No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BEACH STREET , DEAL, CT14 6JD
Enjoying a prominent position on the seafront, The Royal Hotel, Deal was frequently visited by Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton and Winston Churchill once dined here.

This picturesque early 18th century hotel continues to offer excellent hospitality, with luxurious bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a pleasant bar and patio overlooking the English Channel.
Picture of Royal Hotel, DEAL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Location, Friendly helpful staff
Lovely friendly staff. They were able to offer a gluten free option at breakfast. Room was lovely too!

Reviewed by
Juliet G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good. breakfast bit slow.

Reviewed by
Chris b

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
On our arrival we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. The room was far more spacious than we expected having only paid £95 for the family room inc breakfast and we couldn't fault the facilities or cleanliness albeit this is an old building. The room came with a great sea view as a bonus. We ate an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and both were good although portions were slightly smaller than we expected. One criticism would be having to pay for parking at the hotel and this is pricey. We have two young children and although this hotel is not geared towards them staff were more than accommodating to ensure they had everything they needed. Overall a really good price for what you get and we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel steeped in history with elegance and charm, a wonderful place to stay.
The Royal Hotel was beautiful, every part of the hotel was elegant and steeped in history, from roaring log fires to wonderful sea views, everyone about the hotel was perfect.

Reviewed by
D Stokes

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
All good

Reviewed by
Chris b

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, modern room and friendly, helpful staff
Our room was big, clean, modern and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service
Every member of staff was extremely helpful. The location is wonderful. Overall this was the best hotel that I've stayed at in years.

Reviewed by
Ben R

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beside the Sea
Excellent location as a base for exploring, or just staying in and relaxing

Reviewed by
Trevor Crawford

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break for us and our labrador dog
We were greeted warmly on arrival at reception including our dog and offered help with our luggage. The room was large comfortable and clean and the heating worked. Large lovely towels. Stronger electric light would have been helpful for reading. We ate in the bar area because we had the dog with us so cannot comment on the evening restaurant dinners. Breakfasts were fine and the bar food good but the menu didn't change except for the specials but the fish and steaks were excellent. Everything was done to make our stay comfortable.

Reviewed by
p trinder

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous experienc
The Wellington room is nothing short of fabulous. It is beautifully appointed and has the added luxury of a freestanding roll top bath in the bedroom (but don't worry there's also a separate shower room). French doors from the room open onto a generous veranda which has its own steps leading down to the beach. We left the doors open all night so that we could listen to the sea and then watch the sun come up over the horizon. The staff were universally friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Reece (sp?) for a warm and generous welcome. I can't wait to visit again, as the Royal just became my favourite hotel ever.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Davies

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next