No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Inn

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion, Six Ashes Road , Stourbridge, DY75DU
The Red Lion pub and hotel in Bobbington near Stourbridge is a family run country residence. The building was first recorded in 1820 as an ale house brewing it’s own ale, cider and porter. The current owners of property, ‘The Shaw’ family took over the tenancy in May 1986, and were fortunate enough to buy the freehold of the property in January 1992. Many alterations and additions have taken place over the years, including the hotel which offers 17 bedrooms in modern and traditional surroundings.
Bobbington is part of a settlement of small villages throughout the district. It is surrounded by wonderful scenic countryside just waiting to be discovered, whether it be by car, walking or cycling. It is an ideal base to explore all the local attractions that the area has to offer. There is something to suit all ages, from historic houses, RAF Cosford, The Black Country Museum or visit the nearby Halfpenny Green vineyards and treat yourself to a bottle of award winning English wine! The pretty nearby historic town of Bridgnorth is also worth a visit.
We are within easy reach of the motorways and large towns including Telford & Wolverhampton. Birmingham’s attractions are a mere 30 minute drive away. Birmingham airport can be reached within 50 minutes.
You’ll find lots to see and do around the area, making The Red Lion an ideal location to enjoy the most of the region whether staying on business or for pleasure.
Picture of Red Lion Inn, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great accomodation in great location
Stayed here as a result of good reviews - they weren't wrong the only down side is there is very poor mobile phone reception. I got lucky and was given a exec room - this came with a seperate lounge area with a large TV pity i never had time too watch it. the bathroom was huge with a wet room type floor, a whirlpool bath and a seperate V large shower with twin heads at head and waist level. Good breakfast and very handy for the golf course at Enville - the reason for my stay! All V clean

Reviewed by
christopher t

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

commercial hotel
Clean and pleasant, with friendly staff. Grown larger than the pub with rooms I was expecting.

Reviewed by
john s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The extra mile
Staff went out of their way to be helpful, the restaurant has been full to the brim in the evenings every visit which speaks volumes too.

Reviewed by
Scott C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf break
Very rare for me to give top marks in all categories but I really can't find any fault.
From the initial booking-in confirmation email to checking out the service was warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble.
It's obviously a popular venue for eating and service and I can see why.
Pity it's not closer to next year's golf break venue!

Reviewed by
Michael Knight

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliness of this hotel stands out--staff so helpful, room very comfortable, everything explained to us, taxi booked by hotel for party and chased up when late--what more can you ask!

Reviewed by
joyce woodings

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay here. What a lovely place the staff could not do enough to help us. The food was excellent and the staff were really welcoming and friendly. Got back late one of the night's and the chef went out of his way to cook us a meal, was much appreciated. Enjoyed our stay very much and would go back again.

Reviewed by
J Jordan

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
nice modern rooms attached to lively pub...service excellent...good vaklue

Reviewed by
Peter Burtonshaw

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country delight just on edge of West Midlands
The two of us stayed here on a visit back to the area we used to live in. I was golfing at Patshull Park,and we dined in the evening with two other couples. Our son, daughter in law, and grandson joined us for breakfast.
Our room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was excellent, with a superb power shower. The rooms are in a modern section and well yup to current high end standards.
We dined in the pub restaurant. The menu is very extensive, and well priced.
The staff are well trained and looked after all our needs.
The location is close to a number of excellent golf courses and not far from many of the Shropshire tourist attractions like the Severn Valley Railway.

Reviewed by
Geoff L

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab room fab hotel to celebrate out 1st annivarsary
Loved this hotel we had the excetive room and what can i say it was lovely own living room mini bar with huge tv- bedroom kingsize bed tv and my fav part the bathroom double power shower twin sinks and big jaccuzi bath must say i did not wanna leave room- we had dinner there and pudding and had breakfast next mornin its was fab- i loved this place so much will def be stopping again me and my partner had a lovely romantic weekend

Reviewed by
lisa dean

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We stayed for one night after spending a family day at the west mid safari park, family room nice - all necessities present. Went down and had some tea, food very good quality. Bed comfortable. We will be back again!

Reviewed by
steven b

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next