No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hollin Barn Holiday Cottages

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
Sutton Road , Thirsk, YO72ER
A warm welcome awaits you at Hollin Barn Cottages.

Nestled away in the beautiful picturesque Yorkshire countryside, just some five minute’s drive from the famous James Herriot quaint and vibrant market town of Thirsk, Hollin Barn Holiday Cottages offer the perfect location and setting for your holiday.
Both cottages have recently undergone a complete refurbishment and now offer high quality fittings complimented with lush subtle luxurious finishing touches. Both our cottages are furnished to accommodate four persons with a mixture of double and twin beds, cot facilities can be provided on request.
Our cottages are individually named:
“Honeysuckle”, being the larger of the two complete with log burning stove for those dark winter evenings to curl up and listen to the cracking logs
“Rose”, a self contained bungalow complete with its own Rose garden and gravel driveway.
We are open all year round including Christmas and New Year and operate competitive flexible weekly tariff’s to cover all seasons of the year, we also offer special four night breaks.
We are a family operated business , proud of our service levels and attention to detail, we like to think that our clientele arrive as guests but always leave as friends.

Picture of Hollin Barn Holiday Cottages, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Location
Located a short drive from Thirsk and in beautiful countryside the cottage was ideally placed for touring the area. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and helpful advice regarding local restaurants and amenities. We would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Sharon N

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family friendly cottage
We have just spent 2 nights at the Hollin Barn holiday cottage, Was very pleased from start to finish. I searched initially for a hotel room but this place came up and it was more than I expected, a lovely little cottage sat right in the countryside ideal for travelling to the moors and the coast. Just as you would expect from a holiday cottage with good TV, fantasic kitchen and bathroom and very clean - no faults at all and a bargain price!

Reviewed by
KIrstie Hatcher

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay at Hollin Farm
Excellent stay, nice family space, good cottage facilities, kitchen, TV , DVD etc. fantastic outside garden for children to play safely. Nice food available at the Hotel next door
We recommend

Reviewed by
Gerard G

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely cottage which had everything we needed. A great location too.

Reviewed by
P Dawson

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing in summer
I used this stay as a self catering option, the cottage was beautiful and extremely clean with all the expected amenities. As a big plus there is a large hotel next to the property ideal for meals and a drink and also to watch sports. The walk into Thirsk takes about 30 mins but it is a welcome stroll.
Although next to a hotel it does not spoil the quite location.

Reviewed by
c westby

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Retreat at the bottom of Sutton Bank
We loved this little cottage which was perfect for a family of four. It was very clean, tidy and well equipped. The owner gave us a very warm welcome and was so friendly and helpful. Its in a lovely setting and perfect in any weather - we were lucky as our visit coincided with a couple of scorching hot days. Lots of places to visit around and about.

Reviewed by
Vici W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too noisy and needs updating
Property very noisy due to proximity to very busy main road, overall accommodation could do with updating and a bit TLC, very friendly owner but no instructions on how things worked especially the heating which appeared to be controlled by the owners themselves , good location but won't go back.

Reviewed by
Leanne E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
A lovely clean cottage with everything we needed for our stay. DVD s and board games to keep the kids occupied. Only negative was the lack of path to enter the cottage from the main road.

Reviewed by
J Porter

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem of a place Easy to find and the owner was very welcoming it was clean and comfy loved it

Reviewed by
Bruce s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable base for the area
Rose cottage was well furnished with everything we needed for a weekend stay. The area is full of walking opportunities.

Reviewed by
Linda S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next