No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hermitage Working Farm

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Hermitage working farm, Froghall, near Cheadle, Stoke on Trent, ST102HQ
Hermitage Working Farm B&B provides you with an ideal base to visit the many attractions in and around the Staffordshire Moorlands, for example Alton Towers, The Peak District, Trentham Gardens, The Churnet Valley, Dovedale and The Staffordshire Potteries to name a few.

Set in the Staffordshire Moorlands, Hermitage Working Farm is a 100-acre hill livestock farm which stands high overlooking the picturesque wooded Churnet Valley affectionately known as ‘Staffordshire’s Little Switzerland’ with its canal wharf, meandering river and nostalgic steam railway.

Hermitage Working Farm is the perfect base for any kind of holiday, whether it be fun filled or merely quiet and relaxing. From here you can spend time at Alton Towers being just 10 minutes away, alternatively Stoke-on-Trent hosts many famous Staffordshire Potteries with their museums and factory shops and are all a meagre 12 miles away.

Waterworld, also in Stoke-on-Trent is the UK's largest indoor aqua park, ideal for that wet day!! (so don't forget to bring your swim wear). For a quieter break the Peak National Park is also on our doorstep offering many walking and cycling trails along with numerous other beautiful and historic places to explore. We also edge on to the "Staffordshire Way" so for walkers we are an ideal location. The market towns of Leek, Cheadle, Uttoxeter, Ashbourne and Buxton are all within a 30-minute drive.

Picture of Hermitage Working Farm, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position for touring area
Good grade II listed farmhouse set in picturesque surroundings. Friendly welcome and comfortable room with facilities. Modern shower but toilet needed a bit of tlc!
Option of a continental breakfast but £5.00 extra for cooked breakfast.
We would like to visit the area again as it looks interesting to explore so would probably book Hermitage Farm again.

Reviewed by
M Spaul

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location and very clean but extremely old fashioned
Very clean and friendly staff. Ideal for a stay after a long day at Alton Towers. Kids didn't like it but that was because it was so old fashioned and they'd never experienced anything like it as normally go for something more contemporary. They did love playing with Sam, the very friendly farm dog though! I am extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene and I certainly had no issues.

Reviewed by
lisa m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely nice
Only a few miles from Alton Towers, easy to find and great countryside views. We were upgraded to an apartment for free as we were staying 2 nights so we'd have more space. The staff are very welcoming and the breakfast was very good, extremely pleased with our stay!

Reviewed by
S Edwards

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay
The people who run this place are really lovely. The room was nice and the shower was amazing. Only downside to the room is that we were in the downstairs room and you could hear every footstep and movement from the people staying above us. Wont put us off coming again though, very peaceful and quiet place to stay with lovely views. Only thing I regret is not getting a cooked english breakfast, it smelt delicious! Will definitely be visiting again.

Reviewed by
lindsey w

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close enough to Alton towers and in a lovely location
The family room with bunks was a little bit cramped but nothing had been overlooked. Nice and clean, the bathroom was adequate size and fresh. We had a lovely breakfast, We don't normally stay in B & B's but wanted a location easy to get back to from the day out at Alton Towers with youngsters. This fitted the bill very well.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Escape
I stayed here for two nights and I can honestly say it was good value for money. The only two down points I have are that the beds are in need of new matresses and the blinds in the rooms let in as much light when they are closed as well as open. Apart from these two things everything there was brilliant. Situated at the top of a valley, only 2 minute drive from local pubs and shops, the Heritage Working Farm is a great place to stay. Welcomed as we pulled into the car park by the owners gorgeous dog, Max, whom is very friendly and always wants to play. The peace and quiet is lovely. Rooms have everything you would need - towels, shower gels, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, Tea, Coffee, Hot chocolate, hangers. The breakfast room is in the owners house and its a lovely, quaint room. The attention to detail was so amazing and there are so many intricate ornaments to look at. Breakfast was cooked to order and for the extra cost of £5 a day I think it was definately worth it. I would definately recommend this to anyone who wants to go for a quiet country break, or someone whom wants some where cost effective to stay if you are visiting Alton Towers as it is a quick 10 minute drive away from the theme park. Overall experience - A*.

Reviewed by
D Freeman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful & comfortable ... enjoyed our walk through the woods to the local pub/restauant
Enjoyed our stay & were made very welcome, thankyou :)

Reviewed by
sue h

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Hermitage
very comfortable bed,nice hotel staff,satisfied with the breakfast and i like the location of the hotel 10 mins.drive to Alton towers and relaxing view from the location of the hotel!just like at the top of the world.

Reviewed by
Eugene D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only booked a night as we were passing through and couldn't be happier at finding Hermitage Working Farm.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

farm life like you imagine
beautiful location, had a long interesting chat with the farmer, never felt at any time that i was wasting his time. nice for a change for staff to spend a bit of time and fill you in with local info and interests. some where i would return to, and spend a few days next time, with grand children or advise family and friends to visit with their children. friendliest dog you would ever meet, thank you.

Reviewed by
john powell

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next