No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BEACH STREET , DEAL, CT14 6JD
Enjoying a prominent position on the seafront, The Royal Hotel, Deal was frequently visited by Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton and Winston Churchill once dined here.

This picturesque early 18th century hotel continues to offer excellent hospitality, with luxurious bedrooms, a stylish restaurant and a pleasant bar and patio overlooking the English Channel.
Picture of Royal Hotel, DEAL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain of a lifetime
We booked the room at a ridiculously discounted price which we found out on arrival was a misprint . Not only did the hotel honour the advertised price but treated us exactly like other guests. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the food was amazing. The offer of a flask of fresh milk instead of the little cartons was very unusual and much appreciated. The selection of fish at dinner was all that day's catch, cooked beautifully. After dinner we enjoyed a stroll along the promenade and pier then returned for after dinner drinks in the lounge bar. A memorable experience indeed and one we look forward to repeating.

Reviewed by
lyn luxton

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations exceeded in Deal
I have wanted to stay here for many years and at last found the excuse to do so. It exceeded my expectations.
This is a historic hotel situated literally on the beach. The décor is verging on being boutique and boasts original wooden beams, slightly curved stair cases and a few creaking floorboards is you wish to find them.
The room was excellent. Spacious, light, exposed brick walls, sea view. Local mineral water provided. I have stayed in many hotels and this really is on par with boutiques and top end London standards.
We were with dog who was made to feel most welcome. We were placed in a separate room for breakfast so that he could join us; most thoughtful. Breakfast itself was of a high standard.
The downstairs bar boasts an enviable beachside position. For those who like a G&T, the bar serves the best Gin I've ever tasted: Eaton, made by Shepherd Neame I believe.
Deal is a great quirky seaside spot and this hotel set a high standard to ensure a most pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blown away by quaint Deal gem
Lovely historic hotel, with a great ringside seat on the beach! The rooms all have historic names, and the building really shows its heritage - in a good way. I absolutely loved our stay here, the room was huge, the bathroom had an amazing beach view (we hadn't booked a seaview room); the staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful, and the general ambience was amazing.

Reviewed by
K Cook

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in fantastic location
This was a great hotel, ideally situated for everything in Deal. The family room was spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant had a great choice for the whole family. We hope to visit agàin!

Reviewed by
Claudia P

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay
We had a lovely quiet room. Good size bed and well equipped bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The only slight downside was the breakfast. The fruit and cereal were not very appealingly displayed and the cooked food was poorly cooked. The restaurant staff ( breakfast) could do with a bit of training.Very convenient car park adjacent to the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening;

Reviewed by
Carel B

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely short break in Deal
Our room was generous in size, it was well decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was also large with a roll top bath. We stayed in Merton, there was a kitchen extractor outside our room which was noisy from 07.00 until 23.00 when it was switched off. We mentioned this to staff and we were offered another room. The hotel is old and floorboards do creak but it was quiet during the night hours. The location is excellent and we could hear and had a good view of the sea from our bedroom.
Staff were very professional and attentitive and we were offered fresh milk daily.
Breakfast was very good, we appreciated the lovely prepared fresh fruit and the choice of breakfasts. We asked for extras on the cooked breakfast and these were provided without question. The quality and presentation of the food for breakfast and in the bar was good.
During our stay there were portacabins and many bulldozers on the sea front working on sea defences. These were noisy at times but outside the control of the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay and would certainly use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
m gilbride

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breathtaking view
We had the Nelson. A balcony and view to die for!!

Reviewed by
S Boakes

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room and service breakfast was slow coming but when it did it was excellent, nice location

Reviewed by
Ronald T

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly clean hotel, good location, nice bar and food. Good family rooms.

Reviewed by
Suzanne C

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal hotel
Very good.

Reviewed by
PHILIP HAWKER

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next