No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Red Lion little compton, Moreton in Marsh, GL56 0RT
The Red Lion Inn is a traditional, Cotswold stone building quietly located on the edge of the village of Little Compton.



Set in a large mature garden, the building features exposed stone walls and beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires in the cold months.



Our beers include Donnington cask ales (BB & SBA) brewed locally in Donnington near Stow on the Wold. Our bars are welcoming and friendly to locals and visitors.



The restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared dishes. Like the wine list, it is designed to appeal to all tastes and budgets. The investment in the kitchen reflects the desire to provide food that is fresh, sensibly priced, innovative & enjoyable in a relaxed environment.



Our bed & breakfast accommodation consists of en-suite bedrooms overlooking the garden. The rooms have double beds, TV, tea & coffee making facilities and are centrally heated and reflect the character of the building.



There are two bars. The lounge bar leading to the restaurant has an inglenook fireplace. There is also a public bar where our dog lovers can enjoy a pint or two after one of those long Cotswolds walks next to our other inglenook fire place.

PLEASE NOTE.
We are closed between the hours of 3pm & 6pm daily (7pm Sundays). If your planning to arrival between these hours, please inform us in advance to ensure we are here to greet you.

Picture of The Red Lion, Moreton in Marsh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value

Reviewed by
patrick nolan

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable weekend
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Red Lion and would certainly return. Host and other staff very friendly and helpful throughout. Pleasant dining room and excellent food, both breakfast and in the evening. Room not large but clean and comfortable and very well presented and equipped.

Reviewed by
Michael Race

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay!!
We stayed only for 1 night for a friends wedding nearby. The pub itself is amazing, warm and beautifully decorated. The room was wonderful, the comfiest bed I have ever slept in!!!! The facilities are great and the owner/manager Jamie was fantastic! The food was fab and we wish we had booked for a longer stay!! Definitely recommend!

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome on arrival from Joanne.
We opted to eat dinner in the evening in the restaurant and were very impressed with the standard of the meals and ate far too much!Our room was compact and cozy and had everything we could possibly need for our stay. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
V Burrows

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay. Good food and excellent service. The room was quite small (but cosy) and the shower area rather cramped but this did not detract from our enjoyment

Reviewed by
Gordon K

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nights stay at the red lion....great welcome...great food....great room and very comfy bed! Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Great welcome, lovely room overlooking the garden with a farm house county feel. Best evening meal we have had in a long time at reasonable cost.
Only draw back is the pub closes 3pm - 6pm

Reviewed by
John Barnes

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting and B and B
A great place off the beaten track offering comfy accommodation with nice touches such as bathrobes and biscuits in room.

Reviewed by
Alison T

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay at cosy pub.
We left our 7 year old son with his Aunt for one night to 'get away from it all'. Life at home is incredibly busy and the Red Lion a was a perfect place to head for providing us with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed a couple of drinks on our arrival and later on a lovely meal in the restaurant. Our room was comfortably furnished. The pub is situated in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful Cotswolds which we did after enjoying a delicious full English breakfast!

Reviewed by
Keith Miller

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing one night stay
A beautiful little pub and restaurant on the outskirts of Moreton in Marsh. Excellent accommodation and food - evening meal and breakfast superb! A really friendly and informal atmosphere generated by Jamie and the team. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
John F

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next