No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Red Lion little compton, Moreton in Marsh, GL56 0RT
The Red Lion Inn is a traditional, Cotswold stone building quietly located on the edge of the village of Little Compton.



Set in a large mature garden, the building features exposed stone walls and beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires in the cold months.



Our beers include Donnington cask ales (BB & SBA) brewed locally in Donnington near Stow on the Wold. Our bars are welcoming and friendly to locals and visitors.



The restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared dishes. Like the wine list, it is designed to appeal to all tastes and budgets. The investment in the kitchen reflects the desire to provide food that is fresh, sensibly priced, innovative & enjoyable in a relaxed environment.



Our bed & breakfast accommodation consists of en-suite bedrooms overlooking the garden. The rooms have double beds, TV, tea & coffee making facilities and are centrally heated and reflect the character of the building.



There are two bars. The lounge bar leading to the restaurant has an inglenook fireplace. There is also a public bar where our dog lovers can enjoy a pint or two after one of those long Cotswolds walks next to our other inglenook fire place.

PLEASE NOTE.
We are closed between the hours of 3pm & 6pm daily (7pm Sundays). If your planning to arrival between these hours, please inform us in advance to ensure we are here to greet you.

Picture of The Red Lion, Moreton in Marsh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Stayed overnight on way home from Cheltenham races. First impressions were of a tidy and light internal environment. Both Jamie and Esme took the opportunity to welcome their guests and make them feel at home. Food was very good and well priced. Room was excellent, even allowing for low beams, but the building is from the 17th Century!!! Excellent night, topped off by pool challenge from Jamie and Ted. Definitely worth a visit. Good breakfast to see you on your way.

Reviewed by
Tony Quy

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lion sleeps tonight
Lovely room, over the bar but not overly intrusive. Liked the feather duvet although a bit warm (due to October heatwave). Closeness to main road was useful and location brilliant for Cotswold towns. Hosts were friendly and the food was good if a bit expensive.

Reviewed by
Naomi E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food and accommodation
My wife and I stayed here for one night in October. We had a warm welcome, a splendid meal and a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem of a place!
Jamie,Esme Joanne and staff can't do enough for you very friendly lovely people and a lovely place food was exceptional very comfortable beds and lovely clean rooms, not far from surrounding towns was a pleasure to stay and would stay again if ever back in the area.

Reviewed by
Joanna Pollitt

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint
We enjoyed our short stay. The room was attractive - space in the bathroom a bit limited (not much room to sit on the loo). Food was of a very good quality and the their was a good range of choice. Very filling breakfast. Host was helpful.

Reviewed by
L Rainbow

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Red Lion
Both Joanne & Jamie were very good hosts, they were very friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and tidy, but there was a very small TV in the room, which was hard to see which I called "postage stamp" to my wife . The food was very good to eat, but a little bit expensive. Overall though, a very nice stay for two nights.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food but small bedrooms.
Although, when booking, we had specified what time we would be arriving there was nobody around when we first arrived meaning we had to kill time for about 1.5 hours. The room was fine but small. The food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jim T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice homely & friendly place to stay
The Red Lion is a lovely quaint family run pub/restaurant/hotel with only a small number of rooms. The room we stayed in was small, clean but homely and comfortable. Be warned those who are 6ft+ the ceilings are a little low but what do you expect from a building of this age.
The landlord is friendly and accommodating. My only criticism is that although laterooms says you can check in from 12pm onward this isn't quite true. We arrived at about 5.45 and couldn't find our way in and the door was locked. We were left contemplating what to do next when a lady rode her bike in and told us that they don't open until 6pm!. Luckily we avoided the heavy downpour that followed shortly after we were let in.
We didn't sample anything off the menu due to being there for a wedding reception nearby but we were reliably informed that the food is of good quality by those who were dining. The breakfast was good.
If we had have need to be in the area again we would consider staying again.

Reviewed by
Ceri T

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming short break, clean bright room and excellent food
Jamie and Esme (proprietors) met us when we checked in. Jamie offered to carry our bags up to room 1 on the first floor, which was clean, light, and airy. We decided to eat in, and Esme prepared a delicious meal for us - there was a good choice on the menu plus several more dishes on the 'specials' board. John served us on the first night, and In the end we ate in most nights! Joanne served us on the other nights we ate in. The bed was very comfortable.
Jamie was an excellent host and looked after us well, as did all the pleasant staff whom we met. The Red Lion was a good base for exploring the Cotswolds and the weather on the whole was good to us.

Reviewed by
D. H

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&B in perfect location for visiting Cotswolds. Food was great too.
We stayed with friends for 2 nights. Our rooms were lovely. Had a wonderful nights sleep in the comfy memory foam beds. Being able to eat and drink in the Pub in the evening was just what we were looking for. The food was delicious too. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
M Hayward

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next