No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best this year!
I stay in a b&b/guest house/hotel most weeks on my UK travels - and this was the best this year. Excellent customer service, although not in my face. Room very clean, fully equipped and breakfast was really good. Will defo stay here again given the opportunity.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sidmouth with Pleasure
A very well run hotel with friendly and efficient staff. On walking through the door for the first time it felt welcoming, and proved to be so. The food was good, and so was the service.

Reviewed by
John T

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good position, good value
I was only here for 1 night and I wasn't very lucky weather-wise! However, I love Sidmouth and Dukes is right in the middle of the seafront. Ideal for a quick stroll along the beach before dinner and breakfast!
The bar and restaurant areas are attractive and comfortable. My room was ok, it wasn't the biggest or best in the house but was very good value at the Laterooms price. There are nice touches like the books and DVD's and DVD player in the room. Must remember to bring my own DVDs next time.
Dinner and breakfast were certainly OK, no complaints.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and I appreciated the personal emails from the hotel immediately after I made the booking. (It is always reassuring to know that they really do know that you are coming.)

Reviewed by
colin c

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff,very good allround

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest House with Great Position
This guest house was fantastically positioned right near to the bridge which connects East and West Looe - so over breakfast you have a beautiful view over the really pretty town. This guest house is a little old fashioned with not particularly up to date facilities but the owner is exceedingly welcoming, helpful and friendly. We had a very quiet room at the top of the guest house at the back of the house so it was very quiet. There is a flight of steps up from the road to the front door which helps to keep this property back from the road and I'm sure makes it less prone to street noise. It does, however, make it less suitable for anyone with mobility problems. The breakfast was really nicely cooked.

Reviewed by
A Wakefield

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sidmouth in September
Dukes are very good for service and food. The accommodation in my opinion does not deserve 4 stars, but having said that, it was adequate and clean. The staff is very good and friendly and we were made very welcome. Despite the rainny weather we had a great time and we hope to come back again ion the future.

Reviewed by
D Ryder

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant welcoming hotel. Staff very attentive, and looked after us well.

Reviewed by
Alan D

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly helpful staff, food excellent.

Reviewed by
K BEALE

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a bit of a climb but very quiet and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly and food not great but pretty good.

Reviewed by
sandra hobbs

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Dukes

Reviewed by
Lynn F

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next