Reviews - The Castle Tavern

3

3 Market Place, ,, Richmond, DL10 4HU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Gargett

  • January 2016

Fab hotel/pub.. great breakfast and extremely friendly staff. brilliant location

Our room was very comfortable with a great selection of hot drinks and biscuits, fantastic location.

staff were very helpful, friendly and had a great sense of humor, we stayed for 2 nts over New year and couldn't fault anything . Will defo be going back.

  • M Gargett

  • January 2016

New years stay. 'brilliant' lovely room, great breakfast, good location

Lovely staff and great breakfast, great room with a good selection of drinks and biscuits.

  • J Riley

  • August 2015

value for money and Central

Stayed as two couples in a double and king room with a shared bathroom.

Rooms were clean and well equipped with plenty tea and coffee facilities and toiletries. Everything we needed in a good location with a superb breakfast. Will use again.

  • Susan H

  • August 2015

A lovely old market town pub

Really enjoyed our few days at this lovely old market town pub.

Very cosy, a lovely large roon with a large bathroom. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee in room to make a drink when you wanted. Very friendly landlady and landlord, had some good chats with them and they made you very welcome. Lovely breakfasts as well, although I would have liked a little fruit to start with. Would definitely return.

  • robert Flake

  • June 2015

flying visit

we stopped at Castle Tavern after getting a late room booking, The staff where very friendly and very professional when booking in and showed us to our room .

The room was large clean and very well decorated, There was plenty of tea coffee and milk which was a bonus .you are given a key to a side door which lets you come and go as you please which is great if you intend to stay out late, some hotels i have stopped in close there doors at a certain time . We had a great nights sleep and would recommend the Castle Tavern to anyone looking for a place to stay and the view from outside the bar is amazing straight onto the Castle its self

  • Gary W

  • March 2015

great little pub in excellent location

We stayed 2 nights at the Castle Tavern on 6th to 8th of March 2015.

We really enjoyed our stay. The pub serves some nice beers and the food was great and at a reasonable price. It gets quite busy on a weekend but not noisy. The room was a nice size and bed was very comfy. We would stay here again if we return to Richmond for a weekend break. Very dog friendly. Possibly take our cavalier king charles with us next time,as most pubs and food places allowed dogs.

  • GERALDINE BARKER

  • February 2015

The Castle Tavern

Lovely stay.

Staff helpful and friendly. Room basic but comfortable. Expected

For age of hotel. Bed was ok. Bed linen not brilliant but clean. (No top sheets. Which personal preference I would have liked) but quilt cover clean. Breakfast was brilliant and plentiful. All round a lovely pub comfortable room friendly staff.

  • S Moroney

  • January 2015

New years eve

Me and my partner booked this for a nice night away for New Years Eve, when we arrived at the castle tavern we were an hour early buy we were offered to be shown our room right away we chose to sit in the pin and have a drink first, when taken to the room it was clean and tidy the breakfast the next morning was gorgeous plenty of fresh orange juice, apple juice, tea and coffee etc..

The staff were all friendly we would definitely use this accommadation again and worth the £65 we paid for the room our only complain was that the bed squeaked every time you moved but it was very comfortable.

  • Paul Draper

  • October 2014

The Castle Inn is an old building so the room quality is not as good as a modern hotel but was quite clean and comfortable.

The manager/landlord was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Marilyn Sherborne

  • August 2014

Overnight stop

Room ok but very dark and window looked out onto a wall.

Ideal for visiting Richmond Castle which you could see from the front of the hotel. Unfortunately the free wifi didn't work and food was not being served on the day we were there. Ok for an overnight stop. The staff didn't go out of their way to make us feel welcome. I think their was a problem behind the bar which they were preoccupied with. Breakfast ok and is included in the price which was confusing on the laterooms site.