No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Poplar Farm Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Farmhouse Ratings explained
Poplar Farm, West Stoughton Wedmore, Cheddar, BS28 4PP
Situated just 2 miles from the fashionable village of Wedmore, Poplar Farm is a working farm where we rear beef animals, sheep and poultry. The Farmhouse is a 17th century somerset longhouse offering good size family accommodation, evening meals and afternoon tea. We are in a ideal area for touring the holiday attractions of Somerset; Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury Abbey, Wells Cathedral, Wookey Hole Caves, the new Pier at Weston Super Mare, walking, fishing or bird watching on the Somerset Levels, local golf within 1 mile. Just 6miles from Junction 22 M5 and within easy reach of Bristol, Bath, Taunton and Longleat Safari Park all within 1 hour. Bristol air port is only 15 miles away.
Picture of Poplar Farm  Bed and Breakfast, Cheddar at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poplar Farm Bed and Breakfast
The only negative thing I can say about my stay is that it was too short, and we would love to have stayed longer to explore the surrounding villages and countryside. The owners were very friendly and helpful with directions, location was peaceful, even the owner's dogs were friendly (my 6 year old could have spent all day throwing the dogs' toys to retrieve). We booked 2 rooms, both of which were a good size and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. I would definitely recommend, and hope to stay again the next time we are in Somerset.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an enjoyable overnight stay at Poplar Farm. We were greeted with a warm welcome, a pot of tea and a piece of scrumptious cake.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a good sized adjoining bathroom.
We had an excellent cooked breakfast. Wish we had been staying longer.
We would highly recommend a stay at Poplar Farm.

Reviewed by
E Marson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in a wonderful location and in easy reach of some beautiful places...poplar farm could not be faulted,beautiful log chalet and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
kim adams

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
fantastic friendly service, brill with the kids, lovely animals

Reviewed by
s boyle

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, friendly and relaxed.
We were made welcome upon arrival with tea/coffee and cakes. Our room was cosey, clean and comfortable with a lovely farmhouse atmosphere. Breakfast was superb and we were always asked what time we would like it served. On our second night, after being out all day, we opted for a home cooked meal which was first class and very reasonably priced, and again were asked what time suited us. All in all a very enjoyable stay at Poplar Farm and we would highly recommend it. If we are ever down that way again we would be happy to rebook at Poplar.
Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
K Reay

From Haltwhistle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant holiday
I was meeting my partner down in Cheddar but the first night I was on my own, I was a little nervous but I was made to feel very welcome and safe. The room was very clean and spacious with a separate seating area and good value. The host's are very friendly and the food was all cooked fresh and enough to fill you till tea time. It is ideally located between 2 villages but close to Road links. It's very peaceful and the resident pets (2 cats and 2 dogs) are extremely friendly and quiet. I would recommend this hotel x

Reviewed by
B Gibson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely pleasant welcome, clean, quirky chalet, huge shower!
Hostess absolutely charming, and even made us an evening meal, with a bottle of wine included as well!
Breakfast outside was remarkable with great views of the countryside.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect country B&B
Poplar Farm is a (clean) working farm and the accommdation is in the large farm-house or the chalet (the small cottage is currently on a longer-term let). The owners are both friendly hosts and strike just the right balance between being friendly and welcoming, and providing a professional service. The cooked breakfasts are to a very high standard. If you like dogs you will love it. If you don't normally (like me) you will be won over by the farm's two dogs.

Reviewed by
Samuel E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First leg of 30th wedding anniversary
Fantastic bed & breakfast nothing to much trouble we arrived around tea time after a 5hr drive we were very tired not up to walking up to the village for something to eat so asked if they did evening meals @ such short notice & they did & it was lovely as was breakfast very friendly & hospitable greeted with a pot of tea & cake Ruby the pup is adorable & loves to play so if you like animals then this is the perfect place

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rural spot
A helpful friendly hostess, who welcomed us with a tray of tea and cake. We stayed in the wooden chalet, to the side of the house. It was cute, furniture was a bit tired, but spotlessly clean. Tray of tea, coffee, biscuits and water was nice. Our hostess recommended local pubs for dinner and even offered to book us a table, which was much appreciated. Breakfast was nicely cooked and very tasty.

Reviewed by
Juli B

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next