No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 233 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Collection Hotel Birmingham
Wallpaper loose near radiator.
No chain on the plug to let the bath water out.
A bedside light missing cover and bulb.
Staff very friendly.
Bath good size.
Prawn starter came out warm, which is strange.

Reviewed by
J Berry

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed in 2* hotels before - and they were superior to the Collection Hotel
Unfortunately there is nothing positive to say apart from one thing.
The room was basic, looked nice, but basic. Big bed, terrible view and a hefty price tag for this 'self starred' hotel.
The Bathroom:
All that was in the bathroom was value soap to wash our body and hair with - no thanks, cheap body lotion and that is it. No shampoo, no hand soap, no moisturizer, no floor towel, no "TV in bathroom." And the size of the bathroom was very much misleading from the photos. Just about enough space to open the door and get in to wash. It was not pleasant. The fans didn't work either and there was grime in all the cracks of the room.
The Bedroom:
The bed was nice and big and it was comfortable but when I woke up to make the bed I noticed a giant red stain patch underneath the duvet cover as if a woman had had a severe issue at the wrong time of the month a few nights before. Minging and vile. Note to cleaning staff: don't just wack a cover over the top. Customers will probably find out.
The television worked (kudos) but the remote did not. The carpets were a little dirty, so I did an Alex Polizzi and moved the bed to see if underneath had been cleaned. My god - I shouldn't never have done that. The telephone in the room didn't work at all - you just lost out on a bit of room service ordering and so I had to go down stairs to ask, only to be told that food was unavailable.
I will not be staying again, that's for sure. I have stayed in a 2* hotel before and they had more facilities, nicer décor, friendlier staff, availability of everything they said would be available, cleaner rooms, correctly working electronics and a price tag 1/8th of the Collection Hotel.
I would personally give this hotel a 2* if your basing it on an overall score. The 4* self awarded is probably because they think their rooms look nice. And that is literally it.
If your planning on paying anything above £50 for a room here. Don't. Even £50 is pushing it.


Reviewed by
Casey O

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
When we arrived parking was difficult as there was a wedding party taking place.
The old looking façade belies what is inside. It's very modern.
We were greeted by a very pleasant & helpful young man. Apparently from the Ivory Coast.
Our room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast had varied choice. Again a very pleasant young Spanish woman looked after us.
I mention their nationalities so that their employers can identify who their excellent staff were on the day.

Reviewed by
B O'Neill

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Collection Hotel Birmingham
Enjoyed our stay, clean modern room, friendly staff, close to city centre.

Reviewed by
katie s

From Stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stop over
Me and my boyfriend weren't expecting a suite for the night we just needed somewhere to sleep for travelling the next day. We arrived at the hotel into a lovely modern reception area and a grumpy man behind the desk. We got our room key which to our disappointment had to be in the attic, we had to climb loads of steep stairs with a suitcase and bags. Got to our room eventually...it was a modern, spacious room but it was very dark and badly lit. We settled down to find our phone in the room didnt work (we rang off our own phone for them to fix it and they didn't) one of the bedside light fixtures didn't work, there were crow bar marks in our front door near the lock, there were splashs of something on the bathroom floor and in the morning we found hand prints on our headboard which clearly hadn't been removed from the last resident. Other than that the hotel was okay I wouldn't say it was a 4 star rating more like a 2/3. You basically get what you pay for. Don't go by the photos of the hotel cause the photos provided are of superior rooms not an average room.

Reviewed by
C Saunderson

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous hotel
This was for a revision course. The hotel and room was lovely. My hotel stay was marred by scallies running and screaming up and down the corridor at around 1am and 5am, but I imagine this is not a regular occurrence.

Reviewed by
m creed

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant surprise!
I wasn't actually looking forward to the night away, b ut needs must. So after a long day of deliberating with fellow lawyers, arriving at the Collection Hotel Birmingham wasa very pleasant end to my day. I was impressed first and foremost with the quality of the hotel - not quite what I expected for the price I paid. This is a beautiful, quality hotel. Everything about it was brilliant. Reception, dinning experience, decor, ambiance.....and the room and little touches. Suffice to say, not only would I recommend this hotel, I'm looking for an excuse to return to Birmingham for another long day of meetings so I can get a chance to experience the hotel all over again.

Reviewed by
Femi Ogunshakin

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Unfortunately when we got there, there had been a mix up with the dates for the booking. The gentleman behind the counter come across a bit abrupt and not too helpful to begin with but I put that down to him being very busy at the time we arrived and him being on his own. This did put a bit of a downer to the start of our night
Round the corner from the room I wasn’t too sure what it was but seemed like a noisy fan when people walked past it.
Overall it was a nice stay the room was nice the beds were comfy so not a bad stay at all just would have been nice to be greeted in a better manner.

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Room
A very enjoyable stay, only one little grumble about the water pressure in the shower was not powerful enough for the huge shower head. apart from this an excellent room.

Reviewed by
H Allwood

From St Columb, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Upon arrival it took 20mins to check in as there was only 1 lady covering both the bar and reception. The room was bigger than expected and nicely decorated with a big TV, however like other reviews on here the room is not as described. Firstly the bed was just a double sized bed, not queen size, nor was there a mini fridge in the room. The toilet seat was cracked, marks on the walls and one of the towels was dirty. The tv remote did not work either. Overall though it wasn't too bad for the price paid, certainly not 4* though.

Reviewed by
Chloe H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next