No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant night
Lovely room. Staff were very helpful, polite and welcoming! I reckons this hotel

Reviewed by
D Kelly

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Over all the room was very good, but was let down only by the bath / shower. Both worked fine but they were not to the same standard as the rest of the bathroom. Very comfortable beds . The waist ground at the rear needs landscaping . The double glassing needs modernising . The staff were very helpful and friendly .

Reviewed by
S Thacker

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Took a long time to be seated at breakfast and then the cooked breakfast took a long time to arrive

Reviewed by
Hannah l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely furnished rooms, okay for the money, wouldn't have wanted to have paid anymore.
Nicely furnished rooms and entrance area, obviously under renovation, our room over looked the car park of which is currently being used as a tipping area due to the renovations, miss understanding at check in and we were issued with key cards for an already occupied room. Quickly rectified with out any issues. Food was okay, we where on the second floor, on exiting the lift there was a large window wide open of which was broken, reported to reception but no action was taken. On the whole it was reasonable quality for the money paid, a little difficult get a real overview during such extensive renovations, would like to return once complete to get a fair idea, so far so good, love the modern relaxed feel the newly renovated rooms have, in my opinion the hotel has the potential to be a really great place to stay. Wish you all the best.

Reviewed by
STEPHANIE W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be back.
Room OK. Car park is a patch of wasteland with dumped rubbish in one corner. Breakfast poor and expensive and you are expected to eat it on a table at the side of the main reception foyer! Very noisy and uncomfortable night due to very drunken parties going on and lots of movement in and out of different rooms. Drunken clientele outside main door and in reception area using choice language. Won't be back.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid!
The hotel is currently being refurbished, however that appears only to involve the reception area. That bit looks okay so far, however the very fabric of the hotel is old, tired and in need of significant improvement. Wall fittings are loose, carpets and lift are very old and it has the feel that it is being held together by gaffer-tape! The cooked breakfast was arguably the worst I have ever had anywhere.

Reviewed by
Anthony H

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay very helpful staff,clean hotel,overall a good choice

Reviewed by
k whittaker

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Collection
Good location, easy to find, and just outside the very core of Birmingham City Centre, the bonus being a large secure car park.
Was given a spacious twin bedded room, although a solo traveller.
Room spotlessly clean.
Breakfast very reasonable at £10 for a full cooked breakfast which was hot, tasty and plenty.
Only criticism was the teapots were the worst pourer's ever and when booking it mentioned a voucher for a 10 per cent reduction off food and drinks which was'nt forth coming however, I had forgotten about myself so fault probably lies with me, in that if you don't ask you don't get!.
Overall a excellent stay and would stay again if in the area and recommend to others.
The hotel is being renovated although I did'nt experience any disruption but it was a weekend when I stayed.

Reviewed by
J BURTON

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints about this hotel
This is a very good hotel and was more than pleased with all aspects of our stay. We flew to Birmingham and therefore had to travel about by bus but this was no problem as there is a bus stop directly outside the hotel with a very frequent service (every few minutes to city centre). The journey only takes 10 -15 mins at most. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Margaret K

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the area
Room 1010 was nice a clean , but the net blind would not close, this was a bit of a problem as i then had to pull the main blind accross, apert from that i was very pleased and the food was of a very good standard thank you

Reviewed by
allan robertson

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next