Reviews - The Old Palace Guest House


7 Madeira Place, ,, Brighton, BN2 1TN

Price From 104.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (17)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Elizabeth B

  • July 2015

Beach front room

Lovely little space right by the sea and moments away from town.

Perfect location. Quiet and comfortable. Would stay again


  • March 2015

Excellent value for money, friendly, warm and informative staff.

Shower room spot on, and breackfast was too. I would highly recommend to friends visiting Brighton.

  • Nicola Barton

  • February 2015

Good location

Very reasonably priced for Brighton but this was reflected in the accomodation, very basic, the shower was tiny but had plenty of hot water, the staff were very attentive at breakfast.

The location was great and it was good not to feel 'ripped-off' by the big hotels.

  • T Ward

  • February 2015

The Old Palace Guest House

Although this hotel could do with updating its interior, the staff were very friendly, it's a 5 minute walk to the town centre and over all a good stay!

  • F Cleret

  • January 2015

We stayed at three

We asked for ground floor or maximum first floor.

We had ground floor which were good. It was Friday evening and we were close to the entrance. Every body from the hotel were going to smoke outside, then were talking a lot. Doors were slammed every five minutes...I hate it a lot!. Would be good to say in front door, respect our neightbours!. Be quiet!.

By the way, it was very noisy during the night. One person slept with wax ear plug which is not fair... Beds were too soft, backache guaranteed!. The hotel pût on the heater late in the evening, stop the heater during the night!!. Can be very cold if you wake up early...spanish boy does not speak good english so we need to repeat the question...if you want your breakfast, you need to wait until 9:00 am. a bit late for travelling people.

  • S Campion

  • January 2015

Beware of the bathroom

Our stay was completely ruined due to the stench of the toilet.

Once flushed it stunk the whole room out and did not leave even to the next day. It made us gag and was not pleasant at all. It actually smelt like old sanitary products.. This completely ruined our stay

  • Carol E

  • January 2015

Good value for the price

I booked this room for 1 night to stay on New Years Eve.

I was pleasantly surprised by the price as for NYE many B&B's/hotels really hiked up their prices and £110 for the night wasn't too bad. I was a little worried before I arrived as I had seen some reviews about the rooms being poor standard, shower extremely small etc. Overall I was happy with the room, it was clean, tea and coffee facilities, biscuits and a chocolate orange. The shower was small but sufficient, good pressure and temperature. The bed was comfortable and plenty of space in the room. We had to go to the B&B next door for breakfast, I don't know why but not a problem and we had a choice of cereals with a full English offered as well. I would stay here again.This B&B is in a good central location. Just a pointer, if you pay by credit/debit card, you are charged another £5 so if you don't want to pay this, take cash.

  • steve lugg

  • December 2014


Good location, nice people.

Very noisy and so unable to sleep.

  • Lauren S

  • November 2014


We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Palace Guest House.

Great location just 2 minutes walk from the seafront, and 5 minutes walk to the pier. The guest house itself was undergoing some refurbishment, so there was some noise at times and the handyman did have to come into our room at one time to paint the door.

The room was very clean with fresh towels every day and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. The breakfast, which was provided by the guest house next door, was good quality, even if there was not very much choice. All in all, a good stay for the price paid.

  • G Gibson

  • August 2014

One Night Stay Brighton to rest your head

Firstly the positive - and all that some may require - the hotel is in an excellent location close to the sea front and Kemp town with easy walking to the main part of town, lovely staff, the bed linen is clean, crisp, white, there is a good hot shower and you don't have to book 2 minimum nights as is common in most places in Brighton ( which is a big plus) .

The Negative - little things that could so easily give a better image and make you come back - finishing off and tidying up DIY in the bathroom around the floor, cramped bathroom and mattresses didn't fit the single bases correctly, they moved around within the base, which disturbs sleeping. Updated double glazing on the street side might help to block out noise and the through room ( reception area) to the breakfast room to look more inviting it was a bit dark and dismal ( we didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on that ) . So to end on a positive - the location is excellent for one nights stay, clean bed linen, hot shower and a warm welcome from the staff.