No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Tree Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sheep Street , Burford, OX18 4LW
In the picture-postcard town of Burford, the southern gateway to the Cotswolds, is the charming Bay Tree Hotel. Set amidst the celebrated ancient black and white timbered buildings and those constructed from the beautiful honey-coloured Cotswold stone, a scene is created which beyond doubt has an aura of yesteryear.

An impressive location for country breaks whatever the season, the Bay Tree Hotel is well situated for exploring the countryside, for visiting National Trust properties and famous Cotswold gardens, for a trip to the races or just to simply relax.

The hotel is proud to announce winning the Enjoy England Award for Excellence 2011 Small Hotel of the Year - Gold Award and well as the Enjoy England breakfast award. An oak staircase leads to our luxurious bedrooms, each having individual character and decorated in warm traditional colours with fine, often antique, furniture for a true country feel, generously stocked with Molton Brown products. Dining in the Bay Tree Restaurant at Burford is a unique and distinctly pleasurable experience. The tapestries, flagstone floor and original leaded windows, overlooking the patio and garden, combine to give the dining room an elegant, country feel. Here you can relax and enjoy the finest in traditional and modern English cooking and first-class service. Enjoy award-winning cuisine in an intimate, candle-lit atmosphere and choose from the extensive wine list. Be tempted by a diverse choice of dishes, prepared from the freshest local produce, with seasonal twists redolent of your countryside location.

Alternatively, lighter meals can be enjoyed in the hotel’s country-style Woolsack Bar.
With their open log fires, stone flagged floor and comfortable armchairs, the Woolsack Bar at The Bay Tree Hotel, Burford, and adjoining library are ideal for relaxing with the newspaper, taking afternoon tea or enjoying your coffee and liqueurs.

Picture of The Bay Tree Hotel, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall it's a nice hotel.
The hotel is located in a quiet street, the bed in the hotel is clean and comfortable, we had very good sleep, it will be better if the double bed is not pieced together by two twin beds.
The food is good, we stayed for two nights, I ordered the same vegetarian breakfast in these two days, it is interesting that I got different quantity of food in my plate for the two mornings.

Reviewed by
J Zhang

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As always the bay tree was wonderful. Great staff, great rooms, we love it.

Reviewed by
Roy Davis

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better service than many 5* hotels
Exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff. I usually shudder when country hotels don't start breakfast until 7.30 am as this is usually the time when the chef arrives and starts to think about firing up the stove - meaning a breakfastless departure for the business trouble. Here, though, a fully personalised English was on my table at 7.38

Reviewed by
Nigel Middleton

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel with great location. Nothing to fault at all - super room, good food and very friendly staff. Went to meet up with friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definately be going back in the future.

Reviewed by
peter c

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As usual my moher and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at The bay Tree.
We love the old english rustic charms of this hotel, especially in the winter months, the cosy bar areas with roaring log fires. Staff are helpful and friendly yet never intrusive and breakfast is always perfectly cooked good quality local produce. The only down side would be the size of the twin beds which were a little narrow. Otherwise our room was clean, comfortable and warm with a nice bathroom and plenty of Molton Brown goodies.

Reviewed by
m newman

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in Burford
The bay Tree Hotel is lovely, The staff are all very very friendly and helpful.
I stayed with my mother and we had a very comfortable twin bedroom.
Burford is one of the prettiest towns in the Cotswold's and The Bay Tree is situated just of the main street, so it is quite and only a minutes walk to the shops.

Reviewed by
Katherine B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of heaven in Burford
Quite simply a hotel that is oozing with quirky character, has great rooms and serves a superb breakfast. Add the fact that it is one minutes walk to the centre of the village and that the staff are brilliant. We will certainly be back!

Reviewed by
S Moore

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant find!
I was very impressed by the Bay Tree Hotel. The staff were polite and friendly and very helpful. My room was lovely. Clean, well furnished, comfortable bed. The building is very old and intriguing and the hotel has lots of interesting features. It is great for a person travelling alone, or a romantic getaway or a family! The food was also very good in the restaurant. I look forward to staying here again.

Reviewed by
Victoria A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a Verrry pleasant relaxing stay
A short break in Bruford, we chose to stay at the BayTree as we had previously eaten there for lunch a few years ago. This was a very nice place to stay in terms of ambience, service, food and the accommodation. We had an afternoon tea in the small comfortable sitting room area. Tea was brought to us and then the fire was lit for a really warm and relaxing treat to while away a few moments before the evening.
The menu for the evening meal was small but varied and interesting. There were a number of 'minor' courses (petit fours etc) which added nicely to the main dishes on the menu. They provided a nice pause to the serving of the main dishes. Excellent service, nice surroundings. You could ask for little more.
The location in Burford is down a small side road off the busy High Street, it is therefore a in quiet location.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
I remember this hotel from a long time ago when I was working in the area. I thought then that it was
unique and I vowed to return one day in the future. That day came when my wife and I decided to stop in the Cotswolds "en route" to Brighton. I thought I would give her a treat and book in at the Bay Tree. Without a doubt it is still unique in my opinion and we both enjoyed our stay very much. So much so that my wife wants to make it a regular event.

Reviewed by
Peter Smith

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next