No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 234 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous hotel
This was for a revision course. The hotel and room was lovely. My hotel stay was marred by scallies running and screaming up and down the corridor at around 1am and 5am, but I imagine this is not a regular occurrence.

Reviewed by
m creed

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant surprise!
I wasn't actually looking forward to the night away, b ut needs must. So after a long day of deliberating with fellow lawyers, arriving at the Collection Hotel Birmingham wasa very pleasant end to my day. I was impressed first and foremost with the quality of the hotel - not quite what I expected for the price I paid. This is a beautiful, quality hotel. Everything about it was brilliant. Reception, dinning experience, decor, ambiance.....and the room and little touches. Suffice to say, not only would I recommend this hotel, I'm looking for an excuse to return to Birmingham for another long day of meetings so I can get a chance to experience the hotel all over again.

Reviewed by
Femi Ogunshakin

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Unfortunately when we got there, there had been a mix up with the dates for the booking. The gentleman behind the counter come across a bit abrupt and not too helpful to begin with but I put that down to him being very busy at the time we arrived and him being on his own. This did put a bit of a downer to the start of our night
Round the corner from the room I wasn’t too sure what it was but seemed like a noisy fan when people walked past it.
Overall it was a nice stay the room was nice the beds were comfy so not a bad stay at all just would have been nice to be greeted in a better manner.

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Room
A very enjoyable stay, only one little grumble about the water pressure in the shower was not powerful enough for the huge shower head. apart from this an excellent room.

Reviewed by
H Allwood

From St Columb, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Upon arrival it took 20mins to check in as there was only 1 lady covering both the bar and reception. The room was bigger than expected and nicely decorated with a big TV, however like other reviews on here the room is not as described. Firstly the bed was just a double sized bed, not queen size, nor was there a mini fridge in the room. The toilet seat was cracked, marks on the walls and one of the towels was dirty. The tv remote did not work either. Overall though it wasn't too bad for the price paid, certainly not 4* though.

Reviewed by
Chloe H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Collection hotel

Reviewed by
T Singh

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well improved hotel
this hotel has been substantially improved and the accommodation was excellent . the two small problems I had with no bath plug and tv remove were sorted out with ease by the friendly excellent staff . The meal provided by room service was reasonable value and tasty .

Reviewed by
Karl N

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would advice people to not stay at this hotel. Rooms are very small you do not get wot you pay for
My stay at this hotel was rubbish to say the least. I had broken parts on the shower and it was also leaking. i complained and changed rooms again was not except able smoke detector was hanging of the sealing. toilet brush holder was rusty and brush still had poo on the brust, dirt and mold around the taps. I booked a executive room and in most hotel's this would be classed as a standard double room this hotel is very over priced. the breakfast was a disaster not only do you have your breakfast in the reception area and only have aprox ten tables for the hole hotel so myou have to wait when you do get to sit down the people before you have left the plates ect so you have to ask to be cleared and still they left old cups. Then i asked for a cup of tea for me and the wife the brought out black coffie the one member of staff did not understand english very well.Then when i got to orded my breakfast the waitress asked for my order and walk off without asking my wife for her order. after all this i emailed to get a full refund the manager said we slept in a bed got heating and hot water we are a business so you will not get a full refund. he gave me a finel other full refund on breakfast £20.00 and £40.00 of room this in some people's eye would be ok but in my opinion you stay in a hotel to have a night away no stresses ect not to be stressed and very un happy again i advise all people to not stay at this hotel there are lot better hotels and better value for money in birmingham.

Reviewed by
p parker

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Management are appalling
After travelling 2 hours to this hotel and paying extra for a superior room we expected to be greeted with a gorgeous room... Instead we were greeted with a standard, bleach smelling, dirty room with none of the little extras I paid for. The superior room stated it included a fridge, an iPod docking station and a safe (which we needed as we were in and out of the room)... We had none of these, so went to reception and requested a different room to which we could not do as the hotel was fully booked (fair enough) so we were offered a measly £6 refund on the £180 I paid (and this was from the hotel manager!!!!) There was also another couple complaining for the exact same reason just next to us so this seems to be a regular occurrence. Anyway, the second night was much better with the room that I did pay for. Parking at the hotel was awful, there was a Christmas party at the hotel so we had to wait for someone to leave to park and the second time my partner had to park his car on a pile of rubble next to a skip and an old soggy mattress... Classy.
The lovely waiter however in the morning serving breakfast could not have been more helpful if he tried, very nice gent and the only one which seemed to care for others.

Reviewed by
Keely K

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely bedroom with all amenities even a safe in the bedroom. Breakfast was great. Would recommend the Collection Hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next