No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA
This recently renovated hotel is just 2 miles from the International Convention Centre and the Bullring Shopping Centre. The Collection Hotel Birmingham boasts elegantly furnished rooms with marble bathrooms. It features a stylish, modern bar and restaurant, FREE WI-FI and FREE Car Parking also available at the hotel.
All of the hotel’s luxurious and spacious rooms include iPod docks, flat screen HD TVs and tea/coffee facilities. Marble bathrooms offer large rain showers, bathrobes, and luxury toiletries.

The Headingly Restaurant serves classic British cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere with traditional cooked breakfasts available daily. The Edgbaston Bar offers an ideal place to enjoy a drink and guests can choose a snack from the extensive bar menu.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham is a 20-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and is ideally located for all the City’s major attractions.
Picture of Collection Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable
This hotel is well placed for access to the City, the room we had was very clean, with all and more of the accessorys normally expected in an English hotel. The beds were comfortable and we experianced a free from traffic noise night. The cooked breakfast although not as big as some and had tinned rather than fresh tomatoes was nicly cooked, and as you are free to help your self to the buffet continental style breakfast on top of the cooked one, you will not go hungry!

Reviewed by
leonard wagstaff

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

need air-conditioning
Hot day but unfortunately no air conditioning so spent uncomfortable night as too hot!

Reviewed by
J Millar

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for a reason.
Overall this is an OK hotel: it's pretty convenient for the city center, it's cheap and the rooms themselves are clean and reasonably recently decorated. The hotel itself does seem to be more of a building site than anything else though. The ipod dock supposedly in every room was also decidedly non-existent.

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems here
Good clean contemporary hotel, didn't encounter any problems.

Reviewed by
adrian c

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disrepair
The room we stayed in was supose to be superior and to include luxury toiletries. The furniture had big holes in and food down the side of the sofa. The quilt cover was too small about a foot short, also torn and there where quite a few hairs on the pillow. The toiletries were 2 bottles of hand lotion 1 of which was open. I did take photographic evidence.

Reviewed by
y crosbie

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality hotel experience
Having stayed at The Collection many times, I know what to expect and The Collection never disappoints. The rooms are great for either business or a leisure stay, but as far as work is concerned, there is usually a large well-lit table area, great for spreading papers on or using a laptop. The décor, bathroom facilities and comfortable furnishings make for a very comfortable night's stay, always immaculately clean and great value for money. Add this to the charming staff and there is really no reason not to stay here, when in Birmingham. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Lynn S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
Window actually fell off the hinges

Reviewed by
R Kaur

From West Midlands, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel - Taxi ride to city centre (Approx £7.00)
The hotel was very good value for money and we could not fault it. The only problem we had was that it was an advanced booking with Late rooms and Payment was taken at point of booking. Seemed to be some confusion at the hotel and my debit card was asked for again, and on checking out they said they had taken payment again? No manager was available to discuss the matter with. Anyway checked with my bank and a second payment had not been taken, just seemed to spoil the weekend, but only a little bit.

Reviewed by
Lynda M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel.. Staff and facilities need looking at...
Very unassuming from the outside! Gob smacked when we walked into reception area, stunning!! Few niggles, facilities not as described online, no ipod dock, no bathrobes (however, when asked, were delivered to room and the 'luxury toiletries' consisted of soap unit on wall!! In our room, the fridge didn't work, we waited 6 hrs for safe combination, rainforest shower didn't work and the extractor fan in the bathroom was so noisy we couldnt get ready in there!! On our second day the hotel had a wedding taking place in the function room, the volume was ridiclous!! The vibrations caused our coffee cups to bounce along the tables!! When we complained, we were told to see the manager the following day as there were no managers working!! They wouldnt turn it down or anything!! 11am until 7.30pm we were subjected to 110 decibels of continuous Indian wedding music!!
All this said, when we checked out the following day we spoke to the manager and the end we received a 30 % refund. Didn't change what had happened but was a gesture none the less.
If staffing issues are looked into and more care taken with the attention to detail this could be a fantastic hotel!!

Reviewed by
k kirby

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor customer service .bathroom facilities not adequate for two people
Reception offer wake up call nobody call us . There was only one bath towel for two had to request for an other one every day . Generally customer service was poor

Reviewed by
Balbir N

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next