No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elen's Castle Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant , Dolwyddelan, LL25 0EJ
This rustic 18th century coaching inn still retains a wealth of charm and character with many original features. Elen’s Castle sits in the heart of Dolwyddelan village which is a natural and historical crossroads at the foot of the 872 metre high Moel Siabod and straddles the trout and salmon-rich River Lledr which wends its way through the village, meadows and turbulent gorges on its tireless journey to the sea. The village of Dolywyddelan is home of Llewelyn the Great's Castle that provides stunning views of Mount Siabod, the Crimea Pass and on clear days you can see across to the Denbigh moors.

All of the bedrooms here at Elen’s Castle Hotel are charming and include fabulous romantic four-poster rooms that overlook the river and Lledr Valley. All have en-suite showers and several have tubs as well, and all of the bedrooms are equipped with Free-View television and DVD players, well stocked hospitality tray, hairdryer, radio alarm clock. Free Wi-Fi broadband Internet access is available in the bar and lounge and most of the bedrooms. The main restaurant and the Garden Room enjoy beautiful views over the Lledr Valley where the tables are graced with a selection of mouth-watering local produce including famous Welsh Black beef (the shaggy-looking black cattle native to North Wales) cooked with passion and served with style. Helen and Adam, the very friendly hard-working couple who own and run this super little hotel, pride themselves on providing a warm and friendly base where you can enjoy the awe-inspiring magic of Snowdonia National Park. Fabulous stay.

Babies under the age of 2 in cots can stay free of charge if own cot is brought. If a cot is required a surcharge of £6.00 for the duration of the stay will be applied. Bedding is charged at £3.50 per set. Confirmation is required prior to arrival so room arrangements can be made.

Please note we are a dog friendly property. However, we can only take a certain number of dogs at one time so if you wish to bring a dog, it is imperative to request if it is possible for us to accommodate your dog in advance. Please phone 01690 750207 to see if it is possible to bring your dog.
Picture of Elen's Castle Hotel, Dolwyddelan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place with nice people
This is just what I wanted for a single night stay on the way to catch a ferry at Holyhead. Quaint, unpretentious and as far away from a faceless chain as you can get. Wonderfully situated with stunning views. The room was perfect for us (2 adults plus 3 kids). Staff friendly, well stocked bar etc. Would recommend highly :)

Reviewed by
John Cann

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rustic and relaxing
Nice rooms, with interesting beds and furniture. Comfortable and warm to sleep in. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Glen L

From Calgary, Canada
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but good breakfast
The room was disappointing-shabby and not worth the money. Breakfast was very good

ManagementResponse

Thank you for complimenting us on our breakfast. With regard to the room, we recently had some storm damage to our roof (the worst storms in many years which featured heavily in the news at the time). We have just finished the major roof repair. Unfortunately, there were some water stains on the ceiling as a result and this is scheduled to be addressed in the next week or so. We reduced the room rate to reflect this. It is always disappointing when guests have unrealistic expectations. We would like to emphasise that this is a very old slate building and as such its imperfections do form part of its character. However, we do assure our guests of the highest standards of cleanliness. We are a 3 star inn and market ourselves as such.

Reviewed by
B Fox

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elen's Castle
The suite we stayed in was for up to 6 people and consisted of 3 small bedrooms and a shower room. It was great for us as a family of 5 apart from all trying to get in the bathroom for a shower in time to check out. It was also serviced by a saniflo unit which didn't drain very well. Décor was a little tired and the rooms were on the cool side in spite of the radiators being on full. Surroundings were beautiful. Staff were pleasant. For the quality of the rooms I think it was a little pricey.

Reviewed by
Diane S

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosey stay in Snowdonia
A warm welcome and roaring log fire were much appreciated on our arrival. Family friendly, our two children felt free to explore. Wonderful location too.

Reviewed by
M Roberts

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely enjoyable stay. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Room great, spacious and clean.

Reviewed by
Leigh Warburton

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly family run accomodation, comfortable bedroom but rather dated furnishings elsewhere. Basic meals & accomodation rather disappointing for the amount of money we paid.

Reviewed by
stephen G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First vist to Snowdon region
Elen's Castle is in an excellent position to visit the Snowdon National park, on a main road that is easy to access but not troubled by lots of traffic. The hotel overlooks green space and an attractive stream with mountains in the distance. The hotel has the kind of character that you would expect from an older building, and the levels of comfort are of a high standard. The intimate nature of the hotel is unspoiled by the relaxed staff. Meals are of a high standard, generous in proportion and where possible the ingredients were locally sourced. Excellent Lamb and homemade soup are to be recommended. The restaurant should be far busier; even if you don't stay there, EAT THERE! And if you don't eat there, tell your friends to. The food is worth the visit alone.
The room was a twin (we asked for a double, but it was a short notice booking), but was made up as a double with two huge twins put together for us before we arrived- a hug bed that was so comfy! The room was clean and quiet despite the hotel being full. Definitely will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Derek B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didnt meet expectations
Having read other reviews and looked at the photos provided we were a little disappointed with the hotel. The room was very cramped thoguh the bed was big as it was 2 x singles pushed together. It was in need to some high level and detail cleaning. The service was ok but not wow. It did the job and was acceptable for the price however we wouldnt stay again

Reviewed by
Gail T

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a welsh experience
A warm welcome awaited us when we arrived it was nice we could take our dog with us and you would never know dogs where there.
Our room was clean and the bathroom was newly fitted with nice hot water from the shower or bath to ease those aching muscles when climbing snowdonia.
The bar was very nice and restaurant breakfast is in with your price and such a well all you could eat breakfast to set you up for the day all local produce which was to a high quality.
Meals are available at night in the bar again fairly priced good local produce used in the cooking.
Overall good value for your money friendly nice villages and near all the sporting facilities.
We would definitely visit again should we go to North Wales.

Reviewed by
L Barden

From Bexhill on Sea, England
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next