No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 243 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
The room was very well decorated, very modern and stylish. The only con was not being allowed to light candles aswell as no mini fridge (but I am unsure wether this would need to be specifically requested for)

Reviewed by
C Kerr

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean Friendly Hotel
Great stay - good price for clean friendly hotel. staff were helpful

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought the hotel was very dated and the room says it had tea coffee and biscuits, we didn't even have a kettle let alone tea bags!! No where to park my car, check in was at 2pm. But the hotel asked me to come back at 6pm as there was no parking due to the hotel next door taking up all the parking!!

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and Food
The room was very comfortable and modern. There were a few areas which could be inproved around sockets etc. However overall very nice!
Unfortunately we were unable to eat. No one told us when we arrived that the kitchen was closed, it wasn't until we came down for dinner that the staff informed us and handed me takeaway menus! After 4 hours driving from London, this was disappointing. If we had been informed prior to arriving we could have made other dinner arrangements.
I would stay again as long as the restaurant was open and the staff were more informative, as the hotel is very nice.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff helpful. handy for city centre. room a bit small. tv remote not in room asked for one, this did not work so use tv buttons. no plug in bath. bottom of shower screen dirty. windows onto car park not private as only net curtain so had to close curtains so as not to be in a gold fish bowl

Reviewed by
Keith H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The remote control didn't work, everything else ok plenty of parking

Reviewed by
C green

From andover, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Whilst we enjoyed our stay at the Collection Hotel there were a couple of minor hiccups, there were no tissues in the room and no decaffeinated coffee in the room, we had to ask for it each night, one night the porter did not know what it was!! Access for disabled clients was very difficult with steps to negotiate to enter, then three more to get on the bedroom level. The bus stop was right outside the hotel and provided buses to the centre of Birmingham.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth B

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maintenance is the lowest priority here.
Room looked just like pictures apart from the heater which looked like it had been ripped from the wall and just left there with wires exposed! Dirty coffee mugs with hair inside, dirty bathroom where everything was rusty and fixtures were loose or broken. No luxury toiletries or slippers/robes, just a soap dispenser! Walls were covered in marks and dirt and covers had stains. Lights were dodgy too. No way was the room worth £67. Obviously no one maintains the rooms or cleans them for that matter.
The reception staff were lovely people though, and bed was comfy...but that's about it. Next time will find a hotel worth the money.

Reviewed by
K Van Doren

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as advertised
I booked an executive room which should include (as advertised) a 6ft super king size bed, iPod docking station, safe, mini bar fridge, bathrobes. The room I was given had non of these items and ony a standard double bed. When I went back and advised reception I was told this was the room I had booked and actually he had given me and upgrade. Luckily I had a copy of my booking confirmation with me and persisted that i be given the room I had paid for, as advertised. I was eventually given the correct room, however the smell of smoke was quite awful. At 9pm there was only one member of staff dealing wih reception, bar, compliants etc. I would not stay at this hotel again and it is certainly not a 4*!

Reviewed by
L Joyce

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
The staff at this hotel were amazing,the hotel was lovely . Not everything in the advertisment was reflected in the room but still a nice place to stay .

Reviewed by
natalie g

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next