No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bramwood Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
19, Hall Garth , Pickering, YO18 7AW
Bramwood is an 18th century (1734) grade II listed Georgian townhouse situated close to the Parish Church in the heart of historic Pickering and is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful scenery of the North York Moors National Park and the spectacular North Yorkshire coastline. The ancient city of York and the atmospheric port of Whitby are both within easy reach.

We offer single, double and twin bedded rooms all with en-suite facilities, digital freeview televisions and free wireless internet access. You can relax in our comfortable lounge (in front of a log fire on cooler evenings) or in our peaceful walled garden. A hearty English breakfast (or lighter option) using local produce as far as possible is served in our sunny breakfast room.

The main house has a town centre location, but on a quiet side street, and is only a short walk to the shops and wide choice of excellent restaurants. The cottage apartments are adjacent to the Pickering to Whitby road and are separated from the main house by the garden and our private car park. The station for the North York Moors Railway is close by with daily steam trains through the moors to Whitby.
Picture of Bramwood Guest House, Pickering at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice one
We booked this B&B because it was handy for the train and Pickering town centre. It's on a quiet street (well, it's quiet at night but the parish hall opposite has a busy playgroup on weekday mornings). It was convenient for shops, banks, restaurants etc. and we ate at a decent Italian only about 3 minutes walk away (Figaro's), which the B&B owners recommended. Our satnav had a game finding the road at first, but second time was lucky. We got parked within 20 yards of the door. Owners were amenable and friendly.

Reviewed by
Steve R

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gill and Derricks Easter visit to Bramwood cottages Pickering April 2014
Bramwood Guest House was a Georgian town house in the centre of pickering it was ideal to visit places such as Whitby Scarborough Robin Hoods Bay ,the room was spotless we were made to feel very welcome by Richard and Helen the Breakfast was great with a very pleasant room to eat in we look forward to returning in near future.

Reviewed by
derrick lawton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top notch.
Stayed for one night in room one. The decor was lovely. The bedlinen was clean and fresh. The breakfast was very tasty proper sausages and bacon. The proprietors were very pleasent. I would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
J Seddon

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant welcome at Bramwood
We had a very enjoyable time at Bramwood Guest House. We were made to feel at home and very welcome by our friendly hosts. The bedroom was very comfortable, clean and well decorated and had lots of character. The tea and cakes on arrival and the breakfasts were excellent. Our weekend was very good value for money and we will certainly visit again.

Reviewed by
David L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Central position in this attractive town, on site parking, and easy to find (on the Whitby road).
Really pleasant host and hostess, and very nice period room and use of lounge (with log fire).
Great breakfast.
All together an excellent stay!!

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location
Exactly what we needed for our stay to spend the day on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.
Proprietors very helpful.
Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FEEDBACK ON MY STAY
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at your Guest House and would highly recommend it to al my friends and family. One criticism I have is that the stay was not long enough.

Reviewed by
Hilary L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exellent
Location perfect for a weekend break to enjoy waking up next to a beautiful church right in the centre of town, tumble out of the door into the main area of the town. Residents lounge complete with log fire and home made cake !

Reviewed by
S Cappleman

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never judge this place based on cost alone
You look through the list, you find a place, you think, fifty quid, can't be any good. How wrong you are. I have stayed at many B&B's as I travel a lot with work. On this occasion alone, so a single room sufficed. Sure, not a lot of room, but hey, its a bed for the night. The place was immaculate. I'm fussy as they come about bathrooms, but this was spotless.
The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, and teh hosts, absolutely first class.
Breakfast was a traditional english, cooked to perfection.
I only wish there were some '7's on the score sheet, they deserve it.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LOVED IT !!
We booked a few hours before arriving, and even at such short notice everything was organised and the owner waiting for us on arrival. He showed us around, very friendly and helpful. Insisted on helping with carrying our bags to our room. We stayed on the top/third floor. Our room was exactly what we expected. Nicely decorated, refreshments, shower gels/soaps etc provided, towels provided. (Think the ceilings are abit lower on the top floor, so door frames were abit low, had to duck your head abit, so if this is an issue probably best booking a room on a different floor, however this was not a problem for us).
The owner was very helpful and friendly, advised us where was nice to eat in the area and directed us.
Breakfast- you fill in a simple form requesting what you would like, they have a daily special, fill this in at some point during the day/evening and leave it on a table and your breakfast will be ready and prepared for you the next morning. Lovely breakfast.
We stayed for a two night weekend break. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next