Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle


Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Price From 178.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (170)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Claire M

  • August 2014

Luxury nights stay

  • john c

  • August 2014

Excellent hotel

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions hotel is excellent rooms are very clean and have everything you need, hotel is in a fantastic location 5 minutes walk to the centre of town highly recommend

  • M Hawks

  • July 2014

Unfinished room

Room 211, Ceiling wasnt even painted, Metal trucking still exposed and rust in the bathroom.

The doors are paper thin and you can here everone talking or walking outside. Room was above the bar and the windows didnt shut out the noise at all. Finally got sleep at 3.30 am. terrible place

  • G Jones

  • July 2014

2 night executive double with balcony wouldn't stay again

First of all, arrival was awkward and parking almost impossible, 3 u turns later from the busy main road and ending up on a multi story about a mile away.

Hotel lobby looked nice, check in quick. Room was very dissapointing on first impressions, the so called balcony was barely 6x6 with 2 cheap chairs no table and an industrial view of the back of the hotel. It's also separated from the rest of the room. Waste of cash so would advise against unless a smoker. Carpets tired and worn, paint on walls marked, tiles in bathroom chipped. We got moved from first room due to fault with plug in bath and 2nd room standard of decor was identical, overall tired looking. Would I stay again, probably not and certainly wouldn't pay for an exec double with balcony, maybe a basic room at a cheap rate yes.

  • l wood

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel lovely stay all round very very polite staff would definitely stay again

  • S McCance

  • July 2014

Great stay overall.

Very good price- just over £300 for 4 nights with parking. Well equipped room and helpful staff. Great location, easy walking distance to lots of things in Newcastle and right next to a metro station. Only issue was that one of the shower heads was very black and clogged up and on our last night we noticed that 2 of the pillow cases had mould marks on them. Admittedly we didn't mention it at the time, as only noticed at about 11pm and we had two perfectly good pillows that we could use. I get the impression that the staff would have corrected this for us had we of asked them to. Despite this issue we would stay again.

  • I Pearson

  • July 2014

lovely stay, over priced, lifts broke again...

Stayed here twice now, elevators broke both times, which meant climbing 8 flights of stairs and 10 flights of stairs.

Thought it was a bit overpriced although, if you fish around for dates, you can get a decent deal.

  • K Fisher

  • July 2014

Amazing hotel.

Dead central to nightlife, bars and shops. Quite hotel. Great facilities.

  • C Rigby

  • July 2014

very enjoyable and welcoming stay

The Sandman is an excellent hotel in a brilliant location near the city centre.

The staff were very friendly and if there was anything wrong they rectified it immediately I had a problem with evening meal and the staff were very helpful and the manager gave us his apologies and a free drink to. The breakfast was very good and plenty of variety I really enjoyed my short stay at this hotel.

  • Ian Murray

  • July 2014

Excellent accommodation review.

Excellent accommodation, on the floor that I wanted, good value for money - pity the food and bars weren't the same!