Reviews - Ship and Trades



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tim C

  • June 2015

Another sad breakfast

Nice room let down on a hot day by no air conditioning or decent ventilation.

Lovely breakfast area, fantastic view of marina whilst eating but breakfast lacking any sign of tlc. No longer serving freshly made coffee as on my last visit, lukewarm coffee is now available from an insulated jug. I only wanted toast for breakfast but requested it only lightly browned - but this was not to be. No butter or marmalade was available.

  • Melinda M

  • April 2015

Ship and Trades

Comfy, clean & perfect for our short family break.

  • D Elvy

  • April 2015

Great place

Really enjoyed the hotel and fabulous location great restaurant on the first floor though not the place for a quiet drink in the bar at ground floor level.

  • Simon C

  • March 2015

A boyz weekend away

We are 3 chaps ranging from 46 to 60+ in age so look for comfort!.

The Ship looked to be perfect and to a large degree it was the staff were attentive and friendly the 2 rooms were nice and clean with good quality linen my only slight moan would be that the bathroom was compact. The hotel seems to be a pub with rooms and it was certainly lively but then again we checked in on a Friday Night on pay day. The food was typical good pub fayre though on the second night my burger was cold and whilst there was no issue changing it the replacement was a little charred I would also consider 2 fillets for the Kippers at Breakfast as it looks lost. Overall a good choice but there are limited alternatives.

  • m guerin

  • December 2014

Not a 4* Hotel

I liked the decor and how the old working building has been renovated in an Inn.

Well situated on the marina and the view was nice in the morning in the winter rising sunshine. The room was nice, the shower a bit awkward and the lampshades dusty. No dinner on offer after 9pm (at least on Sunday night). I requested a vegetarian breakfast that was nothing out of the ordinary and instead of Quorn sausages I was given a replacement without being made aware before hand. I would not appraise customers' services although the waitress was polite.

  • vanessa m

  • December 2014

Weekend away

Very nice room, great location and food was excellent.

would definitely stay again

  • Angela B

  • November 2014

Nice room, great location and the breakfast was really nice.

We would definitely stay here again.


  • October 2014

Great stay!

Ship & Trades was a delightful change from the usual chain hotels I normally end up staying in, for work purposes.

Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was plentiful with a great shower. Food was very good quality & huge portions. Thanks. :)

  • J Rea

  • August 2014

Enjoyable stay, Clean accommodation.

Good value for money. Girl who served at breakfast had excellent manner, and first class customer service skills. Well done!

  • Dawn B

  • August 2014

Excellent little place to stay

We stayed overnight, they let us book in early, the staff were great, the room was v.

clean and just about the right size. Shower was fab.