No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 232 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful receptionist
Our first room was overlooking the function room where an Indian wedding was taking place. We asked to be moved due to the noise and wanting an early night. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. We were moved to a much better room straight away.

Reviewed by
L Barber

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
The location of the hotel is good on Hagley Road, its near Broad Street for night life and the Town centre is relatively close. The hotel doesn't look attractive from outside however the interior is maintained to a good level. The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable with a good lay out. I booked this reservation online and I was told by the receptionist that if you make direct enquiries with the hotel you may get a better deal. I paid 49 pounds for 1 night and that was the rate for that night.

Reviewed by
F Ali

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional, but not luxurious
The hotel appears to be in the middle of a refurbishment, which may account for the fact that, apart from the quite smart reception/bar area, the corridors contain quite a few "wet paint" signs and the lift is rather small and battered-looking. Our room was OK - except for a shower which was adjustable only between "scalding" and "boiling". The hand-held alternative, running off a mixer tap, leaked copiously. It's unfortunate that we didn't discover this until the morning after our one-night stay.
Breakfast was ok, but it's disappointing to get tinned tomatoes in a full-English breakfast.
Overall, it was fair value for the rate we paid on Laterooms - though the advertised pre-discount price would have been over the odds, I think.
On the up-side. The room itself was clean, reasonably spacious and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay here again
Booked a superior room. Bedroom was clean and well furnished, bed clean and comfortable.
Modern bathroom with bath and shower and we were given clean white towels every day.
Hotel situation was very convenient for the city and Symphony Hall. Frequent bus service into city from stop outside front of hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes there are still refurbishments in progress but were not intrusive. On site car park is a bonus. We will stay here again when in Birmingham for a concert.

Reviewed by
m lamb

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 4*
Paid for a Exec room and was placed in a dirty, stained superior room. Was then lied to saying I was in the correct room and I had to argue to get moved. Second room was better but had blood stains on the sheets and there were no cleaners available so had to move rooms again.
Quality of the finish is terrible. No air con so if you go on a hot day you wont sleep!

Reviewed by
c symon

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok hotel
The hotel reception is pretty nice however was expecting the room to be bigger as I booked the room with a queen size bed, the hotel itself was easy to find. I paid £65 for the room which I thought was abit pricey for the quality of the room.

Reviewed by
J Purewal

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was going through a lot of construction work, the room was basic but clean. The rest of the hotel was fairly dated and the rubble in the car park ruined my shoes!

Reviewed by
E Hardingham

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in Birmingham
Helpful staff and extremely clean and comfortable room made this stay in Birmingham a delightt

Reviewed by
P Argondizza

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When the renovations are completed at this hotel it will be excellent value for money good area.

Reviewed by
Beverley B

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General comments
Staff were polite but not knowledgable. I rang to ask how far hotel was from hippodrome theatre, to help plan our route, staff didn't know. On the day we asked and was told a 20min walk. Customer behind told us it was a 40min walk. As we were short for time, we would have missed the start of our show had we listened to staff advise!
We also asked for more milk, and was told they would bring more up, this never arrived and we had to ask again in the morning. It was then brought straight up.
Room had hair pin in bathroom from previous guest, and a foil lid on the floor of the room. So not cleaned properly. Shower gel had run out and not replaced so room had not been checked.

Reviewed by
Rachel B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next