No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Red Lion little compton, Moreton in Marsh, GL56 0RT
The Red Lion Inn is a traditional, Cotswold stone building quietly located on the edge of the village of Little Compton.



Set in a large mature garden, the building features exposed stone walls and beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires in the cold months.



Our beers include Donnington cask ales (BB & SBA) brewed locally in Donnington near Stow on the Wold. Our bars are welcoming and friendly to locals and visitors.



The restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared dishes. Like the wine list, it is designed to appeal to all tastes and budgets. The investment in the kitchen reflects the desire to provide food that is fresh, sensibly priced, innovative & enjoyable in a relaxed environment.



Our bed & breakfast accommodation consists of en-suite bedrooms overlooking the garden. The rooms have double beds, TV, tea & coffee making facilities and are centrally heated and reflect the character of the building.



There are two bars. The lounge bar leading to the restaurant has an inglenook fireplace. There is also a public bar where our dog lovers can enjoy a pint or two after one of those long Cotswolds walks next to our other inglenook fire place.

PLEASE NOTE.
We are closed between the hours of 3pm & 6pm daily (7pm Sundays). If your planning to arrival between these hours, please inform us in advance to ensure we are here to greet you.

Picture of The Red Lion, Moreton in Marsh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely rooms, cosy atmosphere, great food all in an ideal location.

Reviewed by
Ann N

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find..friendly staff, lovely room with a very comfy bed, yummy food. In a beautiful location.
A great find.. would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
tracey blackman

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
We stayed here for 3 nights whilst at Cornbury Festival. it was just what we needed, a quaint room, good shower, comfy bed, great breakfast and helpful, genial host. Would recommend

Reviewed by
A Heron

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Staff very attentive, food excellent. Room was very pleasant. Would suggest a comfortable chair to sit in would be an advantage at the end of a busy day.
Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Michael Turner

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village Pub Accommodation
Lovely Old World Village Pub,room spotless ,comfy Bed, and Food to Die for recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Gerald Woodward

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A haven from the rat race with extremely helpful staff.
This delightful inn is nestled in a beautiful tranquil village not far from Moreton-in-Marsh.They have two rooms above a lovely quaint little bar and fabulous restaurant.Jamie the owner is extremely helpful and welcoming( he even lent us an in car charger and a golfing umbrella!)The room was delightful and fitted out beautifully .The only downside was the very small en suite, not for the very tall or wide. The restaurant food is cooked by Esme, the co owner and is top notch and great value for money.Nothing was too much trouble ! I thoroughly recommend a stay here and we shall return.

Reviewed by
Jackie Rayment

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best nights sleep for a long time ,
Tranquil setting, would recommend .

Reviewed by
Leighann P

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a wonderful time, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
A relaxing, friendly atmosphere and the owner made us feel at home!
The food was excellent with a great menu!

Reviewed by
Alex S

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
Outstanding service, excellent food. Good choice real ale & wines. Very comfortable accommodation. Accessible but quiet village location.

Reviewed by
Ruth T

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet quait country pub in a lovely location. We only stayed one night but we'll be back to stay longer. Food was gorgeous and we had a lovely break. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Wendy W

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next