Reviews - The West Arms


Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, ,, Llangollen, LL20 7LD

Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan H

  • July 2015

Short Break

Stayed just the one night as a short break.

What a great find. The West Arms is set in the idyllic Ceirriog Valley in the Berwyn Mountain range. The centuries old hotel is warm and welcoming as are the staff. The evening meal was what I can only describe as amazing. The fillet steak was not cheap but it was the most tasty I have ever had. The portions were generous and this made for a fabulous evening. Breakfast was equally good with good portions. Although my first visit to Glyn Ceirriog, it will not be my last.

  • Andrew Flanagan

  • June 2015

Rural Retreat

I chose this hotel so that I could visit railways at Llangollen, Oswestry & Welshpool.

Llanarmon DC is a pretty village, nestled in a hollow, surrounded by lush green hills (WiFi most welcome!). The staff were friendly and attentive. The single room was comfortable, with toilet and bathroom 'down the landing' (not a problem for me). Even in mid-June, there was a roaring open fire in the main reception area. The breakfast was extensive and excellent. The evening menu had limited choice for a vegetarian.

  • James Bedford

  • March 2015


We arrived in the dark and peered down into the valley to see the West Arms lit against the back drop of the hills behind it.

Although very quiet when we stayed the staff were charming and bent over backwards to chat and make us feel welcome. The food was simply exceptional. An experience not simply a meal. The wine list is fantastic and the menu well thought out with some exciting combinations of traditional dishes and modern techniques. The location is simply stunning. The lack of mobile phone reception made our stay even better!

  • Mark Galloway

  • February 2015

Great Hotel

I had a superb one night stay at the West Arms.

Food was fantastic and the service and hospitality was first class. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • A Rutherford

  • January 2015

Great hotel - highly recommended

We spent three nights at the West Arms and were delighted with our experience.

We arrived on a particularly windy night and there was flapping noise outside our bedroom. The staff was extremely helpful and moved us to a different room. It was all very comfortable and quiet, surrounded by stunning landscape. The food was also excellent.

  • A Seddon

  • January 2015

Fantastic place.

Will most definitely returning.

  • Michael Jones

  • November 2014

A great place for a quiet getaway

Stopped at the West Arms for one night just for a quiet night away from it all.

From the moment we walked through the door we were treated to the highest level of customer service, the room was excellent and the food was some of the best I've experienced with first class staff on hand at all times. The setting of the Inn is idyllic if you like the 'great outdoors' and the fact that there was absolutely no mobile phone signal meant it was a true break for me.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Craig L

  • August 2014

Full of character with modern service

Lovely hotel set in a great location.

Great service

  • D Norman

  • August 2014

A very nice and friendly place to stay.

  • Rosemary Munson

  • July 2014

Lows and highs

Welcome was friendly but the poor gentleman had only just started working there and was on his own but he showed us our room, served us at the bar and took our supper order.

During the rest of the stay all staff were friendly and helpful. Room was in the annexe and therefore we expected it to be less than luxurious. It was clean but the bathroom was very damp, shower over the bath was very wayward - soaked the carpet; a few cobwebs between bed and table. Bed was comfortable and we slept OK. Food was superb - no complaints. Lounge/dining areas were cosy and characterful.