No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic holiday
the 4 days i stayed in sandman signature hotel was simply wonderful. it met my needs in all ramifications. i was particularly impressed with the fact that my favourite hot chocolate drink was made avaliable 24hrs at the reception. You can't imagine how much i appreciated this. The comfort of the room and the excellent bathroom that goes with it is what i will gladly recommend for anyone to experience. Thumbs up to the Management and keep the flag flying.

Reviewed by
olujimi h

From lagos, Nigeria
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of best
I don't know what to say but its One of the best, simple as that.

Reviewed by
L Curry

From Co Durham , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle weekend
Loved the stay, the room had everything we both needed, would definitely use this hotel again

Reviewed by
W Murphy

From , England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room absolutely spotless and very comfortable.Staff lovely ,friendly and very helpful. Will stay here again if visiting Newcastle.

Reviewed by
m kennedy

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for one night.
Not a hotel I would choose to return to but it was fine for one night - clean and the bed was comfortable. They claim to be luxurious and elegant but our room was very small and the quality of the finish, fittings and decor was really not great. Although quite new and clean it was cheaply done. The bathroom is trying to be a wet-room but it doesn't quite work and looks more like a prison or hospital hose-down room. There is nowhere to put anything and the plethora of grab rails, low basin, emergency pull-cords etc all imply disabled access but you wouldn't have been able to get into the room in a wheel chair and would even have trouble getting to the bed if you were very fat as the room is so cramped!
Breakfast is very expensive, especially if you don't want a lot, but having a fridge in the room is a bonus as we could grab some fruit juice and yoghurt at the nearby Sainsbury's and have our own breakfast for a fraction of the price. The air-conditioning unit was very noisy so we couldn't sleep with it on, but couldn't keep the window open because of the noise from the street.
Location is handy for the football, university or visiting the city. We couldn't fault the staff who were all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
L Hall

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, excellent location, friendly helpful staff. Ideal for our requirements.

Reviewed by
J Pratt

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sandman june

Reviewed by
Chris Dunn

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
We were going to a show at the Metro Arena and needed somewhere to stop overnight. The walk was a bit further than advertised but ok - about 15 minutes. Directions were a bit confusing but parking was ok. Room was fine - clean and comfy. Breakfast was plentiful. Would recommend it for a city visit for shopping

Reviewed by
Ann R

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay... June 2013
Hotel was great, lovely room with great views. Staff were friendly and approachable! Location is fantastic, opposite St James' Park, near shops, restraints and bars etc. Parking nearby! Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Burn

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely, really modern an lovely comfy bed. But it wasnt clean, there were hair grips an hair ffrom previous guests. The glass hadn't been cleaned as a smiley face was evident when any condensation appeared and there was foundation on glass/bathroom surfaces from previous guests.

Reviewed by
Emma I

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next