No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hartforth hall hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gilling West , Richmond, DL10 5JU
The Hall is listed among the top 10% of UK buildings of architectural and historic interest and it is set in 7 acres of ground with splendid trees. We offer old fashioned courtesy in a splendid country hall in superb grounds.

We have a splendid Georgian Drawing Room, The Herriot Bar with a log fire in Winter and a Wedgwood style restaurant for relaxing dinners. Informal dining is available in the Arches Restaurant.

All our individually styled and tastefully decorated bedrooms have en-suite facilities, colour TV, coffee, robes, hair dryer, ironing board, Molten and Brown toiletries and a teddy bear called Fred. Front and side bedrooms have breathtaking views across the Yorkshire countryside

We cater for conferences, private dinners/celebrations and wedding receptions. Exclusivity of the hall is available. Fabulous photographs can be taken at the main Arch or former orangery. Gift vouchers are available on request.

We have over 9000 hand written guest comments expressing their delight with the hall. We are situated approximately 5 miles from Catterick and 10 miles from Darlington. Check in time is after 3.30pm check out time is 11am. Car parking and complimentary wifi.

We have a beautiful superior downstairs en-suite room available at £165 for the room per night that has the disabled in mind. Single and double standard rooms are the smaller basic rooms at the rear of the hall.

A non-returnable deposit of £50 per person is required on day of booking.
Picture of Hartforth hall hotel, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception was very helpful and attentive. The evening meal was excellent and the beer first class.Unfortunately we had to leavevery early before breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian Akroyd

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a hidden Gem, absolutely perfect

Reviewed by
Hamish Hohman

From Bourne, USA
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richmond humour
We arrived with a sense of trepidation after reading some of the reviews but found the staff and owners to be very welcoming.The food and wine were fabulous and served in a beautiful room. When we arrived there was a party of dutch bikers who were extremely polite and very interested in our lovely british countryside and we spent a very pleasent evening in the drawing room exchanging our experiences of the locality-they stay every year apparently.Bear in mind the hotel is approx 300 years old and the owners have a real yorkshire style and you won't be disappointed

Reviewed by
s bowling

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little place
It was a pleasure to stay at Hartforth Hall.
Truly original little hotel.
Will bring family next time.

Reviewed by
T Frandsen

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting, hotel needs updating
Whole experience was lovely, dog friendly and child friendly but the hotel is dated. Breakfast was lovely but evening meal was poor, very basic and not value for money. Soup was packet, portions were tiny, everything was bland and you have to order chips/salad/potatoes extra at £3 each. Everything was bland and had very little taste. Really disappointing. Over all we would stay here again but eat in Richmond instead of at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Kelly Wilson

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable
We were well looked after by the owners and staff who couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. The Hall is a gem of a retreat, with views of the surrounding countryside, retaining its original features and architecture. We both had a good night's sleep, a hearty breakfast and a walk around the grounds before leaving at the civilised time of 11.00.
Would highly recommend this hotel for its character, comfort and personable owners. Thank you.

Reviewed by
J Slaughter

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building, lovely setting
My wife and I spend 2 nights at the Hartforth Hall Hotel to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw the elegance of the hotel from outside. While checking in the lady was very friendly and helpful. We got a quick tour of the hotel then got shown to our room. We opted for a 4 poster bed room as it was a special occasion. The room was big, tidy and clean but perhaps a little tired and old fashioned. The bed was a little uncomfortable, the room was quite warm (windows didn't open and no air-con) and the shower was not very powerful. The breakfast was average. We went for a walk around the grounds of the hotel and I just want to reitterated how beautiful the setting is. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
B Sheader

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, fantastic surroundings and lovely hosts. Service was excellent and probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in

Reviewed by
laurie b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really helpful friendly people, grand setting
The house and grounds are beautiful and the customer service was excellent. The people who run it are very kind and friendly and seemed to be genuinely interested in making sure I had a good stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.