No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hermitage Working Farm

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Hermitage working farm, Froghall, near Cheadle, Stoke on Trent, ST102HQ
Hermitage Working Farm B&B provides you with an ideal base to visit the many attractions in and around the Staffordshire Moorlands, for example Alton Towers, The Peak District, Trentham Gardens, The Churnet Valley, Dovedale and The Staffordshire Potteries to name a few.

Set in the Staffordshire Moorlands, Hermitage Working Farm is a 100-acre hill livestock farm which stands high overlooking the picturesque wooded Churnet Valley affectionately known as ‘Staffordshire’s Little Switzerland’ with its canal wharf, meandering river and nostalgic steam railway.

Hermitage Working Farm is the perfect base for any kind of holiday, whether it be fun filled or merely quiet and relaxing. From here you can spend time at Alton Towers being just 10 minutes away, alternatively Stoke-on-Trent hosts many famous Staffordshire Potteries with their museums and factory shops and are all a meagre 12 miles away.

Waterworld, also in Stoke-on-Trent is the UK's largest indoor aqua park, ideal for that wet day!! (so don't forget to bring your swim wear). For a quieter break the Peak National Park is also on our doorstep offering many walking and cycling trails along with numerous other beautiful and historic places to explore. We also edge on to the "Staffordshire Way" so for walkers we are an ideal location. The market towns of Leek, Cheadle, Uttoxeter, Ashbourne and Buxton are all within a 30-minute drive.

Picture of Hermitage Working Farm, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely stay
We booked a family room for 2 nights and were chuffed with the place. Lovely people, great breakfast, room was simple but clean. Will use again if we return to Alton towers.

Reviewed by
M Austin

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay near Alton Towers
I stayed with my 14 year old daughter 15 year old son and his friend they were happy to have free wifi the room had a kettle with plenty of tea coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits which were topped up daily. The room was clean and the continental breakfast consisted of tea coffee orange juice cereal toast croissants and you can help yourselves to fruit salad and yoghurt. Only a ten minute drive to Alton Towers.

Reviewed by
lefkia a

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
The breakfast was delicious home cooked food. The accommodation was extremely clean.

Reviewed by
amanda G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B &B in a beautiful location. Very accommodating as upon request they kindly changed check in time for us so we could get to a family wedding.

Reviewed by
H Butler

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, very close to Alton towers. Brilliant views. Friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
k munro

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute alton towers stay
When we arrived we were greeted by a very lovely couple. The power had went out and they explained that our room should have power asap. Our room was in one of the outbuildings and at the top of the stairs. The room itself was very lovely and we were provided with tea coffee etc. The rooms also have freeview tv's. The bed was slightly uncomfy, they could maybe do with a topper. And for £68 a night I would expect some shampoo and shower gel but that wouldn't put me off staying. We would definitely stay again. It is only a few miles away from alton towers and there are lots of places to eat in the surrounding areas. All in all. Will be back

Reviewed by
Ashley B

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing farm house break
Stayed overnight for a family party 10 minutes away. Loved the area and views. Plenty of outside areas to sit out on and have picnics. Breakfast adequate. (didn't have cooked option). Rooms what you would expect of barn conversions very quaint
Would highly recommend

Reviewed by
B Mayo

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
very clean, dated but cosy. We booked and were just expecting a room but were given a lodge. Very pleased with it. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
sharon c

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position for touring area
Good grade II listed farmhouse set in picturesque surroundings. Friendly welcome and comfortable room with facilities. Modern shower but toilet needed a bit of tlc!
Option of a continental breakfast but £5.00 extra for cooked breakfast.
We would like to visit the area again as it looks interesting to explore so would probably book Hermitage Farm again.

Reviewed by
M Spaul

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location and very clean but extremely old fashioned
Very clean and friendly staff. Ideal for a stay after a long day at Alton Towers. Kids didn't like it but that was because it was so old fashioned and they'd never experienced anything like it as normally go for something more contemporary. They did love playing with Sam, the very friendly farm dog though! I am extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene and I certainly had no issues.

Reviewed by
lisa m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next