No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Coach House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 Stable Cottage, North Stainley, Ripon, HG4 3HT
The Old Coach House is an accommodation jewel and one of Yorkshire’s best kept secrets. The 18th century coaching house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall in the picturesque village of North Stainley, just north of Ripon.
This five star/silver award luxury guesthouse is nestled between The Yorkshire Dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is a great location to explore these beautiful areas of outstanding natural beauty as well as The Yorkshire Wolds, Nidderdale, Harrogate and York.
The area is steeped in history with the historic city of Ripon nearby as well as countryside walks, attractions, plentiful restaurants and country pubs.

All eight rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind. Each room offers a range of contemporary high quality fittings and facilities and with Oak beams in some of the guest rooms this high quality bed and breakfast really gives that feeling of staying in a rustic, character property.
Picture of The Old Coach House, Ripon at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic country comforts retreat
excellent

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay
We were fortunate to enjoy a stay at the Old Coach House on St Valentines day. We had a wonderful welcome from Amy and the room was spotless. The homemade biscuits and the chocolate heart were a lovely touch! The breakfast was simply superb! Fantastic location to tour North Yorkshire from! We can't wait to go back! The Adderleys

Reviewed by
C Adderley

From Staffordshire, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a shame there is only breakfast available at this hotel, as it meant we had to drive out every night looking for somewhere to eat. There were recommendations in the booklet in the hotel but it was just the inconvenience of having to go out again.

Reviewed by
S Bateman

From Duxford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Surprise Stay
I booked last minute as an extra surprise gift for my husband and was not disappointed. The Olde Coach House is everything it says in the on line information. We only stayed one night which wasn't long enough. Staff were very friendly and attentive, the room spacious and just as in the photographs breakfast was delicious, the buildings have been sympathetically converted. We will recommend to friends and hope to return for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
S Lambert

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotless accommodation at a reasonable price? The Old coach please!
Simple, we were driving from south east to scotland and did not want to make it in one seat. We already knew Ripon was a charming town so looked accommodation there. It was all either pricey or booked at this time of year (Xmas times) but this nice hotel a few miles from Ripon catched our eyes. We booked and we had a wonderful time there, wish we had more time. Reception was friendly and kind, the room was clean and well presented, there was sherry and mince pies for us at the room, they reccommended restaurants for dinner etc... The villages arround are also nice to visit so we would reccomment this place many times over.

Reviewed by
Miquel H

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lovely Old Coach
Stayed for only one night as we were travelling south, and wanted a stop gap. Was such a lovely place that we hope to go back in the summer and spend a few days there. Great accomadation, lovely breakfast, very friendly and helpful hosts.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super b&b
Lovely accommodation, very comfy bed, friendly hostess and delicious breakfast!

Reviewed by
Michael Howard

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent escape
Room amazing, views amazing staff awesome
Had an fabulous weekend

Reviewed by
Trevor Rose

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute gem!
Booked a nights stay At The Old Coach House with my partner for a suprise birthday getaway whilst visiting Harrogate, Ripon and the surrounding area. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean, and the bed was probably the comfiest bed I've ever slept on. I can't praise this place enough. The ladies who run it couldn't be more helpful, even going as far as drawing me a map as they had no leaflets left for Fountains Abbey. Breakfast was lovely, a full english with fresh coffee/tea, proper bread/toast (not cheap store bought), all local produce and an amazing array of fresh fruit and jams/preserves and cereals and juices were provided. Its set in a beautifully quiet location, just a few minutes drive away from both Ripon and Fountains Abbey (which is well worth a visit). Its a 10 out of 10 from us. We're already discussing when our next stay there will be.

Reviewed by
R Smedley

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old coach house
Excellent clean accommodation, we were advised we had been given the best room, lots of space, lovely bed, lovely and warm and decor first class. Ensuite was also perfect, great shower and all modern fittings. Quality towels. Lovely breakfast area and reception area. Ample off road parking. Lovely working fountain in the courtyard.
Breakfast was fabulous, and lots of choice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Amy and Jackie more than helpful with local amenities and things to do. Many thanks.
We don't return to many places, but would definitely return here.

Reviewed by
P Cross

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next