No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at Dukes Hotel were very friendly and helpful, in fact nothing was too much trouble. The family room we had was large and had lovely views of the sea. The bathroom was down two steps which could be a problem for some people, and although very clean was fairly basic. As the hotel is centrally located in Sidmouth it was quite noisy when the local pubs closed.

Reviewed by
Philippa R

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly
Central for 'downtown Sidmouth! ' , right on the beach, sea view, bigger than expected room. Nice touches like books, DVDs, plus I pod dock in room. Clean, friendly, comfortable and good breakfast in a sun filled room. It was busy on a Saturday night but still quiet and we all slept really well. Friendly staff. All good!

Reviewed by
S Clifford

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super sea view at Dukes.
There seemed to a problem with the heating but other than that we had a most enjoyable stay, and will return in the near future.

Reviewed by
John McLardy

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay - thank you
My mother, my children and myself had a wonderful stay. We stayed in room 10, there was a little hiccup on arrival where a babies cot bed had been put in the room as opposed to a cot bed (my daughter is 6) my fault really, the management speedily rectified the situation with graciousness. There was a great sea view as promised. The room was clean and comfortably furnished. Limitless sachets of coffee and hot chocolate etc for the children were on offer outside the room. I felt very safe with my children with the hotel being set within its own grounds yet still on the sea front. For situation you cannot beat this hotel. Direct access to shops and the sea front. It is very popular for dining in both lunch times and evening so you need to book a table. The food was delicious, they were very accomodating with tweaking the meals to make my children happy and the waiter/waitresses on duty were very helpful. We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend both Dukes and Sidmouth as a great retreat for a weekend away.

Reviewed by
J Gilbert

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great price
Stayed in the single room at the back of the hotel, a small but well appointed room and ideal for my one night stay.

Reviewed by
Steve Custons

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staay at Dukes

Reviewed by
Robin Y

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoilt by Nightclub Roudies
Wve stayed before in a sea view front room. Great staff and a nice atmosphere.
However.............
This time got the last room which was at the side of the building. A compact room on the top floor but no major problem till midnight when roudies from the nightclub across the street started a pavement party that went on till 3am but then when bed beaconed it was in Dukes with top voice banter and goodnights to seal a sleepless night.
When my wife commented at check out the only reply was "oh yes it does get noisy on a nice night, thats why weve fitted secondary glazing" True up to a point but only on one window!!

Reviewed by
john h

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short visit to Sidmouth
We booked this accommodation on the Late Rooms website based on the reviews of previous guests, and there rating proved to be accurate. The accommodation was clean, the staff are very friedly and the location is ideal for Sidmouth town.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed hotel
We really enjoyed our stay. Room good and staff very helpful. We didn't eat there so cannot comment, but would recommend this hotel as it is so central.

Reviewed by
C Ryder

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dukes hotel Sidmouth
We were pleased with all aspects of the hotel excellent service, very clean, and the steaks we had in the restaurant where cooked perfectly. Will certainly return If we were to be picky then the size of the double bed was disappointing, but then we are used to a king size. R D

Reviewed by
RAY D

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next