No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Red Lion little compton, Moreton in Marsh, GL56 0RT
The Red Lion Inn is a traditional, Cotswold stone building quietly located on the edge of the village of Little Compton.



Set in a large mature garden, the building features exposed stone walls and beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires in the cold months.



Our beers include Donnington cask ales (BB & SBA) brewed locally in Donnington near Stow on the Wold. Our bars are welcoming and friendly to locals and visitors.



The restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared dishes. Like the wine list, it is designed to appeal to all tastes and budgets. The investment in the kitchen reflects the desire to provide food that is fresh, sensibly priced, innovative & enjoyable in a relaxed environment.



Our bed & breakfast accommodation consists of en-suite bedrooms overlooking the garden. The rooms have double beds, TV, tea & coffee making facilities and are centrally heated and reflect the character of the building.



There are two bars. The lounge bar leading to the restaurant has an inglenook fireplace. There is also a public bar where our dog lovers can enjoy a pint or two after one of those long Cotswolds walks next to our other inglenook fire place.

PLEASE NOTE.
We are closed between the hours of 3pm & 6pm daily (7pm Sundays). If your planning to arrival between these hours, please inform us in advance to ensure we are here to greet you.

Picture of The Red Lion, Moreton in Marsh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing one night stay
A beautiful little pub and restaurant on the outskirts of Moreton in Marsh. Excellent accommodation and food - evening meal and breakfast superb! A really friendly and informal atmosphere generated by Jamie and the team. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
John F

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay!
We stayed for my partners birthday and it is a wonderful old pub, great welcome on arrival, lovely room and an excellent restaurant downstairs. Breakfast too was brilliant - totally recommend, great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
A very welcoming host and all staff were very attentive. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant with a number of other diners. good food and service.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice pub
An very pleasant place to stay. Accommodation is modest but most agreeable, and is very good value. Food is first class.

Reviewed by
T Murray

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Early Start at The Red Lion
The standard of room was what you would expect for three star rated AA accommodation. A well kept period building in pleasant surroundings. Good food, ales and spirits. BUT the last breakfast sitting at 9.00 am on a Saturday morning seemed very early (as checkout is not til 11am). After a week of getting up early for work this did not suit us.

Reviewed by
mary g

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Night
stayed one night but really good only sampled breakfast due to attending function on Saturday Night next hopefully to stay longer.

Reviewed by
A Leatherbarrow

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub.
Had a great stay for two nights. The hosts were friendly & helpfull, even offering to take us back to our car in the local village after a night out. The food was excellent (try the Wild Boar sausages) we were made to feel very welcome, even the dogs were glad to see us. The room was large enough for both of us to get ready for a Wedding & included a memory foam mattress. I would definitely recommend this B&B for a quiet, friendly stay.

Reviewed by
Martyn M

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every aspect

One of the best

Reviewed by
Colin G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub in the country
Just outside Moreton, the pub is an ideal place for a short break or night away. The staff are very friendly and the food delicious.

Reviewed by
Jennifer N

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
thoroughly enjoyed our stay, comfy bed and good food

Reviewed by
Sean O

From Market Rasen, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next