No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Conningbrook Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
CANTERBURY ROAD KENNINGTON, ASHFORD, TN24 9QR
The Conningbrook Hotel in Ashford is a large traditional hotel and community pub refurbished to modern standards and decorated in clean, vibrant style.

With 29 en-suite bedrooms, two fully-equipped function rooms, a restaurant, bar and a large, popular garden, it is the perfect one-stop venue for weddings, civil ceremonies, parties and business events.

Close to the M20 motorway and with Ashford International Eurostar station only 35 minutes from London, the hotel has excellent transport links and is a good base to visit charming villages such as Chilham, Wye and Tenterden.

The hotel has full access for the disabled and a 40-space car park.

The Conningbrook also serves its local community, sponsoring football teams, hosting quiz nights and presenting live music on the last Friday of each month. Outside there is a large, attractive garden with a children’s play area.

Authentic Kentish beer is available, with distinctive cask ales kept in perfect condition, as well as a wide choice of wines.

Picture of Conningbrook Hotel, ASHFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two great nights
We had a very pleasant 2 day stay at the Conningsbrook. Recommended by a friend (lived locally).
Atmosphere, food and friendliness of staff were excellent. The grounds looked awesome. Unfortunately it was November and unable to enjoy sitting out.
Two minor negative points. Drive way quite muddy. No resident lounge after 11.30pm. This didn't spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
Philip Cook

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and location
Stayed en route to Europe. Good value for money with a good sized room and decent menu in the evening, if a bit on the fast food side.
Excellent breakfast, mostly cooked to order as it was piping hot. All variations at breakfast available.

Reviewed by
William R

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Autumn Break
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist, who gave us all the information we required. Our room was on the first floor, which was a little bit of a toil for me as I am disabled, and hadn't read anywhere in the information that there were no lifts. but I managed and our room was just at the top of the stairs so I soon recovered. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and size of the room. Everything was beautifully clean and fresh. Our room was above the bar, so we were expecting it to be a bit noisy, but we weren't disturbed at all. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Our only grievance was that the cooked breakfast arrived at our table before we had finished our cereal, and we ended up holding our bowls in our hands to enable the cooked breakfast to be put on the table.
We had one evening meal at the hotel, ( steak ) which was average. The steak was a bit chewy. Prices were reasonable. We found a good pub on our travels, The Tickled Trout at Wye which did a really good meal with good sized portions at a reasonable price. Overall, a really nice place to stay, and one we would be happy to visit again.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great staff and outstanding value
Greated by welcoming staff, large clean rooms with good food all at a very reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our on/off stay!!
We finally found somewhere to stay~ the Conningbrook, looked fine~ near the Eurotunnel. We had an early start to catch the train the next morning. 3 days before our planned overnight stay, we recieved a call from the hotel, stating that "Late rooms" had overbooked the hotel and we would have to stay at another accommodation, which was another further away again from the tunnel. The male caller stated, leave it with me and i'll see what else i can find. No calls came back. It was only the day before i messaged the hotel to say, what is happening, i was told that it is ok, we have had a cancellation. For the previous 36 hours we had no idea where we would stay, or even if we had a room anywhere as it is peak time. (We thought it may come to a sleep in a very full car) which is not great the night before a pending journey of 560 miles the next day. However, we arrived to find a very nice large room overlooking the large grassed area for guests. We had requested a bath (as we don't have a bath at home) in our booking and we had a jaccuzzi bath!! Really keen to have a good soak, turned on the taps..........no hot water!! What a disappointment!! As we had an early start in the morning, we settled for showers. We did express our highs and lows of our stay to the receptionist before our departure.
It is a very nice place to stay but we were just unfortunate with our experience.

Reviewed by
K Trundle

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good-sized double room, clean, nicely appointed with modern furnishings. Comfortable twin beds. Good range of TV channels.
Shampoo and shower gel provided in bathroom - nice to see these days.
Cracking breakfasts!

Reviewed by
B McCann

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room
Friendly staff, nice clean room, awesome shower! I had to leave early in the morning so missed breakfast but was able to take juice and croissants with me.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good bedroom. bathroom less. nice restaurant

Reviewed by
J van Erp

From Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The room was comfortable, clean, and had windows that open. Some traffic noise with windows open, this was no problem for me. Accomadation not modern, but fine by me. Free Wifi essential.

Reviewed by
w durrant

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here as my father took ill on holiday so was unplanned. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room was spotless, the food was lovely and would definately recommed this hotel. Yes - the corridor floor was squeaky but I still managed to have a good nights sleep!

Reviewed by
Lyndsaye T

From Longniddry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next