No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
47 Highfield Road Idle, Bradford, BD10 8QH
The Highfield Hotel, Bar, Leisure Club & Business Centre is a privately owned, family run business. We are based in the historic town of Idle – just a few minutes drive from the centre of Bradford, only 20 minutes from the centre of Leeds, with excellent transport links to wide variety of other popular visitor centre’s such as the world heritage site Saltaire and Skipton and less than an hour’s drive from the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

> All rooms are American sized
> Free use of the on site leisure club with swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, sauna and steam room. Sun beds available at a charge
> On site Restaurant Moo BBQ Steakhouse
> Full bath & shower en-suite facilities
> Toiletries & towels provided
> LCD TV/DVD with 40+ channels including music/radio channels
> Tea & coffee making facilities with biscuits
> Hairdryer, iron & board available free of charge
> A light breakfast is also included

We can also provide drinks in your room, by prior arrangement

The public bar is open from 12pm and serves a good selection of bar snacks and meals Monday from 12pm through to Sunday 6pm. Also available for functions and is free from a hire charge

We have two private function rooms which is available to hire day and night with prices starting at £60

Two on site conference/meeting facilities able to cater for up to 120 delegates
Picture of The Highfield Hotel, Bradford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highfield Hotel
Looks a little old and tired however good value for money and easy layout with the use of pool and gym

Reviewed by
M Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve Disaster!!!!
The room we stayed in was very old fashioned in decor.
The bedding was very cheap material and kept sliding off the bed & off the duvet & pillows.
The room itself was clean but very cold, we turned the radiators up but there was no room thermostat so we had to keep our coats on while getting ready in the room.
The main disappointment was that we had specifically paid for use of the leisure facilities & stated "spa" which we were not told would be closed for the entirity of our stay. We had purchased swimwear fit no reason - waste of time & money i was so upset. :-(

Reviewed by
z clayton

From hebden bridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab for peace and value
Room, huge, very quiet. Super 'light' breakfast had loads of choice. It is self service, it is run cheaply but lovely friendly staff and amazing value for money. Would definitely recommend. We didn't have time to try the gym and pool but it all looked good. Pub and restaurant next door, but no noise at a all. In fact very very quiet. Lovely comfy bed. Could do with slightly firmer pillow but that's being very picky.

Reviewed by
Brett D

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little spa and pool plus a bus ride from bradford centre
the room was nice, clean and spacious. breakfast was cereal/toast/croissants. my boys and i loved the pool (not keen on the healthy mineral smell/taste but it is a spa!!) which we used after tea and before breakfast. my 6 year old practised his swimming and we unfortunately left his swimming aids at the side of the pool, after emailing the hotel they kindly popped them back in the post to me. it
was a pleasant hotel and I will likely stay there next year when Bradford has the Christmas lights switching on show :-)

Reviewed by
i rigo

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to Bradford
I returned to Bradford, to see my Brother after a number of years. I was born in Idle. The Hotel was spacious and comfortable and the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast was minimal but adequate. We would certainly go back to the Highfield

Reviewed by
Derek Bale

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Fabulous service...a really polite lady on reception who helped us with bags and provided good service throughout our stay. Leisure facilities were good too and pool was warm which was lovely as te weather was freezing when we stayed. Would definitely go back again x

Reviewed by
Sarah Jane A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed - thank you
All staff were very helpful and accommodating. As a lone traveller, I really appreciated this - thank you all. I landed late as my flight was delayed, but I didn't need to panic because the hotel had already called me that day to see what time was I due to arrive so that they could ensure there was someone the to greet me - thank you, again.
Moos (VERY local restaurant!) was full and I hadn't booked - lesson learned!
However, Moos did their best to fit me in (because I was resident at hotel) and the hotel staff not only recommended an alternative, good place to eat, but booked a table and organised transport to get there. Without the staff and their thoughtfulness, I would have had a miserable night, but I didn't - far from it! Thank you
I have to say the bathroom is rather poor in that the shower has very old plumbing, but with patience it worked fine. The hot tap was just a dribble for a good while before the water pressure kicked in and I didn't like the plastic toilet seat at all!!
Bedding & bed very clean and comfortable.
The website said dock for iPhone/pad - I couldn't find it and there was no reference/help in the information put in the room or anywhere else. I would have enjoyed such a luxury!

Reviewed by
Helen A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok (ish)
Room very big (maybe too big) but sparsely furnished. Bathroom dated with numerous broken tiles, although shower very effective.
Woken at 1.30am by fire alarm activation which was seemingly due to guest smoking in room.
Hotel definitely in need of refurbishment (especially bathrooms).

Reviewed by
I Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

attending a function
We were attending a friend's function nearby, Upon arriving, the receptionist was really nice and friendly and the room was huge when we got to it. I had read a review previously that mentioned the rooms were so big, there didn't seem enough furniture and I can understand now what that meant but the room was adequate for what we needed! The only main disappointment was out tv didn't work but if thats my only complaint, the highfield did a good job! The fire alarm went off at 1.30am due to some stupid people trying to smoke in their room but the staff apologised and it wasn't exactly their fault. I loved the pool, its small but for a 20 minute swim before breakfast, this was perfect!! Overall, I would return and I think the room was value for money!

Reviewed by
Steph S

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing - not worth the money
Myself and colleague stayed at hotel for business purposes, we chose a double twin room.
the room itself was very dated and the bathroom is in much need of updating.
They did not provide enough towels for us to use over two day period.
I had a very nasty fall getting into the shower, the shower mat is very dangerous and slipped upside of the bath, taking me off my right foot, I now have a bruise the size of my fist on left leg which obviously I am most unhappy about,
If that had happened to an elderly person they could easily have broken a limb.!!
There was no one on reception to speak to regarding the matter and no mobile phone reception to be able to contact numbers left.
We used the gym facilities and was told we could hire a towel from them but they had ran out!
We came down for breakfast on Friday morning and there was lots of used pots and cups left on trolley, bread left open etc.
We opted for crumpets which were store under lidded container, but to our dismay, the crumpets were mouldy!
Again, no one on recpetion for us to speak to.
Very disappointing experience all round

Reviewed by
s hutchcroft

From hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next