and don’ts en route.

The room had fresh laundry and was seemingly comfortable. However, we had problems with a lack of heating which Roger blamed on other people. The ancient television needed delicate handling in terms of syncing with the Freeview box. In the room was additional instruction signs and 2 pages of rules. Although the pub was open until 12.30 Roger made it clear that he hoped the customers would leave long before then so that they could go to bed. A sign was put up at the top of the stairs making it clear that guests should not descend the steps in the morning but leave by the fire exit. At 9.30 there was no one available to check whether we had a good night, whether it was warm enough and to see us on our way. We didn’t order breakfast after we were told the other 2 guest were having any and they would have to it just for us.

The worst thing was it was cold and dirty. After we had left the next day we had an apologetic text about the heating that they had checked after we pointed out it was cold even though Roger had come to the room with us. I feel that for any guests a host should check the room is ok before guests arrival.

  • Andrew B

  • March 2015

Excellent customer services

Needed cleaning under the bed and a pity the toilet was along the corridor and there was no parking.

  • martin c

  • March 2015

Quiet Country Pub

Very clean out of the way small pub with good accommodation and very friendy owners.

  • P Coatsworth

  • March 2015

Woodcolliers Stay

Comfortable accommodation with pleasant old fashioned bar, without the incessant music.

Peaceful and made welcome

Food good but could be more choice

  • M Simpson

  • December 2014

Woodcolliers

Very nice place to stay friendly helpful staff.

  • mark s

  • December 2014

Beautiful Old Little Pub

Lovely little old pub, quiet, staff pleasant and attentive.

  • Peter C

  • October 2014

Nice and quirky - great food

My room wasn't en-suite but that would be my only quibble.

It's a charming old pub, all nooks and crannies. My evening meal was excellent and the hosts extremely helpful

  • Melinda L

  • October 2014

Refreshing Change

Clean room with comfortable bed and all the features you would expect to find.

What made the venue stand out was the the bar and lounge which was devoid of any unnecessary ambient music allowing customers and visitors to converse with ease

  • Gerry H

  • October 2014

The room was simple but comfortable and everything worked.

The double glazing was effective at keeping down the noise from the busy road outside. The nature of the old building is that the stair cases are quite steep and narrow so a little care is necessary.