Golden Fleece Inn

4

8 MARKET SQUARE TREMADOG, PORTHMADOG, LL499RB

Price From 105.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (23)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Hamish D

  • November 2014

Extremely disappointing stay!

Having often visited the Golden Fleece when younger I was looking forward to going back there again and enjoying the warm atmosphere and the famous cave bar.

However, upon check in we were taken down the road to a completely different hotel to the one we had booked on line. Not sure what theTrading Standards people would make of that. To make matters worse this other place was still being refurbished so was a bit of a mess. Our room was single size but with a double bed squeezed in, and with all the other furniture in there we could hardly move. A lack of rails and hooks in the small en suite meant we had nowhere to hang our wet towels to dry, so had to hang them over the door meaning we couldn't close it. Even if we could have, it was difficult to manoeuvre in and out with the bath and sink in the way. Each time we used the shower, the bathroom floor flooded so we had to mop up the water. Even though the wind wasn't particularly bad, we were both woken several times in the night by the windows rattling. The bed/mattress was uneven and uncomfortable, it just felt cheap and well worn. All in all it was en extremely disappointing stay and I do not believe the room was worth anywhere near the £84.99 a night we paid. I travel a lot and in my experience 50% of that rate would have been fair and honest. When we were there the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, but my follow up complaints were not satisfactorily dealt with and effectively fell on deaf ears. Very disappointing!

  • Pauline G

  • October 2014

Friendly staff, good food, excellent location

  • S Miller

  • October 2014

Only stayed one night but will certainly use the hotel again when in the area on business.

Very good value for money. Relaxing, friendly atmosphere. Good Food.

  • A Murphy

  • September 2014

Superior Executive Room not value for money

We booked online the night prior to our stay, the photos and reviews looked really good.

We were in an annexe at right angles to the Golden Fleece. The annexe had previously been a pub and was in the process of being converted. Our bedroom was completed but to a poor standard not the superior finish we were expecting. The dressing table and wardrobe were too big for the room leaving little room to move around. There appeared to be just one double socket for the whole room. It was at one side of the bed which fed the lamp and a 4 plug extension was passed to the other side of the bed, for the other lamp and everything else we were to need ( GHD's, telephone charger and computer charger). The kettle was fastened down directly under the flat screen TV. The room needed some finishing touches such as painting the bare wood behind the kettle, edging around the bottom of the bath and removing the white paint splats on the bathroom floor. The bedroom window rattled. We felt we had been overcharged for what we received.

  • D Drummond

  • September 2014

Great place for a stopover

Family room was clean , well maintained and comfortable.

All staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very good and a decent price. Discounted price from Laterooms was a bonus.

  • Rachel W

  • July 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

I stayed in room 1 which was in a separate building just across from the Inn itself. On both the first and second floors of this building are seating areas with antique leather settees. Room 1 was on the first floor. I had booked it as a single room but was very pleased to see it had a double bed. Room was fairly basic but functional. Very clean and tidy with a good size on-suite. Breakfast was not included in my booking (but was offered as an extra). I declined so cannot comment on the food. The Golden Fleece is situated in the very pretty market square of Tremadog, overlooked by a mountain!. The Inn itself is old and full of character, I especially liked the quirkiness of the cave bar. Shame I was only there for one night. If ever I'm in the area again I would definitely choose to book there again and would recommend the Golden Fleece Inn to others.

  • N White

  • June 2014

Basic but clean

The room was nice however the walls were very thin and could hear other rooms/facilities.

Didn't stay in the main building but a hotel across the square. The room was very nice and had everything we needed but I wouldn't have described it as a "superior double" as there was not a lot of room around the bed.

  • Reg H

  • April 2014

Title

  • MIKE WHEELER

  • April 2014

Great room, good decoration and ideal location.

Loving evening food just a pity breakfast not included in the price.

  • Emily C

  • March 2014

Mother's Day weekend

I stayed 1 night at the Golden Fleece with my mum and sister.

We had booked it as a surprise for Mother's Day.

I was a bit worried knowing that we would be staying above a pub but I was surprised how quiet the room was.

We all had a great nights sleep, comfy beds and clean. Room was overall clean although did catch a few whiffs of the pub and the restaurant. Staff were friendly enough but left us to ourselves. Beautiful location and fantastic access to north wales sights- we went to Portmeirion for the day. Restaurant food is great too, only downer was that breakfast wasn't included on the room price. There's lovely cafés for this in Porthmadog though.