No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
6 - 12 ALBION STREET , BROADSTAIRS, CT10 1AN
Inside the 21-room hotel, there is a coffee lounge and bar and restaurant specialising in local seafood, with beautiful views across the harbour.

Outside there is a multi-levelled terrace and landscaped Mediterranean-themed garden that overlooks the beach and sea, creating the perfect setting for up to 150 guests to dine in the fresh air.

The Royal Albion was a favourite haunt of author Charles Dickens, who stayed and wrote at the hotel before buying nearby Bleak House. The hotel remains a focal point of the town’s annual Dickens celebrations and is one of the music venues in the annual Broadstairs Folk Festival.

Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, BROADSTAIRS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Only stayed one night but room excellent - tastefully decorated; and with view of Viking Bay. Very comfortable bed. I would recommend a larger room with 2 easy chairs if staying longer than a couple of nights. Food excellent. Staff very friendly and obliging. Arrived early and left town later than check out time but on each occasion we were able to leave luggage in locked room for later collection. Hotel is brilliantly positioned with rear terraces overlooking the bay. A 24 hour car park permit (free) is supplied for nearby council car park (renewed at breakfast time); although we did travel by train. Railway Station is less than 800 metres away via the High Street.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Tenterden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovley place to stay
Booked one night last minute at the Albion Hotel in Broadstairs for my partner 20 month old and myself. had a great room with sea views.
Great service and breakfast.
Will be back.

Reviewed by
Adam H

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful
From the moment we arrived we found the staff to be helpful, friendly and informative. The room was lovely and well worth the climb up three flights of stairs as it had beautiful beach and bay views. The bed was comfortable and quality of linen, bottled water and bathroom soap, body lotion etc. were really good. Breakfast was wonderful with incredibly generous portions, and service efficient and friendly without being intrusive.The hotel is a real gem.

Reviewed by
s davies

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
Expensive for such a small room. The difference in price between "doubles" and "singles" is unfairly balanced against the single traveller.

Reviewed by
Marian S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceedingly,hellpful and friendly staff.
Our room was comfortable,well appointed and excellent value.The location is superb and on our next
visit we will book a sea-view room.
Despite the appalling weather,we had a delightful overnight stay,lovely food and great service
from our charming waiter.
The Receptionist was equally helpful,professional and friendly.
Long may this hotel flourish!


Reviewed by
Marie C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels i have stayed at
The staff at this hotel were fantastic,Joshua the receptionist was extremely welcoming and the night porter was fantastic and the young lady serving me breakfast in the morning was so friendly and proffessional.I only stayed one night and didn't arrive till late but in the 10 hours i was there i knew when i in Margate again this is where i'm staying.The staff are great.

Reviewed by
den morgan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for leisure. A little less great for business.
Great room, on special offer made it good value. Bathroom a little tired.
Breakfast service the slowest I've EVER known. The Waiter was fantastic and chased the kitchen twice for me but it still took 25 minutes for them produce a bacon sandwich, despite only two other tables occupied - overrun with orders in their High Street Coffee Shop methinks!? Anyway, I had to leave as my sandwich arrived...so no breakfast for me!

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
I know broadstairs very well. And have stayed there numerous times over the years. But have never stayed at the albion. All I can say it was a fantastic hotel. I have never stayed anywhere that was so welcoming, and friendly. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. The staff where by far so friendly and helpful. We have booked to go back for Xmas. And I can't wait.

Reviewed by
Karen Roberts

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful views
We stayed in the superior double on the first floor, with balcony access.. although on the pricy side, the room was spacious and comfortable. The wife loved the bath as well. Balcony is great with unbeatable views. Overall very satisfied

Reviewed by
Salil C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Lovely!
What a very pleasant surprise. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean. The view was mesmerizing. I had to drag myself away.

Reviewed by
Dawn K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next