No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swanson House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Swanson House Main Street, Brough, Kirkby Stephen, CA17 4BL
A former eighteenth century coaching inn in the Cumbrian market town of Brough, Swanson House provides luxury bed & breakfast accommodation and a fully licensed restaurant, specialising in dishes made from the highest quality local produce. Swanson House offers a taste of Cumbria to local residents and visitors to the Eden Valley.

Swanson House offers two luxury ensuite bedrooms. The Odette Room is a spacious double bedroom with a kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom and small private seating area. The light walls and 100 per cent cotton white linen are contrasted by aubergine silk curtains and upholstery. The Cygnet Room is twin bedroom with ensuite shower room. This warm and comfortable room is decorated with crimson silk curtains and cushions and 100 per cent cotton white linen.

Both bedrooms include a digital television, a hairdryer and free wifi access. Guests are invited to enjoy complementary tea, fresh coffee and local biscuits throughout their stay. The ensuite shower and bathroom facilities include complementary local bathroom products.

An additional single bed may be added to the Odette Room and a cot may be placed in either bedroom, at your request for a small additional charge. Please refer to our tariff for further information.

Guests are also invited to enjoy all of Swanson House's facilities, including use of the private guest pantry, offering a communal area for guests to enjoy a beautiful view of Brough castle in which you may enjoy a freshly baked homemade cake.
Picture of Swanson House, Kirkby Stephen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Really great stay - high quality with really lovely touches such as home made cake, real coffee and a super helpful owner.

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The owner was very helpful and we will most likely be staying there again in the near future,

Reviewed by
G Brady

From Lowton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great find - very friendly and helpful people! We stayed in the twin room which was very comfortable - we liked the touches that other B&Bs seem to overlook, like the big cups and saucers, coffee plunger, real milk, plenty of matching hangers, bath robes ..... I could go on. We only had to walk downstairs for a delicious evening meal - perfect!

Reviewed by
H Graham

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!!
Lovely little touches like cake on arrival, bath robes, bottled water at bedside made us feel like were staying in luxury!
Scrummy breakfast too , we were stuffed for the rest of the day!
Pat caters to every need or requirement, would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Louise M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We liked cafetiere coffee in the room, decent biscuits, kitchen on landing with fresh milk and home made cake. House was pleasant combination of historic and modern. Owner was very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early and return late after an evening in Keswick.

Reviewed by
P Tarr

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

extra mile
Pat certainly did everything possible to make our stay a very pleasant one.

Reviewed by
martin gilboy

From Bromley, England
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly, lovely room,every comfort thought of. Definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
Val T

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We really enjoyed our stay here. Pat was lovely an there were lots of little extras which made it extra special. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
E Harding

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely :)
I recently stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as we needed to be near Kirkby Stephen for a paragliding course. I booked via LateRooms at a bargain £40/night. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room, which was spacious, clean and lovely! There were the basics such as towels and tea and coffee facilities but also a lot extra, including 'proper' coffee and a cafetiere, dressing gowns, toiletries, DVDS, books, fresh cake, bottled water, Kit Kats...the list goes on!!
Unfortunately, the paragliding course was cancelled due to the weather, however we will need to re-book and will therefore definitely stay in Swanson House again!

Reviewed by
nadia h

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming with many lovely special touches, complementary cakes,cafetaire in room,bathrobes.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next