The White Rose

4

MAIN STREET, Askrigg, DL8 3HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Shirley N

  • July 2014

Slightly old-fashioned but very well-placed for enjoying the Dales

We stayed at the White Rose because there was little else available around Hawes when we wanted accommodation at short notice (it happened to be at the start of the school Summer holidays) but we found it quite comfortable and reasonable value for money.

As others have noted, sound does travel in the building and were unfortunate enought o be next door to a snorer. We had paid extra for a superior room and were glad to have a bit of space to sit. The views from the room were lovely. Both the bathroom and the televsion and were quite small but adequate. Wi-fi does not reach to the rooms and was intermittent elsewhere. The food was of good quality.

  • angela gough

  • June 2014

Somewhere special in the middle of nowhare

A lovely Pub / Restaurant / B&B a fantastic little gem on the edge of the moor.

Just right for seeing the Tour. We loved it and will use it magain

  • A Marshall

  • May 2014

A lovely hotel. Stayed there twice before. Rooms now a bit dated.

  • Gemma C

  • May 2014

Relaxed stay

Great base to explore the Dales.

Most impressed with the cleanliness throughout the hotel. Warm welcoming greeting. Great value for money.

  • mick p

  • April 2014

Very good value stay, quality food

stayed two nights, very good food, friendly staff, will stay again when next in askrigg.

  • Paul Grant

  • March 2014

Good place to stay

There was parking on site,which was a god send for us as we had a fully loaded car.The lady who greeted us at the bar/reception was very pleasant and helpful and booking in was quick and painless.

The rooms are not luxurious,but are very clean,tidy and comfortable.The food was excellent,very hot,large portions and very well made. As we were leaving early the next morning,before breakfast,cereal,toast and juices were left for us,which was greatly appreciated. Nice quiet place to stop.

  • j entwistle

  • February 2014

The White Rose was situated in the most beautiful village in the middle of the dales so I was expecting something wonderful but was quite disappointed with the accommodation.

The décor was dated and tired. The pub was adequate and the staff were friendly. We had our dog with us and she was made welcome including during meal times which they kindly allowed us to take in the bar area. Evening meal was a bit of a disappointment - my pheasant was very tough, but breakfast was lovely and so were breakfast staff. Sadly I would look elsewhere if visiting again because even at £90 bed breakfast and evening meal for two I thought it was expensive.

  • Gary Hylton

  • October 2013

Family Wedding

The room we stayed in was of a decent size however the bathroom was cramped with no place to store toiletries and had a smell of damp.

The fittings in the room were tired but the bed was comfortable. The breakfast served here is very good and freshly cooked to order(much better than buffet style). The evening meals are hearty British fayre. Be warned if you do not have a very big appetite go for the small portions served between 6&7pm. Waitresses are pleasant.

  • Matthew H

  • October 2013

Overall I was very pleased with my stay.

The staff were friendly and happy to provide maps and local advice on walks. Only negative was that, having booked cooked breakfasts and informed them that my partner was vegetarian, there were no vegetarian sausages on the breakfast menu....including on the second morning.

  • kevin t

  • September 2013

A very enjoyable short break

We stayed two nights here.

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome and given a brief run down of the facilities. Our room was on the first floor above the bar, initially we were worried about the possible noise from downstairs but this was barely noticable at all. The room was clean and spacious with king size bed, the bathroom was quite spacious and extras such as soaps and shampoo was there to be used, not sachets but bottles. The dining menu was excellent with a large choice, the food was well prepared and presented all the staff were always friendly. Outside to the rear is the ample sized car park and also a garden with seating, unfortunately it was raining so this wasn't taken advantage of. Would we stay there again?...... definitely yes.