No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very clean and comfortable. Room with a sea view. (Seagulls a bit noisy in the early hours of the morning). Staff welcoming and knowledgable.

Reviewed by
Sally Perry

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

D
S

Reviewed by
Louise H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, friendly and clean and comfortable
Dukes was a pleasure to stay in, welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms... Busy but relaxed atmosphere... Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
A Bradnum

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break Trip
Booked at the last minute a trip for family of 3 adults and 2 children. Rooms were fir for purpose, however very noisy first thing in the morning. Breakfast a little bit of a let down, small portions and never enough tea/coffee and toast provided to serve our party of 5. Admittedly, when we requested more this was brought, some time later on both days. For the money I would have expected a little bit more. I appreciate this is a popular destination, but I feel the room was overpriced slightly.

Reviewed by
Ian J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for s short and lovely stay
Sayed one night in a family room after a wedding; apart from the screech of the seagulls teaching their young to fly first thing in the morning, everything was perfect!

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
On the whole I found Dukes to be really good value. Service was good and the staff friendly which made you feel welcome. Good choice of food for breakfast which made the stay even batter value for money. One couple I spoke to did complain of noise throughout the night due to a local night club positioned a short distance away but I was not effected. Parking is limited outside the hotel although there is a car park situated within 3-4 minute walk which only costs a little more than £5 for the night.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sidmouth seaside visit
the hotel is in a great location ,with great views of the the sea ,we did eat at the dukes the first night the food was very good and a very good price and the breakfast was very good ,the room 12 was a good size but was let down by the size of the bathroom if you are large,dont book this room as you wont be able to use it and when your paying £120 per night you expect something a little bigger ,saying that everyone was friendly and helpfull .it was a little noisy but thats to be expected ,from the revelers and the seagulls ,overall we enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
CLIVE TOMKINS

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seafront position therefore noisy
Room extremely small, should have been a single room. Noisy even though at side of hotel, seagulls, delivery lorries, street cleaner etc., people outside hotel talking loudly late at night.

Reviewed by
David Mingos

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended - really impressed
Clean, modern, excellent service throughout and terrific food. fantastic location overlooking the sea front and could not be more central to the small town. All for the price of a decent B&B. Two things to be careful about if you do not know the hotel - the sea view rooms also overlook the open courtyard, so be aware that there will be noise in the evenings if you are planning on an early night. Our bathroom was tiny - which is fine for a short stay, but if you want more room or facilities then be sure to ask / check before you book.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent short break at Dukes in Sidmouth. Great location, good food and well trained staff
This is our 3rd visit to Dukes over the last couple of years, taken at various times of the year.
The seaview rooms are excellent, as is the food and service. We would recommend this place to anyone for a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
P Marsland

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next