No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Inn

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion, Six Ashes Road , Stourbridge, DY75DU
The Red Lion pub and hotel in Bobbington near Stourbridge is a family run country residence. The building was first recorded in 1820 as an ale house brewing it’s own ale, cider and porter. The current owners of property, ‘The Shaw’ family took over the tenancy in May 1986, and were fortunate enough to buy the freehold of the property in January 1992. Many alterations and additions have taken place over the years, including the hotel which offers 17 bedrooms in modern and traditional surroundings.
Bobbington is part of a settlement of small villages throughout the district. It is surrounded by wonderful scenic countryside just waiting to be discovered, whether it be by car, walking or cycling. It is an ideal base to explore all the local attractions that the area has to offer. There is something to suit all ages, from historic houses, RAF Cosford, The Black Country Museum or visit the nearby Halfpenny Green vineyards and treat yourself to a bottle of award winning English wine! The pretty nearby historic town of Bridgnorth is also worth a visit.
We are within easy reach of the motorways and large towns including Telford & Wolverhampton. Birmingham’s attractions are a mere 30 minute drive away. Birmingham airport can be reached within 50 minutes.
You’ll find lots to see and do around the area, making The Red Lion an ideal location to enjoy the most of the region whether staying on business or for pleasure.
Picture of Red Lion Inn, Stourbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel to stay in
Friendly staff,excellent accommodation, room was very clean and spacious, excellent facilities,breakfast was served efficiently and quickly and was very tasty with good choices on the menu, overall had great experience and would definitely stop here again.

Reviewed by
andrew h

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just passing through
I was looking for somewhere near Wolverhampton and this did the job, everything was ok and it all had an independent feel.

Reviewed by
craig h

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
Stayed for a wedding At Blakelands just down the road (it's walking distance). Didn't spend much time at the hotel but staff really friendly and helpful, room was good and so was the food. It is a bit pricier than I was hoping for but there are no closer alternatives so it saved money in taxis.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another pub with rooms, nowhere near hotel standards, yet strangely hotel prices still being charged
In one word: Avoid.
My wife arrived first with the children after a long drive from Southampton. The desk was not manned. She rang the bell and hung about. Eventually she went into the (packed) restaurant for help. I arrived a few minutes later. I asked a member of staff to direct me to room 409 but she did not know. However, the nice young man showed me upstairs. It can never be more reassuring when checking into your accommodation than to be met by two police officers coming down the stairs. Apparently there had been a scuffle in a neighbouring room. Well, it was Saturday night after all. We tried the bar. Baileys took an age to find. Half a Stowford Press and an orange juice. £8.80. Cleanliness: The tiled bathroom could do with more than just a look at - some grout was missing and that which remained had gone brown. Yeuck. The shower curtain also had mould on the bottom. Equipment: Sofabed and a hard double bed. There were clean sheets, but there were not enough pillows and the children's double duvet was actually a single. We asked for pillows and the manager did his best, but had no idea where the pillows or pillow cases were. We managed without. We were also only given three towels. This was for a family of four. Safety: A ramshackle table in the corridor, on which there were two irons. There were families staying with toddlers - not a good mix. A good night's sleep? Not much chance of this, as there was noise from the pub and the car park until twelve. This is a family room remember. A good lie in? Not really, as the rock music from the adjoining annex began before eight. It turned out, the breakfast room below our room had piped rock music and this began with 'Under Pressure' and a further rock selection. When we arrived for breakfast, the ladies couldn't do enough. Where were they when we wanted pillow cases? Hoorah. The food was very nice, despite the 'transport cafe' choice of music. However, at check-out time, the receptionist continued her phone conversation throughout the payment process. It wasn't until after she had safely extracted the £95 from me (no please or thank you) that she asked if everything had been alright with my stay. Well, I wasn't really in the mood to go into it. What a shame, because there are plenty of good placed out there - I know, because I only stay in places with outstanding reviews. Sorry, I can't give more than two stars for this place.

Reviewed by
Nick Blunn

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Good food (steak and stilton pie excellent), nice beers and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Vince Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Nice, easy pleasant hotel. Very helpful staff. Owner takes personal role in hotel.

Reviewed by
G Read

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We would stay here again, very clean and staff friendly

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money, lovely staff so friendly

Reviewed by
S Hainsworth

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big this to everyone at the red loin inn
Stay at the red lion inn for my son wedding held near by. Staff were brilliant . Food very good. We enjoy our stay so much booked to revisit while we were there.
BIg Thanks to all at the Red Lion Inn

Reviewed by
Vivienne O

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
b gates

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next