Reviews - YHA London Thameside

2

20 SALTER ROAD, LONDON, SE16 5PR

Price From 146.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (20)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • F Edwards

  • February 2015

Central London on the cheap

Standard YHA accommodation, very cheap for London but definitely no frills.

It was nice a warm, tiny bunkbeds though- you'll struggle if you're over 5' 8.

Breakfast pretty standard greasy fry up but a good price of £4.99 and you don't need to book. They do have a problem with the fire alarm which can get set off by deodorant and they average 3 alarms a week.

Easy to get to on the tube and the desk is manned 24 hours a day so you can always get hold of someone.

  • A Jones

  • December 2014

Only a few grumbles

Hair found in the bed when we arrived, black mould in the shower and the electrical point didn't work properly, room wasn't cleaned during our stay and only given one tea bag for our entire stay (3 nights) however for the price I can't really complain.

  • K Scott

  • October 2014

6 person room for 2 nights.

The reception and online booking was easy to understand with very friendly and helpful staff.

Loved the fact you could choose between self-catering and the cafe, the kitchen for the self-catering was tidy and clean. The room was nice and spacious with separate toilet to shower room, good for going as a group. Great location and easy to find. Would definitely go again and recommend others do too.

  • Zdenka F

  • October 2014

Good value for money paid

I was very satisfied with the quality of this accommodation

  • P Kovachev

  • October 2014

Awful room

Too small room with bed over bed!

  • Anne B

  • September 2014

Basic and fine

I felt rather old in the Youth Hostel, but staff were welcoming.

The twin room had bunks and both had a light which was bright enough to read by. Bed & bedding were clean, the bathroom scuffed and shabby but also clean. The room was quiet (2nd floor, maybe noisier on other floors). I know Rotherhithe and it was nice to be near station and church, and in a pleasant part of Docklands with trees around. Breakfast looked nice but I didn't stay for it.

  • P Simpson

  • September 2014

Great.

The location was perfect.

It was easy to get in and out of London and walk along the Thames, without hearing the hustle and bustle. The staff were friendly and the room was just what we needed. A twin bunk bed was what we expected, but it was fab to have our own bathroom.

  • Sarah B

  • July 2014

Loud, hot and cheap

We stayed for 2 nights in a private en suite room for 2.

The room was very small and the bathroom was a bit grubby. The reception area of this hostel is nice and the staff were friendly. We stayed on a Thursday and a Friday night and it was in the middle of a heat wave so everywhere was hot but the rooms were unbearable as there was no ventilation and safety windows. The major downside was the noise, on the first night a huge number of teenagers with a school party arrived and proceed to run up and down the stairwells and corridors screaming until 4am. I have since been informed that there is a night manager that patrols and checks but clearly this didn't happen. On the second night a group of 6 men who were staying on the same floor as us decided to scream and shout up and down the corridor, they brought out their guitars and were singing until 1am, at this point several people on the corridor decided to ask them to be quiet. I had hoped that this hostel would be family friendly as it is a way out from the centre of London and not very near tube or bus links (about 10-15 mins walk to tube station), but it is not a place I will be returning to.

  • I Morris

  • July 2014

YHA London Thameside

Just want we expected with a Youth Hostle, a very clean room, bunk beds and shower room.

Very close to the tube station, so that we could go into London. Very close to the Thames, for a nice walk.

  • Andrew White

  • July 2014

Short stay

We were four friends that travelled to the UK to see Monty Python.

This is a great place to stay...the staff are some of the best i have experienced at a hostel, always ready to help and advise. The rooms are basic but its London you don't hang around your room anyway...the breakfast for 5 quid is really worth it as well..Its dead easy to find and easy to get around all London...thanks very much