No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The West Arms

4Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The West Arms, , , Llanarmon Dyffryn-Ceiriog, LL20 7LD
The West Arms enjoys an idyllic setting in the foothills of the Berwyn Mountain, a rural paradise - a historic 16th Century building with considerable character. If you had to conjure up all dreamlike images of the perfect stay, they all seem to converge on The West Arms. Owned by Geoff and Gill Leigh-Ford, experienced hoteliers at home and abroad, with many successful ventures behind them, they have recently returned (2011). On arrival the busiest event on the road is often the leisurely stroll of a pheasant, the loudest noise is the wind in the trees, the rushing of the river or sheep bleating on a neighbouring hillside. One of our lovely guests described his recent stay (October 2012) as follows "The West Arms has its own special quiet - a drowsy contented peace made of up centuries of just being there - occasionally stirred by the crackling fall of a log on the fire, distant laughter from the bar - and the warmest of welcomes from the staff, ending with a heavenly sleep in a snug bedroom. Often people who come just for a weekend want to stay forever, idling time away (which is very slow and in infinite supply along the Ceiriog Valley) and given the good ales in the bar, congenial conversations with locals and staff plus the finest food conjured up by the genius culinary magicians, oaths of allegiance to this perfect principality of peace where contentment reigns also known as The West Arms in Llanarmon DC". We are fortunate to have celebrity Chef Grant Williams (ITV Britain's Best Chef finalist Dec 2011) as a key member of the team - who is passionate about his role as Head Chef - he places his love of cooking at The West Arms almost as high as his love for his family and it shows in his consummate skill in producing excellent dishes, using locally sourced food (Lady Kenyon of Greddington's Home Grown Fruit and Veg, Josh Williams' Free Range Eggs, Dave Keegan of Llanrhaedr ym Mochant's Welsh Lamb and Beef, and Rosie Davies' edible flowers.
Picture of The West Arms, Llanarmon Dyffryn-Ceiriog at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character with modern service
Lovely hotel set in a great location. Great service

Reviewed by
Craig L

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lows and highs
Welcome was friendly but the poor gentleman had only just started working there and was on his own but he showed us our room, served us at the bar and took our supper order. During the rest of the stay all staff were friendly and helpful. Room was in the annexe and therefore we expected it to be less than luxurious. It was clean but the bathroom was very damp, shower over the bath was very wayward - soaked the carpet; a few cobwebs between bed and table. Bed was comfortable and we slept OK. Food was superb - no complaints. Lounge/dining areas were cosy and characterful.

Reviewed by
Rosemary Munson

From Dalmally, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice and friendly place to stay.

Reviewed by
D Norman

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Nice friendly welcome. Lovely clean room with both shower & bath. Superb food, Wonderful roast beef & Yorkshire pud. Lovely breakfast. Good selection of real ales. Will definitely stay again!!!

Reviewed by
Liz Adams

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to escape to for a break, very friendly staff and excellent dinner and breakfast.

Reviewed by
andrew h

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chauffeurs Room
I booked this budget room for a R & R stay. When I arrived it was freezing in there but warmed up eventually. It was a delightful double aspect room with superb views. the single bed was 3' and comfortable. The accommodation was old fashioned but characterful, a crack in the sink in the room, no heating in the bathroom which was at the end of the corridor (which I knew it would be - no problem there) The television was small and old fashioned bulbous but worked perfectly. No phone in the room which is a problem as there is no signal for mobiles, but hotel let me use theirs downstairs in reception. I had my evening meals in my room and the food was superb.

Reviewed by
Yvonne Lawrence

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'm not sure
The food was exquisite, far beyond my expectations for a Pub so far off the main road. I was a bit worried about the B&B price and I think it's still too high bearing in mind the location. Possibly too high for me to stay again, but I will aim to eat there again, if I'm in the area.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
It was a totally lovely stay. They remained open for me until I arrived (which wasn't until 11pm). ALl staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and served really fast even though there were quite a few in the restaurant at the time. The building and room was "olde worlde" with a roaring fire and big wooden beams everywhere. it was full of charm and Id definitely recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed by
John Robinson

From Cinderford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
Staff were friendly and welcoming. The West Arms is full of atmosphere and history, situated in a beautiful and remote area.

Reviewed by
I Carter

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, an excellent hotel in a beautiful setting. Everything we ate during our two day stay was cooked to perfection and stylishly presented. Although the building is old the facilities are modern; a mix of character and comfort.

Reviewed by
David Scott

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next