No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Dukes Inn in August 2014
I stayed at the Dukes Inn for 2 nights in August 2014. I really like that it is a small intimate hotel and that it is an old Inn which I felt added character compared to the other hotels in the area. I was upgraded to a sea view room which was a very nice surprise. The room was clean and warm and I had a fantastic view of the sea and sea front, but the window was very low so net curtains would have given added privacy as the beer garden is directly underneath the windows, and the blinds were broken (as was the bathroom light). The breakfast choice was very good, and I had the full english breakfast which arrived very quickly and was very hot and fresh but much too greasy, which was a shame as a quick wipe down with a clean paper towel would have made it perfect and much more healthy. The location of the hotel is perfect and is right on the Esplanade and near to the shops. Staff were very friendly and overall I had a great stay and wished I had booked longer so I am looking forward to staying there again. It is worth noting that residents are not charged when they book through Late Rooms until they check out, and as I assumed I had paid at the booking stage and had not checked this, it was a surprise when I was asked to pay at check out, but that was my error. A little gem of a hotel.

Reviewed by
Louise P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eveverything to a good high standard, very pleased with everything would go again would love to.
Cannot add anything for improvement

Reviewed by
J BRICKELL

From manchester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My over night stay.
I needed a good hotel for one night as was visiting my Mother in a local nursing home, as I live 3 hrs away did not want to do journey in a day. Dukes hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Very friendly and helpfull staff, very clean, and will definately stay there next time.

Reviewed by
Chrissie Thwaites

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend stay
We could fault the hotel , from check in, to check out, it was fantastic.

Reviewed by
A Topp

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was at a good standard for the price we paid. It's a shame that non residents were given priority over dinner reservations, they did however squeeze us into the bar, great food! Sidmouth on the whole is very picturesque but if you're looking for something more then this is not the place. Even the local fish and chip shop shuts at 7pm!!

Reviewed by
Laura B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You simply can't go wrong with this hotel!
We only stayed at Dukes for one night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really pleasant and accomodating, our room was excellent and the choices at breakfast and standard of food was unusually good. Our room was very quiet, despite the hotel bar. We liked it!

Reviewed by
Jon Arnold

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Stayed for one night over the May Day Bank Holiday weekend. Two adults and two children age 5 & 7. Booked through Late Rooms - £135 B&B. On arrival at Dukes the reception said they had not been advised that the booking included children (although I had been in contact by telephone after booking about a query and had confirmed the booking).This however was not a problem for the hotel as two members of staff were quickly dispatched to make up an extra bed while we had a drink in the bar. We were allocated Room 6 ....a huge room overlooking the front of the hotel with a lovely sea view. It had an adequate en suite in which shower gel, shoe shine, shower cap, nail care pack etc. were provided for use by guests. The room, even with a double bed, two single beds, wardrobe and large chest of drawers was still large enough to accommodate a couch and coffee table. Beds were very comfortable with good quality mattresses and bed linen and a selection of different density pillows. The tea / coffee tray was well stocked and there was a plentiful supply of extras on the landing if more was needed. My only petty niggle was that as the room was so large the TV on the far wall was very small if you wanted to watch it whilst in bed. We retired quite early due to having two tired children and intended to have a nightcap whilst watching a film. Not wanting to have the sound on loud in consideration for the children and guests in the next rooms we gave up as we could not make out the screen.
Breakfast was wonderful, a fab selection of cereals, warm pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices and hot food. We selected “full English which was delicious. Overall we had a lovely stay and all our dealings with the staff we found them to be helpful and efficient. Would go again.

Reviewed by
Jan B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yet again a fantastic stay at the Dukes, would certainly recommend it.
The whole experience is excellent from accommodation, food and customer service is brilliant, every member of staff was helpful, polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
K Ollerenshaw

From Hope Valley, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was ok, however with no sound-proofing the neighbouring room noise was terrible - constantly waking us each time they used the bathroom & they were early risers (we were hoping to have a lie-in). Our cooked breakfasts were not good, but the evening meal was lovely. I would have relayed this information, but the check-out assistant did not ask how we found our stay

Reviewed by
Sharon S

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place to stay
We stayed last weekend with our 10 yr old son, the Dukes is really modern contemporary pub/Inn, the staff work very hard and always want you to enjoy your stay, the food is excellent! They've received a number of awards and our very proud of they achievements. We would return if in this area of Devon.

Reviewed by
Lisa D

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next