No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maynard Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
16 Esplanade Gardens, South Cliff, , Scarborough, YO11 2AW
The Maynard is a family run hotel and a warm and friendly welcome awaits you from the proprietors Stuart and Angelia, whose aim is to make your visit to Scarborough a memorable and happy one. Our licensed bar is open each evening and also at meal times for the enjoyment of residents and their guests.We offer a full bar service and a selection of fine wines. Scarborough was probably the first English seaside resort after the medicinal properties of the town spring waters were discovered in 1626, although it was only after the arrival of the railway in the 1800s that Scarborough became accessible to all, thus resulting in hotels spreading out over the South Cliff. Today Scarborough combines the attractions of an old, traditional English resort with the modern surfing, which is popular around the bays. Although not a listed building the Maynard Hotel is situated in a conservation area on the beautiful South cliff with views of the Prince of Wales gardens. Originaly constructed in the 1860s it was converted to a hotel during the 1930s. Scarborough, Britain’s first seaside resort, has been welcoming visitors for over 360 years and is still as popular as ever. Here at the Maynard Hotel, we pride ourselves by maintaining the highest standard of rooms, without charging the highest prices.The hotel has eleven en-suite bedrooms on three floors. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Regrettably, we cannot accept pets. Children welcome. Check-In time: 1600 and Check-Out time: 1000.
Picture of Maynard Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scarborough revisited
Very friendly and helpful hosts.
Excellent location and parking.
Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
B Rawsthorne

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class family friendly stay-over.
Arrive at Maynard Hotel early and was meet by Stuart. He was very welcoming, allowed us to have our room. Gave us the parking permit for the duration of the stay and local direction map.Filled us in with local travel information and made us very welcome to his hotel.
The family room we were given was of a good standard. Clean, tidy and well equipped.
Nice cosy bar in the evening with plenty of things to keep kids entertained. Very tasty breakfast in the morning. We opted to have an evening meal there too. Very good and good value for money.
Would we stay again...Off-course, my son didn't want to leave. Thank you Angela and Stuart.

Reviewed by
robert rough

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Maynard hotel
Lovely hotel, very friendly welcome, clean and tidy room with all we needed. Will definitely stay again but breakfast served until a little later would be marvellous.

Reviewed by
Kerry Hunt

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week-end Fireworks Break
Arrived on the Friday evening for a w/end break and received a very warm & friendly greeting from Stuart & Angelia who quickly got us booked in, explained the car parking regulations and provided us with a 2-day pass. Breakfasts were excellent both in quality and choice, Stuart was very good with my 2 young grandsons quickly putting them at ease. We chose the hotel because we wanted to be on the Esplanade as we were taking in the fireworks display on the Saturday evening and felt that it would be a good viewing position particularly with the two young grandchildren. It turned out to be an excellent choice all round. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the grandsons loved sleeping in the bunk beds. Thanks to Stuart & Angelina for helping make the w/end.

Reviewed by
J Dixon

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maynard Holel Scarborough
Friendly service, good quality breakfast, décor of room could be improved/updated

Reviewed by
J Sharp

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LOVED the Maynard
Such a lovely b&b, the owners are so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was gorgeous! The rooms are modern and well decorated and the location is nice also! Would definitely return!

Reviewed by
K Walker

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantasic Hotel
The Maynard offered a genuine friendly environment for myself and family and the hotel was situated in a perfect location not far from the sea front near the Spar complex. The hotel it self was very clean and the food was fantastic with a perfect breakfast and we used the bar menu for our evening meals which was good food at a good price. The room we had was a family room which was big enough for 4 and had a king size bed which was lovely and comfortable, and there was enough wardrobe space for all our cloths. There is a small bar down stairs which was open every night so you can relax and have a drink . I would go back to this hotel again and will recommend the Maynard to my friends and family if they go to Scarborough. Overall the Maynard is a fantastic well run Hotel by Stuart and Angelia.

Reviewed by
Stephen Berry

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect stay from start to finish, and would go again anytime.
From the original booking to a confirmation phone call, the owners could not have done more for us.
An immaculate room with all the neccessary contents, very spacious and good decor and fittings.
Breakfasts were a treat, more choices of cereals and fruit than every other place we had been to, and the cooked part of the breakfast was always of our choice and hot and well cooked. The service in the dining room was brilliant, Stuart kept us amused and whenever anyone asked him anything he would sort it out straight away.
The whole stay went without a hitch thanks to the professional work done by Stuart and Angelia, and even our young Granddaughter was ready for breakfast and a banter with Stuart.
I could reccommend the Maynard to anyone and be 100% certain that they would find nothing to complain about. Many thanks to Stuart and Angelia

Reviewed by
pauline s

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little hotel
Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend and would definitely return. Great value for money particularly as breakfast was included. Read reviews beforehand and I can honestly say that the negative reviews are from professional nitpickers.

Reviewed by
Ryan O

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maynard Hotel
Great location and friendly and helpful owners. Great for a break to get away from it all.

Reviewed by
Melanie C

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.