Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2, Butcher Row , London, E14 8DS
Set around a beautiful garden, St. Katharine’s is a hidden gem where our guests enjoy simple and comfortable accommodation in peaceful surroundings. Recently refurbished, we have single, double, twin and family rooms available all of which have en-suite facilities.

Getting here is easy - it’s just a 2 minute walk to Limehouse DLR station with Bank and Canary Wharf just 5 minutes away.
In keeping with the serene environment there are no TV’s in the bedrooms, however high speed WiFi is available free of charge throughout the foundation. While here you may wish to visit our newly reordered chapel in which services take place daily.
St. Katharine’s has a long and rich history being one of the oldest religious foundations in Great Britain, was founded in 1147 by Queen Matilda, the wife of King Stephen, as a hospital for the poor, outside the walls of the Tower of London. Today the Queen of England remains our patron.

Come and see for yourself by staying at this unique and historic venue.
Picture of The Royal Foundation Of St Katharine, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a relaxing nights stay
If you want somewhere quiet in the middle of London then this is the spot. Rooms are functional but spotlessly clean. Customer service is great and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Brendan M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Katherine's was a delight. It is a peaceful and comfortable oasis in the middle of London. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a safe, quiet and value for money stay near the city centre.

Reviewed by
jane g

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quiet in the hustle and bustle!!
Lovely secluded oasis in the East End. Very good spot to base yourself for a bit of sightseeing.
Very good links to most places in London and just a 5 minute stroll from the Thames.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm in East London
Needed accommodation for 5 days between house moves but still with access to the City for work. This place is wonderfully calm & relaxing, sitting in the sunny but cool garden or chapel, or reading in the reading room. Just what I needed to restore myself after a few crazy months.
If I need again, I would book direct.

Reviewed by
Kim D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of London.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat from the busy streets of London while being close to the city this could be the perfect stay for you. However be aware some people could find it too quiet and lacking some essential facilities depending on your expectations.
My wife and myself stayed at St Katherines for a weekend city break and for us was an ideal place to lay our head after a busy day seeing the sights of London. Our room was quite small and simple but perfectly adequate for the price. Breakfast was continental with cereals, meats, cheese, yoghurts and pastries, all of which were plentiful and good quality.
The biggest plus points for us were free parking (unheard of this close to central London), free WIFI and a quiet hotel. Everyone we spoke to were very friendly and helpful and the other guests were considerate.
We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oasis of calm
Walking distance to Canary Wharf, 2 minutes from a DLR, delightfully polite, kind and charming staff, great WiFi, decent room, excellent breakfast, lovely garden, a sense of peace and calm. There's no telly in the rooms - I actually preferred it and read 100 pages of book instead.

Reviewed by
Jonathan C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful & calm
Whilst only being a few minutes from the train, you could hear a little noise but the surroundings felt so calm I was hardly conscious of it.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oasis
What an oasis of calm and quiet in the busy city of London! It's always a risk booking somewhere to stay on-line. But be assured that St. Katharine's is exactly what it says it is. Quiet, clean, modern rooms, helpful staff, good continental breakfast, easy to find, 2 mins walk from the DLR station, safe, delightful grounds and definitely somewhere we shall stay again.

Reviewed by
K McAlister Bell

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
Clean, modern, excellent location and excellent price. Only 2 min walk from Limehouse station best of all, free car parking. Room was immaculate with views of the garden. Continental breakfast was fresh and very pleasant. Highly recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Katie K

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely retreat and oasis gem close to DLR and tube stations
Would highly recommend this accommodation. It is free from piped music and televisions
Has free wifi should you need it.

Reviewed by
R Cerrino

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next