No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Celtic Royal Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Celtic Royal Hotel, Bangor Street , Caernarfon, LL55 1AY
The Prestigious Celtic Royal Hotel, Caernarfon
This 3 star hotel offers 110 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, located near ‘The Heritage site of Caernarfon Castle’ on the edge of the Snowdonia National park. With excellent standards of dining and service in an elegant yet homely environment the Celtic Royal Hotel is a popular choice for Weddings and celebrations. The Hotel boasts superb facilities including an excellent leisure club comprising of a 16m pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and 24 point gym. The conferencing facilities cater for up to 300 delegates, and the large spacious Ballroom with a 1600sq foot dance floor makes this hotel an ideal venue for a dance weekend, Ball or Gala Dinner.

Please note that any member of your party under the age of 16 years is subject to Junior Guest Guidelines / Rules.
Specifically, as the pool is not under constant lifeguard supervision junior guests must be supervised by an accompanying adult over the age of 18 years at all times with a maximum of two juniors per supervising adult.
Juniors are not allowed use of the Sauna, Steam Room or Gym.
The pool is available for junior guests from 8am to 6pm daily with last entry at 5:30pm and 8am to 11am on the day of departure.

STANDARD OPENING TIMES:
Monday - Friday 7.00am exit by 10.00pm - Last Entry at 9.30pm (Sauna & Steam Room 7.00am - 9.00pm)
Saturday - Sunday 8.00am exit by 8.00pm - Last Entry at 7.30pm (Sauna & Steam Room 8.00am - 7.00pm)
All Bank Holidays 8.00am exit by 8.00pm - Last Entry at 7.30pm (Sauna & Steam Room 8.00am - 7.00pm)
Juniors (All ages up to and including 15) are only permitted from 8.00am exit by 6.00pm daily (Last Entry at 5.30pm) and must be supervices by an adult (over 18yrs) at all times.
Departure Date Exit by 11.00am for all guests
We thank you for your co-operation in helping us to make your stay safe and most of all, enjoyable.
Picture of Celtic Royal Hotel, Caernarfon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Stayed two nights.very nice hotel.would
stay again.great deal from late rooms.great location.

Reviewed by
n moxon

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An attractive room
Good hotel.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay 14th August 2014
The hotel looked good on the web site but, in my opinion does not warrant 3 stars. The inside of the hotel was very hot and the room (142) was even hotter, the main window cannot be opened to get some fresh air in. The pillows were appalling, lumpy and very thin, we asked for replacements which were just as dire. The breakfast buffet was very poor in comparison to other hotels we have stayed in with the hot buffet not even in the dinning room but on the way into the dinning room. The fried eggs had obviously been sitting under the the heat lamps for quite some time as the yolks were as hard as stones. We tried out the leisure pool but the receptionist (man) at the pool was very unhelpful and quite rude to us when we asked a couple of questions. All in all a poor experience and I am glad we were only booked in for one night.

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, We were disappointed to receive your feedback regarding your stay in August and we sincerely apologise that you were not happy with the standard of service. At the Celtic Royal Hotel we pride ourselves on our 3 star 78% Visit Wales rating and 3 star 81% AA rating. We do also invest a vast amount of money into the upkeep of the facilities of the hotel including mattress and pillows etc. Please be reassured that we do take constructive criticism very seriously and we will be taking on board your comments and rectifying the issues raised. Thank you for your comments and we hope that you are not deterred from visiting us again. Kind regards, Customer Care Department

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

snowdon stay
We stayed at the Celtic 14/08/14 for one night after climbing mount Snowden and what a good choice of hotel, to rest your weary body. From the first moment you walk in, you are greeted with a smile and made to feel very welcome by all who work at the hotel. The room (number 115) was spacious with a good size bathroom. We didn't eat in the restaurant that night but did have breakfast and that was excellent. We had the full English, this was served buffet style and this allowed you to have as much or little as you felt like, the bacon was thick cut with excellent quality sausages. I would suggest to the management, to leave a sample dinner menu in the rooms, as we would have probably stayed in for dinner instead of eating out. We paid a last minute booking rate but looking at the DBB rate, I would return and have no issues paying the full price per nigh

Reviewed by
Lynda B

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectation!
We got a special low price for a late booking and we thought that we might get one of the worst rooms but we were very pleasantly surprised - the room was very good and the bathroom looked recently renovated. The staff (especially Gwenno) could not have been more helpful. We used the swimming pool and sauna which were good. We used the restaurant in the evening and the food was very tasty and well presented - we could not fault the buffet breakfast in the morning either. The position of the hotel was good - only a short walk to the castle/town centre.

Reviewed by
David S

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great location.
This lovely traditional style hotel was in a great location less than 5 mins walk from town centre. I was pleased that my request for a room with a walk-in shower (because of my mobility difficulties) was met. Expecting a pokey little cupboard, we were thrilled to find we had a large room with a double and single bed and a large shower room! very nice indeed. Only grumble here was with the pillows, felt like Goldilocks - some were too flat and soft, some were too hard and high! tried them all. We ate an evening meal in the bar / bistro and enjoyed the food very much; drinks a little expensive though so a short walk to the pubs in town later resolved that issue! Breakfast the next morning was plentful and delicious. I was so looking forward to a swim in the pool during our short stayand on observation of it was really pleased to see i would be able to access it without difficulty as there were steps with a rail to enter the pool rather than a ladder or a slippery slope into it. Unfortuntately, although the area did have disabled changing facilities; one was in the gents changing rooms and one was in the ladies changing rooms so my husband wouldn't have been able to assist me as he couldn't go into the ladies and I couldn't go into the gents! so, unfortunately, no swim for me. This may be an issue the hotel could look into. On a positive note all staff at the hotel were pleasant, friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was really tastefully decorated and in a perfect location and food was very good indeed. Free car park too. Definately will stay here again especially if I can get it at the great room rate I got from Late Rooms!!

Reviewed by
M Cropper

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
great location, easy to find and get out and about into North Wales from. Great to be able to use the pool and breakfast set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
A Lea

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

None necessary.

Reviewed by
A Goggins

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
As a couple we thought this hotel had the wow factor from the minute we stepped foot in the main door, pictures do not do it justice!!!! Whilst our time here I became poorly, but felt the hotel was like being from home to home. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
S Lye

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotal, in wales we have stop in

Reviewed by
w grzona

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next