No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lairbeck Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vicarage Hill, Keswick, CA12 5QB
Enjoy a Relaxing Holiday in the English Lake District. Lairbeck is ten minutes from Keswick (a further five to the Lake and the Theatre). Magnificent views of Skiddaw, Causey Pike and the Borrowdale Valley will encourage you to leave your car in our large car park and enjoy walks from our doorstep. On cold nights relax by the log fire, and select a walk for tomorrow. The atmosphere is welcoming and informal, and our Visit England three star rating, Michelin guide entries; Trip Advisor excellence Award; and 5 Star 'Excellent' Award for Hygiene are your assurance of the high standards of quality and hospitality throughout your stay. Lairbeck was the family home of James and Emilie Anderson, close friends of John Ruskin. Now, it is a true Lake District country house hotel with a tranquil ambiance, friendly and efficient service, high standards of cleanliness and scrumptious home cooked local food.
Picture of Lairbeck Hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Lovely hotel in Keswick within easy walking distance (10-15 minutes) of the town centre with a local pub 5 minutes walk also.

Reviewed by
MATTHEW W

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
We stayed at the Lairbeck Hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting Keswick. The hotel is set in a good location with ample parking. The views from the hotel are excellent and it is only a short walk from the town centre.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We received a very friendly welcome. The charming old house was in an ideal location for exploring the Fells. It is situated in a very quiet area on the edge of Keswick with easy access to the town centre.

Reviewed by
B Hooper

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent small, small country hotel,staff very welcoming. Close to town centre and short walk to Derwent Water. highly recommended for a short stay.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place for a weekend get away!
Having never been to the lake district before and not looking to spend my life savings on a room I am extremely happy with where I chose to stay. Great location, very quiet and relaxed in a lovely old building. The owners/staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, very clean. Good hearty breakfast. Thank you very much Lairbeck, I would stay again on a future return to the lakes. Recommended to all travellers - unless you are there to ruin the peace! :)

Reviewed by
Francis Rowe

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant location
Good breakfast. Pleasant staff. Quiet location with good view of Skiddaw but within easy reach of Keswick town centre.

Reviewed by
T SHAW

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would love to live in this house
A little GEM of a hotel, full of character and set on the quieter side of Keswick town centre. The house is set in its own sunny garden. Our room (yellow room) was very comfortable with a great view of Skiddaw. and surrounding hills. Our hosts gave us a warm welcome, and the cooked breakfasts were tasty and well presented. It is also an ideal base from which to explore the area, 10 min walk into Keswick, or catch a bus to other parts of the lake district.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xx
xx

Reviewed by
KEVIN H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to return too!
Stayed at the Lairbeck on a very hot weekend! The hotel was very full and we had booked late so we were given the room in the top of the hotel. Everything was immaculately clean and fresh.
Jennifer and Malcolm are fantastic hosts and we immediately felt at ease.
When we return we will perhaps ask for a room with a little more headroom, although this is just a personal preference and no reflection on the excellent accommodation.
The choice at breakfast was good and everything was cooked to perfection.
We will most certainly be returning to the Lairbeck and will definitely pass the word around about this lovely hotel. A fantastic weekend!

Reviewed by
Gillian F

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very clean and well looked after hotel. Good service and food. Would book again.

Reviewed by
Ralph G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next