Reviews - The Red Lion


Red Lion little compton, Moreton in Marsh, GL56 0RT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (38)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Allison Finnie

  • February 2015

Best Weekend!

Such a lovely stay at the Red Lion Inn.

We couldn't have asked for better hosts. The room was super cosy and the food was delicious. We had dinner at the inn as well as breakfast the next day all of which was superb. Thank you very much for making our valentines weekend extra special. x

  • Pauline J

  • December 2014

perfect relaxing retreat

Our third time at this lovely olde worlde inn.

Very cosy room with excellent comfortable bed. Hosts are very welcoming and the food in the restaurant is superb with plenty of choice and well priced. Look forward to our next stay.

  • Tony Quy

  • November 2014

Enjoyable stay

Stayed overnight on way home from Cheltenham races.

First impressions were of a tidy and light internal environment. Both Jamie and Esme took the opportunity to welcome their guests and make them feel at home. Food was very good and well priced. Room was excellent, even allowing for low beams, but the building is from the 17th Century!!. Excellent night, topped off by pool challenge from Jamie and Ted. Definitely worth a visit. Good breakfast to see you on your way.

  • Naomi E

  • November 2014

The Lion sleeps tonight

Lovely room, over the bar but not overly intrusive.

Liked the feather duvet although a bit warm (due to October heatwave). Closeness to main road was useful and location brilliant for Cotswold towns. Hosts were friendly and the food was good if a bit expensive.

  • Andrew G

  • October 2014

Good food and accommodation

My wife and I stayed here for one night in October.

We had a warm welcome, a splendid meal and a good nights sleep.

  • Joanna Pollitt

  • September 2014

Little Gem of a place!

Jamie,Esme Joanne and staff can't do enough for you very friendly lovely people and a lovely place food was exceptional very comfortable beds and lovely clean rooms, not far from surrounding towns was a pleasure to stay and would stay again if ever back in the area.

  • Jim T

  • September 2014

Excellent food but small bedrooms.

Although, when booking, we had specified what time we would be arriving there was nobody around when we first arrived meaning we had to kill time for about 1.5 hours.

The room was fine but small. The food was excellent.

  • L Rainbow

  • August 2014


We enjoyed our short stay.

The room was attractive - space in the bathroom a bit limited (not much room to sit on the loo). Food was of a very good quality and the their was a good range of choice. Very filling breakfast. Host was helpful.

  • Steve D

  • August 2014

Our stay at the Red Lion

Both Joanne & Jamie were very good hosts, they were very friendly and courteous.

The room was very clean and tidy, but there was a very small TV in the room, which was hard to see which I called "postage stamp" to my wife . The food was very good to eat, but a little bit expensive. Overall though, a very nice stay for two nights.

  • Ceri T

  • August 2014

Nice homely & friendly place to stay

The Red Lion is a lovely quaint family run pub/restaurant/hotel with only a small number of rooms.

The room we stayed in was small, clean but homely and comfortable. Be warned those who are 6ft+ the ceilings are a little low but what do you expect from a building of this age. The landlord is friendly and accommodating. My only criticism is that although laterooms says you can check in from 12pm onward this isn't quite true. We arrived at about 5.45 and couldn't find our way in and the door was locked. We were left contemplating what to do next when a lady rode her bike in and told us that they don't open until 6pm!. Luckily we avoided the heavy downpour that followed shortly after we were let in. We didn't sample anything off the menu due to being there for a wedding reception nearby but we were reliably informed that the food is of good quality by those who were dining. The breakfast was good. If we had have need to be in the area again we would consider staying again.