No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
7 Madeira Place, , , Brighton, BN2 1TN
The Old Palace Guest House offers rooms with free Wi-Fi, less than 100 metres from Brighton’s vibrant seafront. Guests are also just 5 minutes’ walk from the famous Pier. With a flat-screen TV and free tea and coffee, each room also has simple, clean décor. A private bathroom with a shower is included in every room. This relaxed property serves both full English and continental breakfast options in the bright dining room. For evening meals, a wide range of restaurants and bars can be found on the seafront. The historic Royal Pavillion is just 0.3 miles from the Old Palace, and the Theatre Royal is just a few metres further away. Public parking is possible at a location nearby.(not free parking)
Picture of The Old Palace Guest House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Very reasonably priced for Brighton but this was reflected in the accomodation, very basic, the shower was tiny but had plenty of hot water, the staff were very attentive at breakfast. The location was great and it was good not to feel 'ripped-off' by the big hotels.

Reviewed by
Nicola Barton

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Palace Guest House
Although this hotel could do with updating its interior, the staff were very friendly, it's a 5 minute walk to the town centre and over all a good stay!

Reviewed by
T Ward

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware of the bathroom
Our stay was completely ruined due to the stench of the toilet. Once flushed it stunk the whole room out and did not leave even to the next day. It made us gag and was not pleasant at all. It actually smelt like old sanitary products.. This completely ruined our stay

Reviewed by
S Campion

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at three
We asked for ground floor or maximum first floor. We had ground floor which were good.
It was Friday evening and we were close to the entrance. Every body from the hotel were going to smoke outside, then were talking a lot. Doors were slammed every five minutes...I hate it a lot!!
Would be good to say in front door, respect our neightbours!! Be quiet!!
By the way, it was very noisy during the night. One person slept with wax ear plug which is not fair...
Beds were too soft, backache guaranteed!! The hotel pût on the heater late in the evening, stop the heater during the night!!! Can be very cold if you wake up early...spanish boy does not speak good english so we need to repeat the question...if you want your breakfast, you need to wait until 9:00 am. a bit late for travelling people.

Reviewed by
F Cleret

From Dieppe, France
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the price
I booked this room for 1 night to stay on New Years Eve. I was pleasantly surprised by the price as for NYE many B&B's/hotels really hiked up their prices and £110 for the night wasn't too bad. I was a little worried before I arrived as I had seen some reviews about the rooms being poor standard, shower extremely small etc. Overall I was happy with the room, it was clean, tea and coffee facilities, biscuits and a chocolate orange! The shower was small but sufficient, good pressure and temperature. The bed was comfortable and plenty of space in the room. We had to go to the B&B next door for breakfast, I don't know why but not a problem and we had a choice of cereals with a full English offered as well. I would stay here again.This B&B is in a good central location. Just a pointer, if you pay by credit/debit card, you are charged another £5 so if you don't want to pay this, take cash.

Reviewed by
Carol E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Good location, nice people. Very noisy and so unable to sleep.

Reviewed by
steve lugg

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment
We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Palace Guest House. Great location just 2 minutes walk from the seafront, and 5 minutes walk to the pier. The guest house itself was undergoing some refurbishment, so there was some noise at times and the handyman did have to come into our room at one time to paint the door.
The room was very clean with fresh towels every day and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. The breakfast, which was provided by the guest house next door, was good quality, even if there was not very much choice. All in all, a good stay for the price paid.

Reviewed by
Lauren S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay Brighton to rest your head
Firstly the positive - and all that some may require - the hotel is in an excellent location close to the sea front and Kemp town with easy walking to the main part of town, lovely staff, the bed linen is clean, crisp, white, there is a good hot shower and you don't have to book 2 minimum nights as is common in most places in Brighton ( which is a big plus) .
The Negative - little things that could so easily give a better image and make you come back - finishing off and tidying up DIY in the bathroom around the floor, cramped bathroom and mattresses didn't fit the single bases correctly, they moved around within the base, which disturbs sleeping. Updated double glazing on the street side might help to block out noise and the through room ( reception area) to the breakfast room to look more inviting it was a bit dark and dismal ( we didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on that ) .
So to end on a positive - the location is excellent for one nights stay, clean bed linen, hot shower and a warm welcome from the staff.

Reviewed by
G Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very dated and dirty shower was so small you can hardly fit in

Reviewed by
Chris G

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money

Reviewed by
laura walton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next