Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (167)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Stubbs

  • November 2014

Very nice hotel!

Very nice hotel in a perfect location, only walking distance from the gate, the diamond strip and the metro arena.

This hotel is very modern and no expense has been spared on the decor, our room was very nice indeed. Very modern contemporary furniture and a lovely bathroom. However, surprisingly a few common essentials were missing. Although there was a kettle and cups provided, We were disappointed that was simply no tea bags available (only earl grey) and also there was no complimentary bottles of water or drinks in the fridge provided. We would 100% use the Sandman signature hotel again!

  • alistair H

  • November 2014

Hotel with a buzz

This is a great city centre hotel with good facilities and keen pricing offering real bargains .

It is well run with good front of house staff who were friendly and helpful

  • MARK A

  • November 2014

Good Value for central Newcastle

The room was very comfortable if a little small.

Very handy for town and football ground. We got a space in the car park for 8 quid which is a bargain for Newcastle. We were on the first floor and nervous about noise from the bar but it was fine. Very helpful staff. Only complaint was the cost of including the breakfast in the stay - far too expensive so we didn't bother. Otherwise great.

  • W Williams

  • November 2014

If you are a football fan this hotel is great for St James Park

  • G Richardson

  • November 2014

Brilliant stay

Really good 1 night stay at this hotel.

Great location, great staff, great hotel. Rooms really nice, can't hear any noise throughout the hotel.. can hear road noise outside but not enough to keep you awake at night. Staff really pleasant and helpful. 24hr room service was really good and food was really nice. Would loved to have stayed more than one night, will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Gareth M

  • November 2014


Lovely room nice, clean and tidy.

Appliances in the room giving you the option of having food in the room. The staff are really welcoming and polite. My favorite part of the stay in the hotel was the view from my window of my home teams ground (Newcastle United). I didn't eat in the hotel but right out side I went to a place called the lock and keys and the food was amazing


  • November 2014

amazing location

The Sandman is a excellent hotel and is situated just across the road from Newcastle football ground its easy to get to from the airport etc as the metro station is just across the road we flew from Exeter and found the journey a joy to do.

The sandman is situated at the top of china town which is full of lovely restaurants All the staff in the hotel were very polite and extremely helpful the hotel is stylish decorated and the shark bar is a good place to chill out and was very popular day and at night we will coming back to enjoy the nightlife of Newcastle who defiantly know how to party

  • L Marsh

  • November 2014

One night stay

Ideal location, friendly helpful staff.

Clean room, however no toilet paper, tissues or sanitary bags. Rusting around the radiator. No shower door meaning water splashed everywhere. Net curtains in our room were dirty. All such a shame for what is supposed to be a luxury hotel.

  • j eaton

  • November 2014

Great value for money

Hotel was easy enough to find from the train station, very clean and modern inside.

Staff very friendly, and the hotel is right next to Chinatown so there's a good selection of restaurants nearby.

  • Julia K

  • November 2014

A modern luxury hotel but access may be an issue for some.

A modern contemporary hotel mixing overnight comfort with opulent surroundings.

The room was excellent for 1 or 2 persons, particularly the wetroom / double shower. The customer service was friendly and welcoming, my only negative was the Bar/eating area on the ground was noisy with music/TV screens everywhere when I wanted a quiet drink before bedtime. I also noticed at breakfast time there was only high stools/benches or squashy sofas to sit on. Where does a wheelchair user or elderly person sit?. no proper chairs. Did they do an Access Audit here under DDA legislation??