No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Coach House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 Stable Cottage, North Stainley, Ripon, HG4 3HT
The Old Coach House is an accommodation jewel and one of Yorkshire’s best kept secrets. The 18th century coaching house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall in the picturesque village of North Stainley, just north of Ripon.
This five star/silver award luxury guesthouse is nestled between The Yorkshire Dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is a great location to explore these beautiful areas of outstanding natural beauty as well as The Yorkshire Wolds, Nidderdale, Harrogate and York.
The area is steeped in history with the historic city of Ripon nearby as well as countryside walks, attractions, plentiful restaurants and country pubs.

All eight rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind. Each room offers a range of contemporary high quality fittings and facilities and with Oak beams in some of the guest rooms this high quality bed and breakfast really gives that feeling of staying in a rustic, character property.
Picture of The Old Coach House, Ripon at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent bolhole - just north of Ripon
Lovely welcome ... fantastic room ... great breakfast. what more could I ask?

Reviewed by
Mike D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break
We got this room for £70 which, for the quality, was an excellent deal. Take a look at the video on the old coach house website to get an idea. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and gave a great recommendation for where to eat (Lockwoods). A very modern restaurant in the heart of Ripon and only a short 10 minute drive.
Will definitely stay here if & when we visit the area again!

Reviewed by
M Barrow

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation with friendly staff and great breakfast. Would definitely recommend to friends

Reviewed by
K Chrystal

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B near Thirsk
5* accommodation and breakfast with a warm welcome. Great power shower tea/coffee and fridge. Also has the advantage of a great pub with good food 60meters away across the road. Our room had views to a small lake with a pair of swans nesting. Located in a lovely, quiet , Yorkshire village with good walks for all abilities and central to all tourist amenities.

Reviewed by
J Pritchard

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find
We found this place on Late Rooms and we could not have been happier with our stay. The customer service, room and breakfast were all exceptional. We will definitely be recommending this place to our friends and hope to return again in the summer.

Reviewed by
T Eaton

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location, Excellent Service, Wonderful Accommodation
The reviews are not wrong......we were met on arrival by the manager who was wonderfully welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are decorated to the highest standard and have all the facilities you need. Then across the road to a wonderful pub with log fires, excellent food and again the most hospitable service. The morning breakfast did not disappoint either with the only dissapointment being that we had to leave. Will return and will recommend.

Reviewed by
F Radford

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute excellence
I booked this b+b as a getaway for new years eve. I read all the reviews and wasn't disappointed. The room was lovely, the service fantastic, bed was great, he breakfast was legendary. my only comment would be that we couldn't get the room as warm as we would like but we feel the cold more than most. the pub across the road was awesome too, great hospitality from the locals, particularly Jackie who soon had us dancing for the first time in years, great buffet. will defo use and recommend to anyone wanting a good location to explore the Dales or just enjoy a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
A Stringer

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Absolutely excellent establishment, top quality in a beautiful location with first class staff.

Reviewed by
Tony C

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should be kept secret so I can get a room next time
Brilliant staff, great accommodation breakfasts so good I did not eat all day. Many a big hotel chain could learn a thing or fifty from here. Fabulous location for all of North Yorkshire and beyond the rooms are lovely for anything from business to romantic breaks.
Almost don't want to recommend as I want to have the best chance of booking a room again! If you book don't worry its money well spent.

Reviewed by
Nick Morris

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, excellent breakfast
The staff were very friendly, even calling to check what time I would like to arrive and helpfully giving me directions to somewhere to eat lunch. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a hotel standard bathroom. The room had a fridge, good tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Lovely little extras were included like cafetiere coffee, chocolates on the bed and home made biscuits. Shampoo/conditioner etc in the bathroom were of a nice quality. Only downside for a business traveller...no signal unless I sat in my car on the car park! Quality of breakfast was excellent. Smoked fish available if ordered the night before, pastries, jams, fruit and variety of cooked items.

Reviewed by
H Wood

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next