No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Rose

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
MAIN STREET , Askrigg, DL8 3HG
Askrigg is a popular starting point for walkers. There are many circular walks, some taking in Mill Gill and Whitfield Force, the local waterfalls. It is also a convenient touring base for the Yorkshire Dales and the southern part of the Lake District. A day trip to York or the North York Moors National Park and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is also quite convenient with good road communications.

For our bed and breakfast hotel holiday accommodation in Askrigg, Wensleydale and the Yorkshire Dales, there are twelve bedrooms, all with full ensuite facilities, room controlled central heating, colour T.V., radio, hair dryer and hospitality trays.The bedrooms have been comfortably furnished with most retaining the original fireplaces and panelled window shutters.

We serve real ales and have a restaurant and orangery
Picture of The White Rose, Askrigg at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly old-fashioned but very well-placed for enjoying the Dales
We stayed at the White Rose because there was little else available around Hawes when we wanted accommodation at short notice (it happened to be at the start of the school Summer holidays) but we found it quite comfortable and reasonable value for money. As others have noted, sound does travel in the building and were unfortunate enought o be next door to a snorer! We had paid extra for a superior room and were glad to have a bit of space to sit. The views from the room were lovely. Both the bathroom and the televsion and were quite small but adequate. Wi-fi does not reach to the rooms and was intermittent elsewhere. The food was of good quality.

Reviewed by
Shirley N

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere special in the middle of nowhare
A lovely Pub / Restaurant / B&B a fantastic little gem on the edge of the moor. Just right for seeing the Tour. We loved it and will use it magain

Reviewed by
angela gough

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel. Stayed there twice before. Rooms now a bit dated.

Reviewed by
A Marshall

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed stay
Great base to explore the Dales. Most impressed with the cleanliness throughout the hotel. Warm welcoming greeting. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Gemma C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value stay, quality food
stayed two nights, very good food, friendly staff, will stay again when next in askrigg.

Reviewed by
mick p

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
There was parking on site,which was a god send for us as we had a fully loaded car.The lady who greeted us at the bar/reception was very pleasant and helpful and booking in was quick and painless.
The rooms are not luxurious,but are very clean,tidy and comfortable.The food was excellent,very hot,large portions and very well made.
As we were leaving early the next morning,before breakfast,cereal,toast and juices were left for us,which was greatly appreciated.
Nice quiet place to stop.

Reviewed by
Paul Grant

From Stratford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Rose was situated in the most beautiful village in the middle of the dales so I was expecting something wonderful but was quite disappointed with the accommodation. The décor was dated and tired. The pub was adequate and the staff were friendly. We had our dog with us and she was made welcome including during meal times which they kindly allowed us to take in the bar area. Evening meal was a bit of a disappointment - my pheasant was very tough, but breakfast was lovely and so were breakfast staff. Sadly I would look elsewhere if visiting again because even at £90 bed breakfast and evening meal for two I thought it was expensive.

Reviewed by
j entwistle

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall I was very pleased with my stay. The staff were friendly and happy to provide maps and local advice on walks. Only negative was that, having booked cooked breakfasts and informed them that my partner was vegetarian, there were no vegetarian sausages on the breakfast menu....including on the second morning.

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Wedding
The room we stayed in was of a decent size however the bathroom was cramped with no place to store toiletries and had a smell of damp. The fittings in the room were tired but the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast served here is very good and freshly cooked to order(much better than buffet style).
The evening meals are hearty British fayre. Be warned if you do not have a very big appetite go for the small portions served between 6&7pm. Waitresses are pleasant.

Reviewed by
Gary Hylton

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable short break
We stayed two nights here. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome and given a brief run down of the facilities. Our room was on the first floor above the bar, initially we were worried about the possible noise from downstairs but this was barely noticable at all. The room was clean and spacious with king size bed, the bathroom was quite spacious and extras such as soaps and shampoo was there to be used, not sachets but bottles. The dining menu was excellent with a large choice, the food was well prepared and presented all the staff were always friendly. Outside to the rear is the ample sized car park and also a garden with seating, unfortunately it was raining so this wasn't taken advantage of. Would we stay there again?...... definitely yes.

Reviewed by
kevin t

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next