No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonia Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
8 Victoria Road, , , Penrith, CA11 8HR
All our rooms are decorated and maintained to a 4 star standard as required by Visit Britain Inspections. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TVs with freeview, welcome tray with tea, coffee etc, hair drier, alarm clock and free WiFi. The family room consists of a double bed and 2 singles so is usable as a triple or family room. A cot is available at the rate of £5.00 per night for our younger guests. We are conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the town centre with all its bars, restaurants and public houses. Well located at junction 40 of the M6/A66 Penrith gives excellent access to the northern lakes, the Eden valley and Hadrians Wall. Penrith is on the C2C cycleway so for cyclists we offer secure storage for bikes in our bike shed overnight. Other easily accessed activities in the area are sailing on Ullswater, walking the local fells, golf at Penrith, Keswick and Appleby, quad biking, horse riding and mountain biking at Winlatter. Penrith has an interesting mix of pubs and restaurants, giving visitors the choice of traditional pub grub or International cuisine. There are also a variety of tea and coffee shops - something to suit most tastes. The town has five major supermarkets and a range of smaller, specialist shops and boutiques to explore.
Picture of Caledonia Guest House, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Warm welcome. All the facilites of a larger hotel. All the benefits of being owner managed.

Reviewed by
barry s

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
A very enjoyable stay. The location is very convenient, quiet and pleasant. A warm and hospitable reception. Great parking and general facilities. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Palmer

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from scotland
Excellent stop over on return from Scotland. Very friendly couple running the guesthouse. Nothing to complain about. Would definitely use them again

Reviewed by
Paul Morton

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lakes

Reviewed by
Paul Morton

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
We wanted a place for a mini-break and couldn't have been luckier in our selection. Excellent family room, superb breakfast with plenty of variety, friendly yet professional hosts. Free wi-fi was provided - although we had a few connectivity issues but they were always dealt with promptly and it was a nice bonus. It was a great base allowing us quick access to the Lakes and Hadrian's Wall.

Reviewed by
G Long

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and welcoming B & B
I had an excellent stay at Caledonia Guest House. The room, including ensuite, was fresh, clean and smartly presented. It was also of a generous size. There was a useful guide to the town of Penrith including good restaurants in the town, and activities in the surrounding area. The breakfast was delicious and of high quality. Friendly welcome, kindly calling taxis, looking after luggage after check out etc. I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
J Patten

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant 2 night stay.
A very very pleasant and friendly reception, and extremely clean, which is most important in our first impression wherever we stay. One minor fault , is that the room was on the small side, other than that we will certainly reccomend to our friends.

Reviewed by
Brian Bradshaw

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day break at Penrith.
The reason why we chose the Caledonia Guest House was because of the good reviews it had already had on trip advisor and we were not disappointed, Sue and Ian were really friendly, child friendly as well, as in my experience, I have found that not all hotels/guest houses are, the carpets were spotless and the room was lovely and clean, a superb breakfast, and because the children couldn't eat a full English, they catered to their needs and cooked them just what they asked for. The guest house is situated only a couple of minutes walk away from the town centre so there are plenty of shops/restaurants and even a Sainsburys just behind so basically everything is to hand. A really lovely guest house with really lovely owners and we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Wendy A

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, lovely and lovely
Spotless room, warm welcome and delicious breakfast. Sue and Drew are the perfect hosts and will make your stay in Penrith extra special.

Reviewed by
claire p

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Taste Eden in Central Penrith
+tives : Room V.comfy incl. good shower and hot towel rail in warm room, Hosts friendly +approachable,Breakfast v tasty (full english with local bacon, black pudd. and grilled veg. which was lovely!), wifi easy/good, room info comprehensive re-points of int. in area. The house was peaceful inside with little seating alcoves. Everything walkable from here e.g.1 mins walk out front door after turning right for leisure centre for a swim or you can walk up castle street(?) behind the Sainsbury's car park next to leisure centre to Cranstons Deli at top. I.E. on reaching top Rd it's left for Cranstons Deli, right for aldi, station or Castle itself!!

Tips -very close to many restaurants incl. takeouts (map in room) as well as huge sainsbury's; ask for back room
-tives- Front room had disruptive traffic noise due to being on A8, parking with car was awkward on main road but hosts have discs to apply to windscreen for 2 hours free parking,

Reviewed by
Ursula Fearn

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next