Reviews - Moorland Garden Hotel


Yelverton, Plymouth, PL20 6DA

Price From 177.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • D Exell

  • November 2015

Hotel and Restaurant

Its not very often we stay at a hotel and think we would stay here again, but we will go back again.

The staff very helpful after getting to the hotel and finding out Late Rooms had not booked the room as we had thought. The hotel was able to find a room equal to the one we had requested so a big thank you to the hotel staff. The breakfast was varied and tasty. However the restaurant although very good quality food not a very varied choice .The rooms were spacious and had everything you need. If you do book through Late Rooms I recommend you call the hotel to confirm booking has been made.

  • Susan B

  • September 2015

Far exceeded expectations

Had a super stay at this lovely hotel.

Room was superb, food and staff excellent and a bargain price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • c rutledge

  • September 2015

A beautiful location little tricky to find rooms were good

Our stay was short and sweet.

There was a wedding in the hotel, so it was noisy well into the early hours. Maybe a call pre warning us about this might have been courteous, I am not sure I would have stayed knowing this fact and it certainly stopped us from using the restaurant and bar. We found alternative refreshments on the Saturday night. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • David P

  • June 2015

Peaceful Moorland Retreat

Don't be put off by the 'dog-friendly' description - we were informed that dogs are restricted to a limited number of ground floor rooms.

The upstairs room that we stayed in was spotlessly clean, and well-equipped, having a comfortable bed, two (low-backed) easy chairs, one high-backed cushioned chair by the desk/dressing table, ample storage space, a TV and a hospitality tray, and a super view over the garden and moorland. Breakfast is self-service fruit / cereal followed by waitress service for the full English or other cooked choices, coffee and toast, well cooked and well presented. Free Wi-Fi. Had a very pleasant stay, if we're travelling in that area again would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Andrew T

  • June 2015


Everything was great, good mobile (02) solid free wifi signal.

Room was a good size with a powerful shower. Comfy bed. TV good size. All in all would love to go back. Staff great. Had the bar meal as I'm tight.

  • Dan W

  • March 2015

Excellent post wedding hotel

Loved our sleep.

friendly staff. comfy bed. clean and tidy. very nice, thank you.

  • A Goodman

  • December 2014

super place

Lovely stay.

Beautiful accommodation, lovely staff, nice food.

  • R Martin

  • November 2014

Very enjoyable stay Staff very friendly

We enjoyed our stay very much Food was excellent Could not fault it Will stay again

  • Trevor Evans

  • October 2014

rest break

just what we were looking for

  • M Jones

  • September 2014

Friendly welcome at hotel retreat hidden on the moors

I was pleasantly surprised to go through the gate and arrive on the moors to find sheep and ponies wondering around on either side of the path leading to the hotel.

The gardens are definitely the stand out feature of the hotel. The reception was warm friendly and very helpful. Was very pleased to discover that we had been given a room with a garden view. The only slight disappointment was that although the bathroom was very modern and clean the room itself was a bit dated. If I ever return I would request a newly refurbished room with a balcony which would be perfect for the summer. All the staff were extremely friendly polite and helpful. The evening bar meal was very tasty, well cooked and hot. Just a shame we had to wait so long for it. Breakfast was good and we had a lovely view of the garden. Very relaxing and restaurant tastefully decorated. Would definitely return now that we know there is a bus stop right next to the hotel sign on the road which we unfortunately missed!. lol. Highly recommended for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings and convieniently close to Plymouth. And can even bring your dog with you.