No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Newbridge Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Newbridge Hotel, High Street , Newbridge, NP11 4FH
The Newbridge Hotel has been in existance since 1898, and although the hotel ceased trading as a hotel some 40 years ago, the locals continued to refer to the premises as "The Hotel". Accommodation at the hotel (which is actually an Inne), was re-opened in January 2011 and currently has a 3* rating.

The Hotel is privately owned and is friendly and welcoming, The hotel has a private car park, conferrence facilities, live music on weekends, fully liscenced bars and restaurant (seving food of exceptional quality), and a Sky sports bar showing all live sporting events from around the world. There is also a beer garden with swings and climbing frame for young visitors.

Nearby attractions include The Forest Drive, Big Pit at Blaenavon, Millennium Stadium, SWALEC cricket ground, Cardiff City Football ground, Cardiff and Caerphilly Castle. The Brecon Beacons are a 1 hour drive from Newbridge,
Picture of The Newbridge Hotel, Newbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Small room, clean but linen not ironed. Bathroom drainage smelt once shower had been used. Shower tray cracked. Only 2 bath towels supplied. On 3rd floor no lift. Sign in at bar, not private. Breakfast not good, no juice or cereals, cooked breakfast poor standard, toast came out ready buttered and sliced!

Reviewed by
L Chown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather disappointed room was clean but very small and breakfast only gave choice of fried cooked breakfast. Hotel basically was old fashioned pub with rooms.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome was good and shown to our small basic room. Bedlinen was creased and had a valence as a sheet! The music below can be heard even though your on the top floor.

Reviewed by
E Lemon

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Newbridge Hotel
Clean basic comfortable accommodation and friendly Staff. Hotel is Situated ideally placed for rail network that will take you directly in to Cardiff City centre

Reviewed by
N SHEEN

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what you would expect
The only downside for this B&B is you have to book in at the bar, which on a Sat night was quite busy, however the staff were friendly the rooms were spacious and clean, and overall good value for money £51 for B&B. Breakfast was also very good .

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water,pub was dark and depressing,toilet was not attached and moved when sat on
Fix tap in room three, try turning on lights in bar

Reviewed by
C Furber

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent and Cheap Pub Accommodation
Staying overnight for a friend's wedding bash this was pretty much all I wanted - a clean room with a comfy bed to collapse into! Reception down in the pub area was a bit unusual but nothing to really complain about, and the landlady was extremely welcoming and supportive (without being overbearing). A couple of niggles with my room - the shower was a bit uppity about turning on, but once you convinced it it worked fine! The toilet also felt a little unstable (and I'm not that fat!), but again no real cause for complaint. Definitely worth the cost of admission for the night, although I didn't eat there so I can't comment on that. Were I in Newbridge again I'd definitely consider staying again -- and not just because it's the only place in town!

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, friendly people
Really enjoyed our stay at the newbridge hotel, very warm welcome on arrival, rooms very clean and plenty of space, bed lovely and comfortably, would defiantly stay again..

Reviewed by
R Griffiths

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fr Fr Fr Freezing
Heating came on early evening and was off again by the time i got back to the room. 11pm. There was a blow heater which made hell of a racket. I had to block up huge holes around the toilet to stop the wind getting through as the bathroom was an icebox which in turn went into the bedroom. I had to put clothes on to sleep in. ITS WINTER. KEEP THE DAM HEATING ON. Torrential rain and high winds coming all weekend was a clue that it may be cold.....
The place stunk of damp and smoke and towels were really bad smelling. The duvet was wafer thin
Staff were great. Dont book for breaky as the cafe over the road does better and cheaper.

Reviewed by
Roger A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review

Reviewed by
Brian P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next