No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Head Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ravenstonedale , , , Kirkby Stephen, CA17 4NH
After a comprehensive refurbishment the King's Head re-opened in July 2011 under new management. Reviews published before this date do not apply to the present management who are working hard to build a reputation for warm and friendly hospitality. Our 6 en–suite bedrooms (4 double, 2 twin) offer an ideal base for an overnight stay or an extended break. All our rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and free WiFi. Our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with excellent food and drink, comfortable accommodation, and friendly hospitality. The King's Head is situated between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park and is therefore an ideal base from which to visit both. We are just 8 miles from the M6 (J38) and 4 miles from the town of Kirkby Stephen.
Picture of The Kings Head Hotel, Kirkby Stephen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem
This hotel is a little gem. Everything you could ask for is delivered at a top level of service.
Will for certain return.

Reviewed by
S Sykes

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute gem.
Superb accomodation, sublime food and lovely clean rooms topped with friendly staff. Can't fault the Kings Head.

Reviewed by
paul g

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable short break
Beautiful hotel in a fabulous setting, room 1 a little on the small side but very cosy, would recommend to everyone and will definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
John R

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing stay once more
this was the secound time we booked at the kings head. Once again enjoyed every bit of our stay. Just like to add our room this time was a tiny bit noisy as there were to fans situated on the exterior wall, same wall as the bed lay. But this was quickly forgotten as the staff are, from the cleaner to the chef are so friendly and take an intrest in where you have come from, what your intensions for the day are and so on. Well recomened.

Reviewed by
B JONES

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slight criticism of bathroom. No light above mirror for shaving. Shower screen allowed some water to escape.

Reviewed by
Ronald Kirkpatrick

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night getaway
After driving through some lovely countryside to get to our destination we arrived at the King's Head which had undergone a stylish makeover approximately 3 years ago. We received a warm welcome and our room No 1 which had been discounted due to our late booking was very clean and overlooked a playing field at the back of the hotel. It had all the basic amenities and a very comfortable bed with fresh white linen. Our evening meal at the King's Head was of exceptional quality and had some imaginative flavour combinations especially on the starters and desserts. The Cumbrian Lamb which I had for my main course was served pink and had exceptional flavour and was so tender. The Rib eye steak served with chunky chips was a winner with my husband and again full of flavour. Although we only stayed one night it was well worth the visit for a lovely evening dinner bed and breakfast without having to worry about having a glass of wine or two and one of us having driving home! The staff were helpful and friendly and we were served a delicious breakfast before leaving.

Reviewed by
S Turner

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little hotel
Very friendly & helpful staff , rooms are very comfortable , excellent food will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
G allen

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Everything was exceptional stayed here on a number of occasions food rooms and staff faultless.

Reviewed by
M Sedgwick

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and very friendly service . We were looked after from the moment we arrived till we left really could not fault anything the food was fantastic

Reviewed by
Kevin Towse

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem of a hotel
Loved our stay at the Kings Head Hotel would love to stay again, could not fault it, the food was also excellent.

Reviewed by
Gillian K

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next