No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need somewhere to stay for a night or longer in Sidmouth, Devon? I would thoroughly recommend Duke's inSidmouth. It is one if the most family friendly places I have been to, yet would suit couples or groups!
Our room was well appointed and clean with a fantastic view of the sea. It was windy and wet whilst we were there, but cosy and comfy in our room with a view.
The service was second to nonr and nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a visit :)

Reviewed by
Emma P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Hotel,
Fab Hotel, Staff really friendly and helpful, Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to your liking and plenty of choice, room had Tea & Coffee which is really nice first thing in morning, if your a tea pot like us ha. By the time you had been for Breakfast our room had been cleaned to perfection. Evening meal was brilliant, cooked to your liking and presented very well . If i had to complain it would be the Wednesday night we arrived, we had booked the hotel so we could attend a funeral of one of our friends and had arranged for other people to come along to this hotel for drinks, the staff were told to close the Bar at 9.30pm as there were not many customers. in the Bar were a group of five local men, us and another couple, we did say that another six people were coming and they did turn two girls away saying they were closing early. It would have been nice to stay for drinks with our friends but nevertheless we just arranged to meet in another Bar around the corner which were more than happy to take our money, apart from that little hiccup, we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
M James

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent choice for us to stay & enjoy superb food & a good sea view room
If I HAD to find a fault it would be that there isn't a lift but that is probably because I'm the wrong side of seventy with a gammy leg -, but I managed & am sure had I asked one of the more than helpful staff, one would have helped. Our room ( 11) was great especially as the weather was more than wintery on one day so we were glad of the two comfy chairs & t.v. with multiple channels & of course the sea view & closeness to the town. The food was exceptional & drinks prices reasonable & staff very pleasant. It's always a good sign when you see the locals using the restaurant that you atre using & it is obvious that DUKES is very popular. We visit Sidmouth a lot during the year & now having sampled DUKES I'll be surprised if call in for coffee - or a pint - or even lunch It's that sort of place - you just want to be there.

Reviewed by
alan shore

From Nr Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect accomodation
Lovely bed and breakfast and situated right on the sea front, staff were very friendly and we couldn't fault it at all.

Reviewed by
Vikki P

From Cirencester, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed here several times, Great value for money, staff always very friendly and helpful.
Good central location, lovely sea views. Food good and varied menus.

Reviewed by
P Bond

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stormy sidmouth
Arrived in torrential rain to a warm welcome from the staff.Room was a good size,we had 2children with us and there was plenty of space for us all.No complaints!!Thanks

Reviewed by
r clarke

From chepstow, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel
Really nice hotel - great location on the seafront, and our family room was very nice. Especial thanks to the wonderful staff who worked throughout the night to clear up the flooding on the ground floor (flooding across Devon when we stayed) and ensure we had a delicious breakfast - we would never have even noticed anything was amiss.

Reviewed by
Ruth M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service. all staff were very friendly and very profeessional.
We weren't expecting such a high quality room. We booked a standard double room. The room was bigger than expected, very comfortable, with everything you could want for a short term stay.

Reviewed by
N Quinn

From Crewkerne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay but awful breakfast
The rooms were small but clean and perfectly adequate. Nice atmosphere in the lounge restaurant bar area. would definitely stay here again if the quality of the breakfast improved. Poor choice of fruit and cereals and awful 'value' watery yogurts. we ordered a full English breakfast and i ate very little of it. I am not an overly fussy person but just how wrong can you get a cooked breakfast? Here's how! Bacon that had been nowhere near a frying plan, with white fat, totally undercooked. It would be my guess that it had been microwaved. the sausage tasted cheap and nasty and the mushrooms were slimy and cold. All in all very poor. shame as the rest of the inn is lovely. Like many other people, I do look forward to my breakfast when I am away. A fry up is a real treat, so they really need to get this right.

Reviewed by
G MAIDMENT

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8