Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2, Butcher Row , London, E14 8DS
Set around a beautiful garden, St. Katharine’s is a hidden gem where our guests enjoy simple and comfortable accommodation in peaceful surroundings. Recently refurbished, we have single, double, twin and family rooms available all of which have en-suite facilities.

Getting here is easy - it’s just a 2 minute walk to Limehouse DLR station with Bank and Canary Wharf just 5 minutes away.
In keeping with the serene environment there are no TV’s in the bedrooms, however high speed WiFi is available free of charge throughout the foundation. While here you may wish to visit our newly reordered chapel in which services take place daily.
St. Katharine’s has a long and rich history being one of the oldest religious foundations in Great Britain, was founded in 1147 by Queen Matilda, the wife of King Stephen, as a hospital for the poor, outside the walls of the Tower of London. Today the Queen of England remains our patron.

Come and see for yourself by staying at this unique and historic venue.
Picture of The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden Oasis indeed - excellent in all respects
What a gem 2 minutes form DLR, 5 minutes from Canary Wharf, 8 minutes from Bank on top of which an excellent venue and with good staff and service.

Reviewed by
Michael O

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for parking and access to city
We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Troxy which we were going to that evening. The hotel is very convenient for access to the city. Great place to stay if you're driving into the city and need to leave the car at the hotel so you can head into the centre. However, for us we only visited the hotel because it was close to where we needed to be. I would not normally choose this location.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
We were looking for somewhere to stay, with easy access to the Tower of London, for early morning Poppy picking duties. This was perfect (easy drive from Kent), with free parking & very close to DLR. Accommodation is not high-class hotel luxury but very clean & comfortable, with wifi, tea & coffee etc. Staff very friendly & helpful (especially after we lost a card in the car park). Peaceful lounge for an evening nightcap in front of the fire. Would definitely stay again and already recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
Jo S

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Took my Mom and Dad to Cutty Sark for his 80 birthday
After a long fun day in London, the hotel was the most friendly, clean, relaxing,with lots of special touches, comfortable beds an big bath towels, My Mom and Dad were with me an my husband. An there are 80 an 75 an there were very happy.

Reviewed by
Theresa Parfitt

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis of calm and friendliness
What a find. Superb customer service and friendliness from all members of staff. This has been a most unexpected delight in the heart of London.

Reviewed by
K Farrington

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a relaxing nights stay
If you want somewhere quiet in the middle of London then this is the spot. Rooms are functional but spotlessly clean. Customer service is great and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Brendan M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Katherine's was a delight. It is a peaceful and comfortable oasis in the middle of London. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a safe, quiet and value for money stay near the city centre.

Reviewed by
jane g

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quiet in the hustle and bustle!!
Lovely secluded oasis in the East End. Very good spot to base yourself for a bit of sightseeing.
Very good links to most places in London and just a 5 minute stroll from the Thames.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm in East London
Needed accommodation for 5 days between house moves but still with access to the City for work. This place is wonderfully calm & relaxing, sitting in the sunny but cool garden or chapel, or reading in the reading room. Just what I needed to restore myself after a few crazy months.
If I need again, I would book direct.

Reviewed by
Kim D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of London.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat from the busy streets of London while being close to the city this could be the perfect stay for you. However be aware some people could find it too quiet and lacking some essential facilities depending on your expectations.
My wife and myself stayed at St Katherines for a weekend city break and for us was an ideal place to lay our head after a busy day seeing the sights of London. Our room was quite small and simple but perfectly adequate for the price. Breakfast was continental with cereals, meats, cheese, yoghurts and pastries, all of which were plentiful and good quality.
The biggest plus points for us were free parking (unheard of this close to central London), free WIFI and a quiet hotel. Everyone we spoke to were very friendly and helpful and the other guests were considerate.
We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next