No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 215 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!!!
Excellent customer service by all staff, we thoroughly enjoy our stay! Will defiantly be returning!!

Reviewed by
E Colborn

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and friendly place in a good location

Reviewed by
L Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very smart and clean hotel breakfast was overpriced bread wasn't of good quality

Reviewed by
JULIE R

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Staff, hotel great only disappointment was that the bar where food was served was an intimidating sports bar, not suitable for children though the hotel said they were allowed to eat there. However room had simple cooking facilities and free hot drinks in the reception. Would use again,

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was brilliant, very clean, friendly helpful staff would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
J Hilton

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my review
I thought the staff were very helpful when I had a problem in my room and sorted things out for me straight away and I would definitely recommend to anyone I know to stay at the hotel

Reviewed by
karl burgess

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

modern upmarket hotel. stayed 10/5/14
Very modern. Good location. This is 2nd time we stayed here and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Reviewed by
A Gristwood

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff
Ck in was friendly and welcoming. No cot was in the room as requested but house keeping arrived within minutes, both reception and house keeping were very friendly and enjoyed a laugh and joke.
The suit had most things that we needed for our stay with a 1 yr old. How ever scissors and a cork screw would of been helpful.
The suit was clean and well presented but the stained ceiling let it down.
Over all nice place to stay where the staff were great.
Thank you

Reviewed by
Rose H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant place to stay!
I loved this hotel as soon as me and my partner walked in. The decor is brilliant, very modern. The room was a little too warm but the temperature controls were very easy to use. We recieved a complimentary bottle of champagne with the room which was described with the booking. The shower was fantastic. We ordered room service at around ten at night, the service was speedy and the food was lovely even though we ordered so late. The bed was very comfy and there was not a sound from the hallway all night!! So relaxing. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
S Charlton

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Hotel is ideally located for the shops, restaurants and nightlife ( and St James Park if you are going to a game). Rooms are small but very comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Car parking is across the road from the hotel and costs £8 for 24 hours ( 12 noon to 12 noon, you can then move car to another parking bay for £1.20 per hour if staying longer). Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.