Reviews - Dukes


Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Nasser B

  • August 2015

Never ever will visit the Duke

The room was just full of cooking smell from the kitchen below.

The extraction fan was on nearly all night with noise. When mentionned the issue to reception they agreed and said not to book the room any more in future. So they already knew but rented the room. Noisy with customers drinking till late. Will never ever try the Duke. Just not value for money and noisy.

  • S Hamley

  • April 2015

Great Stay

We found all staff most helpful and polite and were always ready to help us with information and advise on the local area.

Loved the position on the seafront and our sea view room was great. We had a room with a double and a single so our 9 year old daughter could be with us, the room also had TV (lots of channels) and a DVD player (disc available to borrow free of charge) with a sofa and tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities. Thanks for making our brief stay a good one. We will be back soon...

  • S Treece

  • April 2015

Over nite stay

Very pleasing stay with lovely staff.

Wonderful view as stayed in main Bay window room ...but felt it was tired looking and bathroom lacking in wow factor. Lovely friendly Seagul too !.

  • Michael Trumper

  • March 2015

Stay again

Upgraded to a very comfortable, well appointed sea view room.

Breakfast and dinner were plentiful, tasty and very well presented. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free entry to the local swimming pool was an added bonus at this time of year. Good experience, will stay again.

  • Mark Wicksted

  • January 2015

Very pleasurable

  • joanne m

  • November 2014

great hotel, really lovely people

  • catherine k

  • November 2014

lovely friendly hotel

We stayed at Dukes for just one night but would certainly stay there again.great sea view and spacious family room.

A problem with one of the main courses at dinner was quickly remedied. Fantastic breakfast too, but the biggest asset to Dukes are the lovely friendly staff who bend over backwards to be helpful, with friendly efficient service which makes all the difference!


  • November 2014

Excellent small hotel

Very impressed by the conscientious and friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

I stayed here two years ago and the hotel continues to maintain the high standards it possessed then. Situated right in the centre of the town and within walking distance of all amenities. Only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • R Le Fort

  • October 2014

Fantastic accommodation , beautiful decor , fantastic staff.

Evening meal and breakfast was outstanding . Central location right on the front . Sea view rooms were booked and sea view rooms is what we had . Would highly recommend and will certainly return . Xx

  • Alan S

  • October 2014

Lovely hotel pity about the adjacent night club

Very comfortable room soon went to sleep but in early hours we were suddenly awoken by loud foul language and shouting which went on continuously for about half an hour until someone shouted at them in a similar manner telling them to ******* shut up and move away and surprisingly they did.

I was surprised the police were not called out because of this unacceptable behaviour that continued for such a long time and even after they moved away you could hear them in the distance I assume down by the beach. This obviously spoilt our overnight stay at Dukes which was no fault of the hotel. In the morning we were informed there was a night club in the side street adjacent to the hotel. There is also very little parking space available (8 spaces) and all the free parking along the sea front was occupied so had to park some 200 metres away from the hotel which is not very convenient