No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed hotel
We really enjoyed our stay. Room good and staff very helpful. We didn't eat there so cannot comment, but would recommend this hotel as it is so central.

Reviewed by
C Ryder

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short visit to Sidmouth
We booked this accommodation on the Late Rooms website based on the reviews of previous guests, and there rating proved to be accurate. The accommodation was clean, the staff are very friedly and the location is ideal for Sidmouth town.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dukes hotel Sidmouth
We were pleased with all aspects of the hotel excellent service, very clean, and the steaks we had in the restaurant where cooked perfectly. Will certainly return If we were to be picky then the size of the double bed was disappointing, but then we are used to a king size. R D

Reviewed by
RAY D

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, very nice sea view room, good breakfast with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
H Smith

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one-night stand
Only stayed one short night. Single room at the back and top of the house. Quiet, comfortable and spot on. Nothing fancy but nothing missing either. Friendly and polite staff. Good service. Great breakfast. Would certainly be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
D Ryder

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wanted to stay in the centre of Sidmouth
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. As it is an old building there are obviously constraints on space in the bedroom layouts and the en-suite could best be described as 'cosy', but it beats a shared bathroom down a corridor. We certainly got the sea view that we paid for - not the hotel's fault thatr the weather was awful, but the room was cosy and quiet nevertheless. Struggled to find a spare socket to plug in the kettle/charge phone, but did locate one on an extension lead under the bed. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and room numbers were displayed on tables so no problem with knowing where to sit. The quality of the breakfast was very good - bacon was outstanding. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as went exploring the town. Overall - very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Caroline T

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dukes
staff very helpful and pleasant .Room clean and spacious

Reviewed by
FRANK A

From BRISTOL, England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need somewhere to stay for a night or longer in Sidmouth, Devon? I would thoroughly recommend Duke's inSidmouth. It is one if the most family friendly places I have been to, yet would suit couples or groups!
Our room was well appointed and clean with a fantastic view of the sea. It was windy and wet whilst we were there, but cosy and comfy in our room with a view.
The service was second to nonr and nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a visit :)

Reviewed by
Emma P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Hotel,
Fab Hotel, Staff really friendly and helpful, Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to your liking and plenty of choice, room had Tea & Coffee which is really nice first thing in morning, if your a tea pot like us ha. By the time you had been for Breakfast our room had been cleaned to perfection. Evening meal was brilliant, cooked to your liking and presented very well . If i had to complain it would be the Wednesday night we arrived, we had booked the hotel so we could attend a funeral of one of our friends and had arranged for other people to come along to this hotel for drinks, the staff were told to close the Bar at 9.30pm as there were not many customers. in the Bar were a group of five local men, us and another couple, we did say that another six people were coming and they did turn two girls away saying they were closing early. It would have been nice to stay for drinks with our friends but nevertheless we just arranged to meet in another Bar around the corner which were more than happy to take our money, apart from that little hiccup, we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
M James

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent choice for us to stay & enjoy superb food & a good sea view room
If I HAD to find a fault it would be that there isn't a lift but that is probably because I'm the wrong side of seventy with a gammy leg -, but I managed & am sure had I asked one of the more than helpful staff, one would have helped. Our room ( 11) was great especially as the weather was more than wintery on one day so we were glad of the two comfy chairs & t.v. with multiple channels & of course the sea view & closeness to the town. The food was exceptional & drinks prices reasonable & staff very pleasant. It's always a good sign when you see the locals using the restaurant that you atre using & it is obvious that DUKES is very popular. We visit Sidmouth a lot during the year & now having sampled DUKES I'll be surprised if call in for coffee - or a pint - or even lunch It's that sort of place - you just want to be there.

Reviewed by
alan shore

From Nr Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next