No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Inn

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion, Six Ashes Road , Stourbridge, DY75DU
The Red Lion pub and hotel in Bobbington near Stourbridge is a family run country residence. The building was first recorded in 1820 as an ale house brewing it’s own ale, cider and porter. The current owners of property, ‘The Shaw’ family took over the tenancy in May 1986, and were fortunate enough to buy the freehold of the property in January 1992. Many alterations and additions have taken place over the years, including the hotel which offers 17 bedrooms in modern and traditional surroundings.
Bobbington is part of a settlement of small villages throughout the district. It is surrounded by wonderful scenic countryside just waiting to be discovered, whether it be by car, walking or cycling. It is an ideal base to explore all the local attractions that the area has to offer. There is something to suit all ages, from historic houses, RAF Cosford, The Black Country Museum or visit the nearby Halfpenny Green vineyards and treat yourself to a bottle of award winning English wine! The pretty nearby historic town of Bridgnorth is also worth a visit.
We are within easy reach of the motorways and large towns including Telford & Wolverhampton. Birmingham’s attractions are a mere 30 minute drive away. Birmingham airport can be reached within 50 minutes.
You’ll find lots to see and do around the area, making The Red Lion an ideal location to enjoy the most of the region whether staying on business or for pleasure.
Picture of Red Lion Inn, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect village hotel
From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff were fantastic. The food was superb and as we had the executive room that was also fantastic. Could not fault this hotel one bit and we would definitely recommend to friends and family as well as stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kirsty P

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a pleasent location
I stayed in the Red Lion on the night of our shoot dinner, I was amazed at how busy the place was, we had dinner for 30 of us and it was spot on, super food and brilliant service. This explains why the place is so busy they are giving customers what they want, we spent a very pleasant evening (and quite a lot of money) in the bar before retiring to our beds. Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked to order, non of your buffet rubbish as is often the case in more expensive hotels. We have already decided to have our function her again next year and I will certainly be staying here again !!!

Reviewed by
Mike Skerrett

From Dolwyddelan, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the extras drive past Wolverhampton
Had to stop near Wombourne and due to Wolverhampton being booked up ended up stopping at the Red Lion.Well worth the extra trip. It was very quiet and relaxing there and the lass on reception and the boss who was floating around were genuinely, very friendly. I'd accidentally booked in for two people on LateRooms and they automatically gave me the single price which was a nice touch. When you compare the cost of the Red Lion to the local Premier Inn that night, it's good value (I put 5 on the value scale because I'm just tight). Compared to being in the middle of Dudley and Wolverhampton it's priceless. Got up in the morning and the breakfast was very well done,and the serving ladies were lovely. Got to the car park and all I could smell was fresh air. Nice to see a family business thriving in this day and age.Deservedly so. I've even written a review,so it must have been good.

Reviewed by
albert v

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and peacful getaway!
Me and my partner had a lovely stay at the Red Lion for their annual fireworks display. The Hotel room was a great size and well decorated. The bathroom was stunning with the most powerful shower I have ever been in. The surroundings are peaceful and quiet and you can have a really nice little getaway. Breakfast was served a little early but as we stayed during the week that was to be expected. The staff are lovely and everything was perfect. Will definitely be staying again next year.

Reviewed by
L Jasper

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Executive needs improvement
Having booked the executive suite for a night away for my fiancé birthday I was expecting the best as on our previous stays.
We stayed in room 406 and in my opinion it needs some TLC.
Kettle in the room needs descaling/cleaning
The bed needs repairing
The light bulb in the side light in bed needs changing
There was a hair in the jacuzzi. No bathrobes?
Bathroom needs to be cleaned better-where have the complementary goodies gone ?
Having booked the room thought late rooms I then called the hotel to book a table for an evening meal and although we had to wait an hour to order our food the food was lovely but when I told the bar tender my name and that I had booked a table it wasn't in the book as a booked table in other words it wasn't reserved for us although we were accommodated.
Now to pay £130 for the room at the standard it was at and for the meal and drinks over £50 spent so near on a £200 stay I am quite disappointed because there was no organisation at all sorry to say but I could have stayed in Bewdley in a Georgian house for less money and be right next to all amenities.

Reviewed by
Jade R

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great accomodation in great location
Stayed here as a result of good reviews - they weren't wrong the only down side is there is very poor mobile phone reception. I got lucky and was given a exec room - this came with a seperate lounge area with a large TV pity i never had time too watch it. the bathroom was huge with a wet room type floor, a whirlpool bath and a seperate V large shower with twin heads at head and waist level. Good breakfast and very handy for the golf course at Enville - the reason for my stay! All V clean

Reviewed by
christopher t

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

commercial hotel
Clean and pleasant, with friendly staff. Grown larger than the pub with rooms I was expecting.

Reviewed by
john s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The extra mile
Staff went out of their way to be helpful, the restaurant has been full to the brim in the evenings every visit which speaks volumes too.

Reviewed by
Scott C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf break
Very rare for me to give top marks in all categories but I really can't find any fault.
From the initial booking-in confirmation email to checking out the service was warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble.
It's obviously a popular venue for eating and service and I can see why.
Pity it's not closer to next year's golf break venue!

Reviewed by
Michael Knight

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliness of this hotel stands out--staff so helpful, room very comfortable, everything explained to us, taxi booked by hotel for party and chased up when late--what more can you ask!

Reviewed by
joyce woodings

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next