Reviews - The White Rose



Price From 156.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Judith A

  • August 2015

Lovely village & great accomodation

Room very nice and quiet despite being at the front, on the 'main' road.

We had the window open all night & there was no noise at all. The staff, other guests and locals were very friendly making it a most enjoyable stay.

  • Andrea H

  • August 2015

Great find!

We booked a Superior Double room with our Westie.

We received a warm welcome on checking-in & provided with all the information we needed to make our stay comfortable. The room (room 7) was lovely & spacious with a very large bed (2 singles pushed together, but that doesn't bother us!), and 2 chairs forming a sitting area, there was even plenty of room for our dogs crate. The room, bathroom & communal areas were very clean. Our room was at the front if the hotel, so the front lights shine into our room, but they were turned off at around 1am & didn't bother us too much. The hotel itself is ideally placed for exploring Askrigg & the Yorkshire Dales. The only reason I haven't given this place full marks is that the shower was very inconsistent in terms of pressure & temperature, although my partner had no such issues. As in many hotels dogs cannot be left in the room unattended, but if you let them know in advance, you can bring them down for breakfast as they will set a table up in the bar area for you. This was a massive plus for us as we're very cautious of leaving our dog in the car. Breakfast was superb, you are given a list of components of a cooked breakfast & you can choose exactly what you want. It's all cooked fresh as you order, there is a good choice of cereals & coffee percolating to help yourself. The evening meal was great too-again, dogs are welcome to be with you if you chose to dine in the bar & you can reserve a table in advance. There's a large choice on the menu and 3/4 specials too. The staff are all very friendly & welcoming and it appears to a family-run business. In our eyes they have it just right.

  • john evans

  • March 2015

The White Rose

A rainy weekend.

  • Shirley N

  • July 2014

Slightly old-fashioned but very well-placed for enjoying the Dales

We stayed at the White Rose because there was little else available around Hawes when we wanted accommodation at short notice (it happened to be at the start of the school Summer holidays) but we found it quite comfortable and reasonable value for money.

As others have noted, sound does travel in the building and were unfortunate enought o be next door to a snorer. We had paid extra for a superior room and were glad to have a bit of space to sit. The views from the room were lovely. Both the bathroom and the televsion and were quite small but adequate. Wi-fi does not reach to the rooms and was intermittent elsewhere. The food was of good quality.

  • angela gough

  • June 2014

Somewhere special in the middle of nowhare

A lovely Pub / Restaurant / B&B a fantastic little gem on the edge of the moor.

Just right for seeing the Tour. We loved it and will use it magain

  • A Marshall

  • May 2014

A lovely hotel. Stayed there twice before. Rooms now a bit dated.

  • Gemma C

  • May 2014

Relaxed stay

Great base to explore the Dales.

Most impressed with the cleanliness throughout the hotel. Warm welcoming greeting. Great value for money.

  • mick p

  • April 2014

Very good value stay, quality food

stayed two nights, very good food, friendly staff, will stay again when next in askrigg.

  • Paul Grant

  • March 2014

Good place to stay

There was parking on site,which was a god send for us as we had a fully loaded car.The lady who greeted us at the bar/reception was very pleasant and helpful and booking in was quick and painless.

The rooms are not luxurious,but are very clean,tidy and comfortable.The food was excellent,very hot,large portions and very well made. As we were leaving early the next morning,before breakfast,cereal,toast and juices were left for us,which was greatly appreciated. Nice quiet place to stop.

  • j entwistle

  • February 2014

The White Rose was situated in the most beautiful village in the middle of the dales so I was expecting something wonderful but was quite disappointed with the accommodation.

The décor was dated and tired. The pub was adequate and the staff were friendly. We had our dog with us and she was made welcome including during meal times which they kindly allowed us to take in the bar area. Evening meal was a bit of a disappointment - my pheasant was very tough, but breakfast was lovely and so were breakfast staff. Sadly I would look elsewhere if visiting again because even at £90 bed breakfast and evening meal for two I thought it was expensive.