No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BEACH STREET , DEAL, CT14 6JD
Enjoying a prominent position on the seafront, The Royal Hotel, Deal was frequently visited by Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton and Winston Churchill once dined here.

This picturesque early 18th century hotel continues to offer excellent hospitality, with luxurious bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a pleasant bar and patio overlooking the English Channel.
Picture of Royal Hotel, DEAL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, modern room and friendly, helpful staff
Our room was big, clean, modern and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service
Every member of staff was extremely helpful. The location is wonderful. Overall this was the best hotel that I've stayed at in years.

Reviewed by
Ben R

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beside the Sea
Excellent location as a base for exploring, or just staying in and relaxing

Reviewed by
Trevor Crawford

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break for us and our labrador dog
We were greeted warmly on arrival at reception including our dog and offered help with our luggage. The room was large comfortable and clean and the heating worked. Large lovely towels. Stronger electric light would have been helpful for reading. We ate in the bar area because we had the dog with us so cannot comment on the evening restaurant dinners. Breakfasts were fine and the bar food good but the menu didn't change except for the specials but the fish and steaks were excellent. Everything was done to make our stay comfortable.

Reviewed by
p trinder

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous experienc
The Wellington room is nothing short of fabulous. It is beautifully appointed and has the added luxury of a freestanding roll top bath in the bedroom (but don't worry there's also a separate shower room). French doors from the room open onto a generous veranda which has its own steps leading down to the beach. We left the doors open all night so that we could listen to the sea and then watch the sun come up over the horizon. The staff were universally friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Reece (sp?) for a warm and generous welcome. I can't wait to visit again, as the Royal just became my favourite hotel ever.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Davies

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay in Deal
This hotel oozed character. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location is very central for visiting local attractions. The breakfast menu was plentiful and varied with a high quality of food Our room was situated on the side of the road so was found to be a little noisy with traffic. The lift in the hotel only goes up to the first floor which may be a hindrance to anyone with mobility problems but overall we had a lovely stay and would certainly return in the future.

Reviewed by
K SMITH

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the (awesome) Royal Hotel, Deal, Kent
The Royal Hotel in Deal,Kent was absolutely amazing, we arrived and were greeted by a lovely receptionist called Cathy, she was very friendly and helpful. The hotel bedroom was gorgeous, we had a huge bed and then three single beds for the children in a little room off the main bedroom. The bar area and food was very tasty, clean, and reasonable price. The staff were all very efficient and helpful. We had a great stay and are looking forward to returning there x

Reviewed by
c mitchell

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with a spectacular location.
Another wonderful stay at The Royal for my Mother, Son and I. Would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
lisa lomas

From Harrow, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain of a lifetime
We booked the room at a ridiculously discounted price which we found out on arrival was a misprint . Not only did the hotel honour the advertised price but treated us exactly like other guests. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the food was amazing. The offer of a flask of fresh milk instead of the little cartons was very unusual and much appreciated. The selection of fish at dinner was all that day's catch, cooked beautifully. After dinner we enjoyed a stroll along the promenade and pier then returned for after dinner drinks in the lounge bar. A memorable experience indeed and one we look forward to repeating.

Reviewed by
lyn luxton

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations exceeded in Deal
I have wanted to stay here for many years and at last found the excuse to do so. It exceeded my expectations.
This is a historic hotel situated literally on the beach. The décor is verging on being boutique and boasts original wooden beams, slightly curved stair cases and a few creaking floorboards is you wish to find them.
The room was excellent. Spacious, light, exposed brick walls, sea view. Local mineral water provided. I have stayed in many hotels and this really is on par with boutiques and top end London standards.
We were with dog who was made to feel most welcome. We were placed in a separate room for breakfast so that he could join us; most thoughtful. Breakfast itself was of a high standard.
The downstairs bar boasts an enviable beachside position. For those who like a G&T, the bar serves the best Gin I've ever tasted: Eaton, made by Shepherd Neame I believe.
Deal is a great quirky seaside spot and this hotel set a high standard to ensure a most pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next