No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Millers Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
1-2 MILL LANE ST. RADIGUNDS, CANTERBURY, CT1 2AW
The Millers Arms occupies a prime spot in the centre of the cathedral city of Canterbury, making it a perfect base for visitors to the World Heritage Site and Kent’s coastal resorts and countryside.

The pub is a short walk from Canterbury Cathedral and the city’s cobbled medieval streets, brimming with Tudor-beamed shops and The Marlowe Theatre.

The Millers Arms was built in 1826 to serve local mill workers and overlooks the Cathedral and the site of the old mill on the causeway. The pub, which includes 11 en-suite rooms, has been fully refurbished with modern facilities while retaining its character.

Popular with the local community as well as visitors, the Millers Arms host quiz nights, a book club and a theatre society.

Customers can enjoy a meal in the restaurant, warm themselves by the inglenook fireplace or relax in the attractive courtyard garden.

Traditional Kentish cask ale is always available.

Picture of Millers Arms, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We had a wonderful stay in the family room, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was amazing even a full veggie breakfast. The accommodation was bright and clean with a view of the cathedral. We will stay again very soon :)

Reviewed by
leigh f

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
Wanted a nice quiet weekend away with my girlfriend and Canterbury and the Millers Arms fitted the specification perfectly. We were able to enjoy lovely food, great accommodation and fantastic hospitality.

Reviewed by
A Spaxman

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A return stay
We have stayed here a few times before. Usually combined with a trip to the Marlowe. It's so central to both the theatre and the city. We have always found the staff very welcoming and extremely pleasant. Breakfast is always good and so nice to be able to order and be served at the table. The rooms have been refurbished since our last stay and such a great improvement. All in all no complaints at all.

Reviewed by
BARBARA W

From Westgate on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Very good standards and service best stay i have had in Canterbury

Reviewed by
dale carter

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was excellent and well suited to being in the centre of the city but sufficiently removed to be away from the hustle and bustle of Canterbury. Although directly above the bar
area we heard no noise from below.
The big disappointment was that on the Monday evening at least 80% of the printed menu and specials menu was unavailable

Reviewed by
S Nairn

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We found the accommodation excellent. The staff were very friendly, the atmosphere good, Very enjoyable with lovely food and drink.

Reviewed by
Dave M

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location
We could not fault the Millers Arms and would definitely return to stay there. Just wished We had known about the Millers Arms during the 3 years that our Daughter was studying in Canterbury and not at her graduation. Brilliant.

Reviewed by
Judy C

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best we had
Canterbury's Millers Arms was one of the best hotel we stayed in during our European trip. Customers were all perfect and gentle, they gave us all the information we needed and more. Our quadruple room with private bathroom was really clean but not so comfortable indeed: it was very small and hot, although they try to make their best, giving us a little air conditioned machine.
We were given a breakfast set.
By the way, the place was amazing: really near from the city center, not so much crowded and nozy to be a pub, too, and completely renewed. We managed to leave our car in the parking area in front of the hotel for a very good price (6 £ for 24 hours).
We definitely recommand it to groups and singles, especially for their English breakfast included: you were given a double choice between a classic continetal buffet breakfast or a very English meal (beans, eggs, ham, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, potatoes, tomatoes and white or dark bread).
Il Millers Arms è una delle migliori strutture in cui abbiamo avuto modo di soggiornare durante il nostro tour europeo. Le camere sono situate nel piano superiore di un pub, senza che questo comporti rumori o schiamazzi durante la notte. Ogni dettaglio è curato nel particolare: la struttura è stata ristrutturata da poco e ogni camera presenta mobilio e sanitari nuovi e puliti (addirittura i cuscini in esubero nell'armadio sono conservati all'interno di buste sottovuoto). Il personale competente ci ha accolto con educazione e disponibilità, fornendoci da subito tutte le informazioni a noi necessarie. Se viaggiate in auto, avrete la possibilità di lasciare il mezzo nel parcheggio situato proprio di fronte all'albergo per la cifra conveniente di 6 £ per 24 h.
Unica nota di demerito è rappresentata dalle dimensioni piuttosto ridotte della nostra quadrupla (ma insomma, cosa si vuole di più!), e dalla mancanza di aria condizionata nelle stanze, aspetto al quale il personale ha cercato di porre comunque rimedio fornendoci una piccola macchinetta simil ventilatore.
Tutto sommato, una soluzione che ci sentiamo davvero di consigliare per singoli e gruppi, soprattutto per la colazione inclusa nel prezzo: si poteva scegliere tra la classica colazione continentale a buffet oppure degustare un pasto all'inglese, fatto di prosciutto, salsicce, pancetta, uova strapazzate, funghi, fagioli, pomodori e frittella di patate, con pane nero e bianco a scelta.

Reviewed by
Sara A

From Rome, Italy
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, welcoming inn.
Comfortable rooms, recently redecorated. The top floor room has windows facing front and rear creating a through cooling breeze on the hottest day of the year. The staff are friendly and helpful and cooked breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Annette K

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent clean beautifully decorated and furnished accommodation.
Only negative was that it was very hot weather when we visited and there wasn't even a fan available which made room uncomfortable at times.

Reviewed by
Susan J

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next