No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
6 - 12 ALBION STREET , BROADSTAIRS, CT10 1AN
Inside the 21-room hotel, there is a coffee lounge and bar and restaurant specialising in local seafood, with beautiful views across the harbour.

Outside there is a multi-levelled terrace and landscaped Mediterranean-themed garden that overlooks the beach and sea, creating the perfect setting for up to 150 guests to dine in the fresh air.

The Royal Albion was a favourite haunt of author Charles Dickens, who stayed and wrote at the hotel before buying nearby Bleak House. The hotel remains a focal point of the town’s annual Dickens celebrations and is one of the music venues in the annual Broadstairs Folk Festival.

Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, BROADSTAIRS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend in a great hotel
We have stayed at the Royal Albion Hotel several times over a number of years and it never disappoints. Having had sea view rooms before, we were given another room that we haven't previously stayed in. It was even better than the others. The stay was lovely despite appalling weather. The rooms are quirky and full of charm. Service was as always top notch, with nothing too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff. Food in the restaurant was very good and the ambiance is always calm and friendly. Can't recommend this highly enough. Just what we needed to escape busy times in London.

Reviewed by
Roberto F

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location
Hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Broadstairs. There are many good eating places within a very short walk. Whilst the hotel does not have it's own parking, there is a convenient car park within 100m of the hotel (no charge as a voucher is supplied by the hotel.
The sea view from the hotel is perfect.

Reviewed by
B Lancaster

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Anniversary Break
Nice hotel with great views of the sea. Stayed for an anniversary break and had a good stay. Room was clean and breakfast was tasty.

Reviewed by
P Marshall

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab
Lovely sea view, great service.

Reviewed by
A P

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel
A warm welcome comfortable room with great sea view

Reviewed by
tessa c

From Warlingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great last minute stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Albion. Staff were very friendly offering great service. We stayed in room 35 with our 2 year old which had amazing views of the beach and was a very comfortable quiet room with loads of space for or 2 yr old to play. Food was very good and a lovely atmosphere in the bar/restaurant with a great outdoor seating area. Got a great deal off late rooms website

Reviewed by
claudine c

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good service. Bit of a slope to the bedroom floor
Stayed two nights in November 2014. Hotel was clean and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was good (we did not eat in the hotel otherwise) and there was a good choice.
Ended up with a fabulous view of the sea from the top floor.
Minor concern - that the floor sloped a bit in the bedroom - quite disconcerting, but not enough that I wouldn't go back!

Reviewed by
Ross C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay staff very helpful made us feel very comfortable will be returning next in
the area the highlight was the hotel was being used for filming ' The Lady and the Van'
starring Maggie Smith who was staying at the hotel ! Great time.
Gill Jarvis

Reviewed by
gill jarvis

From Rochester, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hotel run the way it should be
Excellent, helpful and professional staff. Wonderful venue. Excellent! A real treat

Reviewed by
Mark Richmond

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Atmosphere, view and comfort
Spent 3 nights in 2 different rooms and enjoyed every minute. Arrived late and were well received. The breakfast is scrumptious, the bar well stocked. This is an old building that has been rennovated and maintained well, so it has the charm that you find in many other similar hotels in Britain. A bit quirky, lots of bends, narrow passages and staircases but spacious rooms and baths. But what really sets it apart from a lot is the view over the beach, the clffs and the North Sea. We enjoyed the sunrise from our room with a cup of coffee for at least half an hour- before going down for breakfast. The place seems very popular with the day-guests who filled the outdoor facilities from breakfast to late at night.

Reviewed by
G Ghosh

From Norway
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next