No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Flying Horse

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
38 UPPER BRIDGE STREET Wye, ASHFORD, TN25 5AN
History, character and distinctive food and drink make a visit to the New Flying Horse, Wye, a delightful experience but even that’s topped by a unique garden feature.

As well as a log fire and oak beams, the 17th-century posting house has an authentic recreation of a Chelsea Flower Show gold medal winner, Julian Dowle’s successful design A Soldier’s Dream of Blighty.

The Chelsea Pensioners’ Garden was created for the 2005 Chelsea Flower Show, with input from the Chelsea Pensioners themselves, and includes a Dig for Victory vegetable garden, a pond, a field of poppies and a miniature traditional English pub.

It forms the centrepiece of an extensive garden, with play area where visitors can dine al fresco or enjoy cream teas during the summer months.

The pub serves authentic Kentish cask ales, kept in perfect condition and also offers a wide range of wines.

Amusements include dominoes, cards and board games as well as a regular quiz night and monthly acoustic indie and jazz sessions.

With nine comfortable letting rooms, the pub is a good base to explore the surrounding countryside with the cathedral city of Canterbury just a short drive away.

Picture of New Flying Horse, ASHFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Stayed overnight on a Friday night, after the pub closed there were a group of very noisy drunk people in the car park until 1am shouting & singing, as the room we stayed in was located in the car park it did rather spoil our stay being unable to get to sleep. We did go out and ask them to keep the noise down but to no avail. So not ideal for people who want a quite location.

Reviewed by
Anita L

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, fab food and great staff
We stayed for 1 night and were made to feel very welcome. We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was also very good. Our room was a family room and was spacious and clean and nicely decorated, the only slight negative was the bed was far too hard. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and if we're ever in that part of the country again, we'd definitely stay there again, thank you.

Reviewed by
R Winfield

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country B&B, lovely staff and great breakfast included
Easy to check in, any information you need, only a few rooms so you can always get the attention of a member of staff. Lovely country pub with large outside space. Good sized rooms, gorgeous bathroom and a great breakfast selection, from cereals to full English to smoked salmon...I got the impression that even if it wasn't on the menu they would do their best to get you what you want and all included in the price of the room. Very impressed with this lovely B&B and have already recommended to friends :))

Reviewed by
A Bow

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

another excellent stay
this is our second stay at this pub,our first was in 2011. The manager and some of the staff have changed but the pub is still excellent.
The room was clean and tidy and had an excellent shower.The food and drinks couldn't be faulted and the staff were very friendly.
If we come to this part of the country in the future we'll stay here again.

Reviewed by
John M

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
D Burney

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great 2 night stay
Comfortable room and food excellent would stay again

Reviewed by
David K

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute break
This was a real last minute decision to travel. Less than 24 hours before, we found a perfect room at a perfect price. A picturesque village in Kent with a lovely old pub - log fires, delicious food and the room was faultless. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming.

Reviewed by
sharron tomkins

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying Horse
Was easy to find, good parking, spacious room and excellent food. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Trevor L

From Great Yarmouth, England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great litel hotel with good beer and food to boot.
A pleasont hotel with aclean and comfortable room for myself and family. It is in a historic hotel and the rooms have a good feel of this as well. The bathrooms were clean and with a good shower/bath as well. The food and beer were good after a long day's driving. In the mroning after a comforatble sleep, the breakfast set my up for the day. So on the whole a good hotel that I do recommend.

Reviewed by
p rowan

From France
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
I would recommend this as a good place to stay. Staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Gary G

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next