No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Acorn Lodge

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
3 Spring Garden Lane , Gosport, PO12 1HY
Acorn Lodge Guest House is located in a residential area, yet within walking distance of the town centre. This is a budget hotel offering an excellent value for money and it is on the bus route. Our rooms starts from £30 per night!

Please note that we add 5% transaction charge for payment by all Bank Cards.
Please note that currently we are not providing MEAL But Cafes and Restaurants is ONLY 2minutes away from Acorn Lodge.

We offer;
· Free parking facilities
· Coffee making facilities, But no complement coffee or tea
· Limited WiFi
· Hair dryer (on request)
· Iron (on request)
Picture of Acorn Lodge, Gosport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
43% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No shower in room, toilet was a small cupboard in the corner and there was a light fixed to the building pointed straight through the windows

Reviewed by
Matt R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills, bed for the night
I'd read reviews on here and on Trip Advisor and wondered if I'd regret my decision. Well, it was basic. But it was clean and there was absolutely NOT an unpleasant odour as some claimed. I was met at the door by an officient young woman who booked me in swiftly and took me up to my single room. What she didn't do was let me know the TV in the room didn't work nor give me the WiFi code. To be fair, I did not go down to find her to tell her. The 4G signal was good so I had internet on my phone. Luckily, I had taken some reading material and had an early night. Comfy bed with immaculately clean bedding. I had an ensuite toilet and sink only but had been shown the shower room which also looked very clean. I paid £35 for a bed for the night, with free parking and considered this value for money.

Reviewed by
L Mawbey

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor reception, difficult to find entrance, poor lighting to overcrowded parking. No en-suite just loo and washbasin with no hot water. Badly fitting window with draughts. No bedside light or table, need to get out of bed and switch off light by the door. Poor, small tv with bad reception. The whole place is seedy.

Reviewed by
CHRIS BORDOLI

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful - very cheerful.
No frills and cheap & cheerful, but very cheerful indeed. Nice people who own the place, and very trusting too, and it's just a couple of minutes away from the lovely Morrisons café if you're looking for a £4.40 big breakfast next morning.
Pleasantly surprised and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Karl G

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acorn Lodge
I stayed one night at this facility.
I didn't have anything to eat there.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Reviewed by
J Duff

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a place to get your head down. Nothing more nothing less.

Reviewed by
Alun B

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hobsons Choice
I had 7 complaints, and would not stay there again!

Reviewed by
Ian Burnett

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A budget hotel which had the basics clean comfortable bed, good shower and warm room. It is a tired place not sure why the walls have to be bright yellow a bit of paint would be good. I would also avoid Saturdays as night clubbers stumble in at 3am drunk making a lot of noise.
On the whole you get what you pay for and generally consider Acorn Lodge good value for money.

Reviewed by
Emma N

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value for money and I suggest Acorn Lodge as a budget hotel in Portsmouth or Gosport
Hi, I stayed in Acorn for one night. Frankly I don't have anything complaining about Acorn. The receptionist is very helpful, stay was pleasant, very calm atmosphere. I stayed in a single bed room having toilet and wash basin en-suite. For bath shower, I had to go to next door common shower, but that was not a big problem at all. Shower room maintained cleanliness. There are restaurants near by within a walking distance of 5 mins. A Morrison and McDonald near by. I suggest hotel Acorn if you are looking for a best value for money budget hotel. Overall Acorn is more like a homely experience I should say

Reviewed by
Renjith Kumar

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite and helpfull. Very large rooms , new beds and TV. Upgrading is gradually taking place. Great
After reading other reviews , was not sure we had made the right booking. How wrong can you be. 4 new beds . 2. Single, 1 kingsize double. Immaculate. Full en suite. Very clean. Teas, coffees etc and new kettle.after booking in , we were given a fob and could come and go as we wished. No breakfast,but plenty of shops and cafes close by. Decorating I and updating is taking place as time and money allow. Very kind and helpfull. Nothing was too much trouble. Very quiet, so you sunk into your bed and we all slept very well. It's not The Ritz, but they are getting there. Go with an open mind. When you realise just how little you paid, you will realise what a good deal you have here at Acorn Guest House. If our Daughter enters Uni , we will be back regularly. Thank you for the pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Michael Walker

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next