No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sun Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
10 WEST STREET , FAVERSHAM, ME13 7JE
The Sun Inn, nestled in the heart of Faversham’s conservation area, was built in the 14th century and has a wealth of character and original features, including inglenook fireplaces, oak beams and a courtyard garden.
Hospitality is a long-standing tradition – today’s licensees can trace the names of their predecessors all the way back to 1608 – and visitors can soak up the atmosphere while enjoying traditional Kentish fare and comfortable accommodation.
A short stroll from the Shepherd Neame brewery, the Sun Inn serves distinctive Kentish cask ales in peak condition. There is also a good choice of food to suit all tastes, to be enjoyed in the bar, the courtyard garden or the newly-refurbished restaurant.
With eight comfortable bedrooms, the Sun Inn makes the perfect base to explore Faversham, Canterbury and the Kent coast or is an entertaining stop-off for travellers en route to the Dover ferry terminals.
Picture of Sun Inn, FAVERSHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brief visit
clean but basic

Reviewed by
K Waterman

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Me and my husband stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast in the sun Inn, we found it to be excellent, the room was clean and very pleasant, the staff on the bar and in the restaurant where very friendly. The food was lovely too. We are looking forward to staying there again

Reviewed by
Diana Vickery

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small hotel/pub
clean, on the small side but fine for one or two nights.
breakfast staff need more training - food satisfactory
added small additional charges, £3 for 2 nights, not explained something to do with keys

Reviewed by
K Waterman

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely pub
the weather meant that i could not get there so i treated a friend and his partner to the room and they said it was absolutely briliant. lovely staff, very warming atmosphere and will be staying again, so i will also try and visit and spread the word.

Reviewed by
adam F

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware room 2...
I and my partner stayed at the Sun Inn Faversham on 12th October, when we booked in and were shown to our room, room 2, we noticed a loud noise which was the kitchen turbine extractor fans working, we were assured that in no way would this be on in the evening as a timer turns this off. On return to the room at just after 11, the noise was worse if not more pronounced.
Both myself and my partner gave it the benefit of the doubt expecting the timer to kick in.. it didn't so we had what can best be described as the worse nights sleep ever in a guest house. It got to the point where my partner got up during the night expecting to find staff who could rectify the problem only to find no -one around. the turbine eventually stopped at 6:52 on Sunday morning but then kicked in again at 7:10 am. Not exactly a respite is it!!
When we challenged this on exit from the hotel I was appalled at the reaction from the individual who checked us out.. to quote him " Yeah you drew the short straw staying in room 2"..Eventually after much discussion we were offered a discount off the breakfast, a mere £19. I find this quite insulting. Why, if there is an issue with the noise of the turbine and the timer are you allowing paying customers to use this room and at £90.00 full asking price...surely this room should not be used, or a discount given until such time as this matter has been rectified.

Reviewed by
J Godwin

From Thornton Heath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Little Inn
Great place to stay, great room/bathroom, fast wifi, great food..

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Only stayed for one night and find the Sun Inn Ideal when visiting the area, great old pub atmosphere,.friendly staff, and about the right value for the money. Stayed in room two this time and it was pointed out to us there would be kitchen noise until 9pm,however, also from 6.45 am when the kitchen ventilator kicks in. It was a double room with i fear a three quarter bed, far too narrow. The breakfast did make up for the shortcomings .

Reviewed by
w derricott

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
Really much more-way more- than I expected. Modern room and the best breaky I've had in yonks.

Reviewed by
J McDonald

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant base for seeing places in Kent.
Really enjoyed our stay. Excellent breakfasts,good atmosphere. Comfortable clean rooms. Not noisy at night.

Reviewed by
Judith S

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay but eat in for an extra treat
Very nice traditional pub and comfy nice room the meal, exceptional! Friendly staff and nice beer (local).
Would go back no problem. Faversham is a lovely market town as well and a nice stop on way to coast

Reviewed by
Geoff Webb

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next